Migration Fuego Quartet

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Das Album enthält Albumcover


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 14,70
  • David Maslanka (1943 - 2017): Recitation Book:
  • 1Recitation Book: I. Broken Heart (Meditation on the Chorale Melody "Der du bist drei in Einigkeit")04:26
  • 2Recitation Book: II. Prelude/Chorale (Meditation on "Jesu meine Freude")03:47
  • 3Recitation Book: III. Ecco morirò dunque (After Gesualdo)01:31
  • 4Recitation Book: IV. Meditation on "O Salutaris Hostia"03:22
  • 5Recitation Book: V. Fanfare/Variations on "Durch Adams Fall"10:02
  • William Albright (1944 - 1998): Fantasy Etudes:
  • 6Fantasy Etudes: Prelude - No. 1, A Real Nice Number04:47
  • 7Fantasy Etudes: No. 2, Pypes03:58
  • 8Fantasy Etudes: No. 3, The Fives for Steve03:25
  • 9Fantasy Etudes: No. 4, Phantom Galop04:35
  • 10Fantasy Etudes: No. 5, Harmonium (Heiliger Dankgesang)05:08
  • 11Fantasy Etudes: No. 6, They Only Come Out at Night02:29
  • David Clay Mettens (b. 1990):
  • 12Ornithology S10:40
  • Total Runtime58:10

Info zu Migration

The Fuego Quartet, featuring saxophonists Nicki Roman, Erik Elmgren, Harrison Clarke, and Gabriel Piqué, makes their Ravello Records debut with the innovative MIGRATION, a collection that demonstrates the versatility and complexity of the saxophone as it migrates through genre boundaries.

The album kicks off with Recitation Book, a set of five pieces by composer David Maslanka that transform Bach chorales, madrigals, Gregorian chants, and more into various forms and structures. These arrangements, as performed by the Fuego Quartet, bring listeners into a calm listening sphere that reflects the music of the past in the midst of our busy, technology-saturated world. This set leads into William Albright’s Fantasy Etudes, the more loosely-formed, jazzy arrangements by the late 20th-century composer. Standing as a threshold in the middle of the album, Fantasy Etudes welcomes listeners away from familiar audial experiences into the realm of the slightly less familiar, more experimental sounds.

Albright’s compositions make for the perfect lead into Ornithology S, the work of contemporary composer Clay Mettens that is inspired by visual artist Juan Fontanive’s flipbooks of the same name. The saxophones recreate the sounds of birds singing as they fly, as well as using key clicks and slaps to imitate the turning of the mechanical book. Bringing the visual pieces to life while also showing the sonic possibilities of the saxophone, Ornithology S is a stunning conclusion to this fascinating collection.

The saxophone has had a unique history as a classical instrument, from its challenges entering into that particular sphere to its welcoming in via jazz and rock music. With MIGRATION, Fuego Quartet demonstrates all that is possible with the saxophone, showing how it transcends musical boundaries with ease.

Nicki Roman, soprano saxophone
Erik Elmgren, alto saxophone
Harrison Clarke, tenor saxophone
Gabriel Piqué, baritone saxophone

Fuego Quartet
Renowned for their award-winning performances, the Fuego Quartet is devoted to the performance of both standard and contemporary works for all audiences. Founded in 2015 at the Eastman School of Music, Fuego is passionate about community engagement and education, striving to bring new sounds into familiar spaces and introduce music of all types to audiences through friendly, creative, and informative performances. They have been successful in numerous competitions, including winning the 2017 Fischoff Gold Medal and prizes in the 2017 Plowman Chamber Music Competition and the MTNA National Chamber Music Competition.

Fuego has appeared around the world, having performed Zagreb Croatia at the 2018 World Saxophone Congress along with being a featured artist on the Dame Myra Hess Concert Series at the Chicago Cultural Center. Additionally they have given performances and masterclasses at the Eastman School of Music, University of Illinois, Michigan State University, University of North Florida, Brevard Music Center, Culver Academy, and Andrews University.

Fuego’s dedication to education and community engagement is a core part of their mission. The group has already reached a wide range of classrooms, campuses, and community centers, and they always schedule performances like these alongside more traditional venues. As part of their passion for community performances, Fuego has also given concerts at the Strong National Museum of Play, the Notre Dame Center for Arts and Culture, The George Eastman Museum, Phillis Wheatley Library, Susan B. Anthony Museum, Washington Square Concert Series, and [Col][lab].

Fuego has prioritized the creation of new music through commissions and collaborations. Their first commission of ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composer Award Winner Clay Mettens, entitled Ornithology S, received performances at both the North American Saxophone Alliance Biennial Conference and the World Saxophone Congress. Fuego has also participated in commission consortiums with composers Mischa Zupko and Ted King-Smith.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO