Songs From The Wood (40th Anniversary Edition, Steven Wilson) Jethro Tull

Album info



Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Songs From The Wood 04:55
  • 2Jack-In-The-Green02:31
  • 3Cup Of Wonder04:34
  • 4Hunting Girl05:10
  • 5Ring Out, Solstice Bells03:48
  • 6Velvet Green 06:05
  • 7The Whistler 03:31
  • 8Pibroch (Cap In Hand) 08:35
  • 9Fire At Midnight 02:27
  • 10Old Aces Die Hard 08:41
  • 11Working John, Working Joe 05:11
  • 12Magic Bells (Ring Out, Solstice Bells)03:25
  • 13Songs From The Wood 04:53
  • 14Fire At Midnight 02:35
  • 15One Brown Mouse 03:35
  • 16Strip Cartoon 03:19
  • 17The Whistler (US Single Mix)03:32
  • Total Runtime01:16:47

Info for Songs From The Wood (40th Anniversary Edition, Steven Wilson)

Wie so häufig in seiner Karriere handelte Ian Anderson auch 1977 entgegen dem Trend: Wäh­rend in London der Punk den an­­geblich allzu saturierten Pomp-Rock der 70er verdrängte und in den Clubs der Stadt bereits heftig Pogo getanzt wurde, zog sich der Jethro-Tull-Frontmann aufs Land zurück und veröffentlichte mit SONGS FROM THE WOOD ein reinrassiges Folk-Rock-Werk. Auf dem Cover erklärte Anderson seine Sicht auf die Songs („Küchenprosa, Gossenreime und allerlei Lieder aus dem Wald“). Für einen Großteil des Material traf diese Um­­schreibung tatsächlich zu, allerdings gab es mit ›Hunting Girl‹ und ›Pibroch (Cap In Hand)‹ auch zwei handfeste Prog-Rock-Nummern mit Gitarren von Martin Barre im ›Locomotive Breath‹-Stil.

Höhepunkte waren dennoch der folkloristische Titelsong, die zauberhaften ›Velvet Green‹ und ›The Whist­ler‹ sowie das magische ›Jack-In-The Green‹ über ein keltisches Fabelwesen, das der Sage nach die Pflanzentriebe grün sprießen lässt. Eine im wahrsten Sinne wundervolle Scheibe, die jetzt als Jubiläumsausgabe – Untertitel: THE COUNTRY SET – mit einem neuen Mix von Steven Wilson, bislang unveröffentlichten Aufnahmen, alternativen Versionen und einem Live-Konzert aus dem Veröffent­lichungsjahr auf vier Alben ausgedehnt wird. Wie schon das Original eindeutig ein Muss für alle Fans!

Ian Anderson, vocals, flute, acoustic guitar, mandolin, cymbals, whistles
Martin Barre, electric guitar, lute
John Evan, piano, organ, synthesisers
David Palmer, piano, portative pipe organ, synthesisers
John Glascock, bass guitar, vocals
Barriemore Barlow, drums, marimba, glockenspiel, bells, nakers, tabor

Recorded September - November 1976 at Morgan Studios, London
Engineered by Robin Black
Produced by Ian Anderson

Jethro Tull
formed in February 1968 from the ashes of two unsuccessful blues/rock bands of the era. Ian Anderson brought his unique and innovative style of flute playing to a public raised on the guitar based British bands who courted acceptance at London’s famous Marquee Club.

After their first tentative blues oriented album, titled “This Was,” the group moved through successive records towards a more progressive sound, and with “Aqualung” in 1971 achieved their first real international level of success.

A few hit singles, notably “Living in the Past,” livened up their early career although it was as an album band, with songs of real substance, that the group really took off, both on record and as a major live concert act.

So-called concept albums followed in the early 70’s (“Thick as a Brick” and “A Passion Play”) with the attendant platinum No. 1 album chart sales.

Tull survived the critical backlash of the return-to-basics later 70’s to produce some of their finest creative efforts which, although not quite matching the commercial success of the previous works, established the band as one of the truly creative exponents of progressive music throughout the 70’s, 80’s and 90’s.

They have continued to constantly reinvent themselves, albeit with several personnel changes along the way.

Ian Anderson (flute and vocals) and Martin Barre (guitar) provide to this day the musical and historical backbone of the group, joined by Doane Perry on drums, Andrew Giddings on keyboards, and Jonathan Noyce on bass.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO