The Book Of Law Lawrence Rothman

Cover The Book Of Law

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Descend02:28
  • 2Wolves Still Cry04:18
  • 3Shout03:50
  • 4Stand By03:24
  • 5Jordan04:54
  • 6Geek05:11
  • 7Your Kiss Tastes Like Dope03:44
  • 8Ascend03:44
  • 9Die Daily05:33
  • 10Walking My Tears Across Manhattan03:51
  • 11California Paranoia03:45
  • 12Ain’t Afraid Of Dying02:39
  • Total Runtime47:21

Info for The Book Of Law

Lawrence Rothman is a Los Angeles musician with tremendous talent and grand vision. Influenced by the music of Leonard Cohen and Tom Waits, the writings of Sam Pink, and the art of Mike Kelly, his music and message are vastly compelling. For his forthcoming debut album, Lawrence worked with acclaimed producer Justin Raisen (Charli XCX, Sky Ferriera, Ariel Pink, etc) to create something electronic, which ambitiously morphed into a fully analog to tape album with a handful of the most prestigious musicians out there. Lawrence created a full scope, enormous record diving into the realm of self-discovery and acceptance. Lawrence appears as 9 "alters", similar to the Cindy Sherman of music. The alters are ever-present throughout the project, with Lawrence performing as them for shows and videos - sometimes as an Albino guy or a bald tattooed metal head, a beat up hipster or Elizabeth Taylor, just to preview a few. The videos are shot by revered director Floria Sigismondi, cohesively matching the cinematic scope of his music. It's rare to have the music, imagery and the fascinating lead figure all be outstanding and aligned. This is the case for Lawrence Rothman. Lawrence's debut album "The Book of Law" is out on October 13 via Downtown/Interscope Records.

His first song off the album ‘Wolves Still Cry’ begins the journey through Lawrence’s alters and features background vocals by How To Dress Well.

Two years in the making, the dark and triumphant album is an incredibly personal body of work about struggle and discovery of oneself.The project embodies the 9 physical & emotional alters of Lawrence – as if the Cindy Sherman of the music world with a different alters for every video (all directed by the revered director Floria Sigismondi (David Bowie, Björk, Marilyn Manson, Justin Timberlake, etc)).

Though multi instrumentalist Rothman played many of the instruments himself on the album he and Raisen were able to recruit Dennis Hamm (Thundercat, Flying Lotus) on piano, Pino Paladino and Duff McKagan (Guns N’ Roses) on bass along with Carla Azar (Autolux) and Stella Mozgawa (War Paint) on drums. He had no relationship with any of these musicians prior to the recording of the album. They were all cold called by Raisen after late night recording sessions by the two dreaming and lamenting on who would be best for certain songs.

No biography found.

Booklet for The Book Of Law

© 2010-2018 HIGHRESAUDIO