Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Decca

Genre: Instrumental

Subgenre: Piano

Interpret: Benjamin Grosvenor

Komponist: Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750), Frédéric Chopin (1810-1849), Alexander Scriabin (1872-1915), Enrique Granados (1867-1916), Morton Gould (1913-1996), Isaac Albéniz (1860-1909), Adolf Schulz-Evler (1852-1905)

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)

Entschuldigen Sie bitte!

Sehr geehrter HIGHRESAUDIO Besucher,

leider kann das Album zurzeit aufgrund von Länder- und Lizenzbeschränkungen nicht gekauft werden oder uns liegt der offizielle Veröffentlichungstermin für Ihr Land noch nicht vor. Wir aktualisieren unsere Veröffentlichungstermine ein- bis zweimal die Woche. Bitte schauen Sie ab und zu mal wieder rein.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen das Album auf Ihre Merkliste zu setzen.

Wir bedanken uns für Ihr Verständnis und Ihre Geduld.


  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750): Partita No.4 in D , BWV 828
  • 11. Overture04:33
  • 22. Allemande04:44
  • 33. Courante01:40
  • 44. Aria01:02
  • 55. Sarabande02:51
  • 66. Menuet01:00
  • 77. Gigue01:55
  • Frédéric Chopin (1810-1849): Andante spianato and Grande polonaise in E flat, Op.22
  • 8Andante spianato04:02
  • 9Grande Polonaise08:57
  • Polonaise No.5 In F Sharp Minor, Op.44
  • 10Polonaise No.5 In F Sharp Minor, Op.4410:24
  • Alexander Scriabin (1872-1915): 10 Mazurkas, Op.3 (1889)
  • 11No.6 in C Sharp Minor (Scherzando)02:17
  • 12No.4 in E (Moderato)03:55
  • 13No.9 in G Sharp Minor02:48
  • Valse in A flat major, op.38
  • 14Waltz No.4, Op.3805:38
  • Enrique Granados (1867-1916): 8 Valses poéticos
  • 15Preludio: Vivace molto01:04
  • 16I. Melodioso01:21
  • 172.Tempo de Vals noble01:07
  • 183. Tempo de Vals lento01:32
  • 194. Allegro humoristico00:39
  • 205. Allegretto (elegante)01:09
  • 216. Quasi ad libitum (sentimental)01:04
  • 227. Vivo00:40
  • 238. Presto01:55
  • Adolf Schulz-Evler (1852-1905): Arabesques on Johann Strauss’s 'By the Beautiful Blue Danube'
  • 24An die schönen Blauen Donau - Concert Arabesques After A Waltz By J. Strauss Jr.10:02
  • Isaac Albéniz (1860-1909)
  • 25Tango, Op. 165 No.202:40
  • Morton Gould (1913-1996)
  • 26Boogie Woogie Etude02:08
  • Bonus Tracks
  • 27No.2 Gnomenreigen02:51
  • 28Siciliano03:34
  • Total Runtime01:27:32

Info zu Dances

Diese Rezitalaufnahme wurde von einem Brief des berühmten Pianisten und Komponisten Ferruccio Busoni an seinen Schüler Egon Petri im Jahre 1909 inspiriert, in welchem er Petri als Thema für seinen Konzertvortrag ein “Tanzprogramm” vorschlug, das Originalkompositionen und Bearbeitungen enthielt.

Benjamin Grosvenor erweiterte dieses Konzept für seinen Debütvortrag in der Queen Elizabeth Hall 2012, indem er eine historisch und stilistisch vielseitige Auswahl an Werken darbot, deren tragende Säule das Thema der “Tänze” war. Dieser Leitgedanke wird nun auch für diese Einzelvortrags-CD verwendet. Mit Bach als Ausgangspunkt bietet dieses Programm sowohl bekannte als auch eher im Verborgenen liegende Glanzstücke aus dem Klavierrepertoire, und obwohl die vorliegende Sammlung zwischen Bach und Chopin eine Epoche überspringt ‒ ein derart weitgefasstes Thema erfordert große Selektivität ‒ so bringt sie doch ein breites Spektrum an musikalischen Kostbarkeiten zur Geltung.

Benjamin Grosvenor, Klavier

Benjamin Grosvenor - Piano
Nineteen year old British pianist Benjamin Grosvenor is internationally recognized for his electrifying performances and penetrating interpretations. An exquisite technique and ingenious flair for tonal colour are the hallmarks which make Benjamin Grosvenor one of the most sought-after young pianists in the world. His virtuosic command over the most strenuous technical complexities never compromises the formidable depth and intelligence of his interpretations. Described by some as a ‘Golden Age’ pianist (American Record Guide) and one ‘almost from another age’ (The Times), Benjamin is renowned for his distinctive sound, described as ‘poetic and gently ironic, brilliant yet clear-minded, intelligent but not without humour, all translated through a beautifully clear and singing touch’ (The Independent).

Benjamin first came to prominence as the outstanding winner of the Keyboard Final of the 2004 BBC Young Musician Competition at the age of eleven. Since then, Benjamin has become an internationally regarded pianist performing concerti with orchestras including the London Philharmonic, Tokyo Symphony, and Brazilian Symphony in venues such as the Royal Festival Hall, Barbican, Muza Kawasaki and Carnegie Hall (at the age of thirteen). In 2011, having just turned nineteen, Benjamin performed with the BBC Symphony Orchestra on the First Night of the BBC Proms to a sold-out Royal Albert Hall. His performance of Liszt’s Piano Concerto No. 2 dazzled critics, with The Times commenting on ‘the clarity and poetry of his panache, the airy grace of his arpeggios, the lack of flash buckles and bows'. Benjamin works with numerous esteemed conductors including Vladimir Ashkenazy, Jiří Bělohlávek and Vladimir Jurowski.

An accomplished recitalist, Benjamin performs to acclaim across the world. A regular at the Wigmore Hall in London, he has also made recital debuts at venues including the Victoria Hall in Singapore and the Philia Hall in Tokyo. In the USA, Benjamin has appeared at the Gilmore Festival and is a favourite in Saint Paul at the Chopin Society in Minnesota. Benjamin has recently given a highly successful fifteen-concert tour across Germany, for which he was labelled a ‘piano visionary’ by the Süddeutschen Zeitung. Benjamin continues to work chamber music collaborations into his busy schedule and enjoys working with other members of the BBC New Generation Artists scheme, of which he is a member during 2010-2012. Highlights of this season include engagements with the RAI Torino and Semyon Bychkov, Singapore Symphony and Okko Kamu, an extensive tour to North America including appearances in Washington and New York, and recital debuts in Berlin and Prague. In 2011/12 Benjamin is Associate Artist with Orchestra of the Swan.

In 2011 Benjamin signed to Decca Classics, and in doing so has become the youngest British musician ever to sign to the label, and the first British pianist to sign to the label in almost 60 years. His first recording for Decca includes Chopin’s Four Scherzi and Ravel’s Gaspard de la Nuit. Critics have marvelled at Benjamin’s musical character as displayed in this recording; ‘Grosvenor, you can tell, is a Romantic pianist, almost from another age. He doesn't deconstruct, or stand at a distance. He jumps inside the music's soul’ (The Times) and ‘Grosvenor's balance of oratory and ornament, gesture and poetry – evident, too, in Ravel's Gaspard de la nuit – are moving as well as impressive’ (The Observer). Benjamin’s previous recordings include Chopin rarities for the 200th anniversary edition of Chopin’s complete works (EMI, 2010) in which he was lauded for his ‘sensitivity of touch, general musicality and affection for the music’ (BBC Music Magazine) and a debut solo recording ‘This and That’ (Bowers & Wilkins Society of Sound/EMI, 2008), in response to which Bryce Morrison remarked that ‘even the most outlandish difficulties are tossed aside not just as child’s play but with a seemingly endless poetic finesse and resource’ (Gramophone). During his brief but sensational career to date, Benjamin has been featured in two BBC television documentaries, and his performances have been broadcast widely across the world.

The youngest of five brothers, Benjamin Grosvenor began playing the piano aged 6. He currently studies with Christopher Elton at the Royal Academy of Music on an affiliated scholarship and has also studied with Leif Ove Andsnes, Stephen Hough, and Arnaldo Cohen amongst others.

Booklet für Dances

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO