Berlioz: Roméo et Juliette Olga Borodina

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: LSO Live

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Das Album enthält Albumcover

Entschuldigen Sie bitte!

Sehr geehrter HIGHRESAUDIO Besucher,

leider kann das Album zurzeit aufgrund von Länder- und Lizenzbeschränkungen nicht gekauft werden oder uns liegt der offizielle Veröffentlichungstermin für Ihr Land noch nicht vor. Wir aktualisieren unsere Veröffentlichungstermine ein- bis zweimal die Woche. Bitte schauen Sie ab und zu mal wieder rein.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen das Album auf Ihre Merkliste zu setzen.

Wir bedanken uns für Ihr Verständnis und Ihre Geduld.


  • Hector Berlioz (1803-1869): Part I
  • 1Introduction: Combats - Tumulte - Intervention du Prince04:40
  • 2Prologue: Choral Recitative: D'anciennes haines endormies04:33
  • 3Prologue: Strophes: Premiers transports que nui n'oubllet07:00
  • 4Prologue, Recitative - Scherzetto: Bientôt de Roméo la pale reverie02:58
  • Part II
  • 5Roméo seul - Tristesse - Bruit lointain de bal et de concert - Grande Fête chez Capulet12:14
  • 6Scene d'amour: Nuit Sereine - Le Jardin de Capulet Silencieux et Desert: Ohé! Capulets, bonsoir!17:50
  • 7Scherzo: La Reine Mab, ou la Fée des Songs07:50
  • Part III
  • 8Convoi funèbre de Juliette: Jetez des fleurs pour la vierge expiree09:25
  • 9Romeo au Tombeau des Capulets - Invocation - Réveil de Juliette07:14
  • 10Finale: La foule accourt au cimetière - Rixe des Capulets et des Montagus: Quoi! Roméo de retour Récitatif du Père Laurence: Je vais dévoiler le mystère03:54
  • 11Finale: Air du Père Laurence: Pauvres enfants que je pleure08:17
  • 12Finale: Serment de réconciliation: Jurez donc, par l'auguste symbole04:25
  • Total Runtime01:30:20

Info zu Berlioz: Roméo et Juliette

Released in the year of Shakespeare’s 400th anniversary, Valery Gergiev and London Symphony Orchestra are joined by soloists Olga Borodina, Kenneth Tarver and Evgeny Nikitin for Berlioz Roméo et Juliette, recorded live at the Barbican Hall in November 2013. Part of a major series of eight concerts, this work toured to venues in the Czech Republic, Germany, Austria and France.

A large-scale ‘symphonie dramatique’, Roméo et Juliette was the fruit of the composer’s dual fascination with Shakespeare and with the actress Harriet Smithson, whom he was later to marry. Using the story of the star-crossed lovers as a starting point, Shakespeare’s passion and drama is deftly portrayed through his music, as well as through the abundance of lyrical poetry, written by French poet Émile Deschamps.

Grammy-award winning mezzo-soprano Olga Borodina is a star of the Mariinsky Theatre, regularly appearing at major opera houses and with great orchestras around the world. A winner of the Rosa Ponselle and Barcelona competitions, Borodina made her highly acclaimed European debut at London’s Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, in 1992, sharing the stage with Plácido Domingo in Samson et Dalila – a performance that launched her international solo career as one of the most sought-after mezzos for her repertoire.

Kenneth Tarver is considered one of the outstanding tenore-di-grazia of his time. He has appeared at the most prestigious opera houses and concert halls around the world specialising in Mozart and challenging, skilled oratorio repertoire. He is a graduate of prestigious institutions including Interlochen Arts Academy, Oberlin College Conservatory of Music, Yale University School of Music, and was also a member of the Metropolitan Opera’s Young Artist Development Program. He has appeared on previous LSO Live recordings, notably the double Grammy Award winner Les Troyens, conducted by Sir Colin Davis.

Bass-baritone Evgeny Nikitin trained at the St Petersburg State Conservatory, graduating in 1997. He has been described as ‘physically, vocally, a complete star’ by The Independent. His premiere solo performance was with the Mariinsky Orchestra and was followed by invitations to perform at major theatres and festivals across the world. His discography includes other recordings with Valery Gergiev, including Wagner Parsifal on the Mariinsky Label.

„Gergiev was in inspirational form and the LSO embraced his reading of Berlioz’s Roméo et Juliette with skill and energy.“ (The Guardian)

t was on the wildest shores of Berlioz’s music – the frenzied depiction of the crowd descending on the lovers’ tomb and the brawl of the Capulets and Montagues – that the Gergiev magic truly emerged.“ (The Observer)

„Gergiev’s reading was truly operatic… I left in little doubt that Gergiev and his orchestra are as fine a team of representatives as Berlioz could want.“ (Bachtrack)

Olga Borodina, mezzo-soprano
Kenneth Tarver, tenor
Evgeny Nikitin, bass
London Symphony Chorus
Guildhall School Singers
Simon Halsey, choral conductor
London Symphony Orchestra
Valery Gergiev, conductor

Recorded on the 6th & 13th November 2013 live at the Barbican
Engineering, editing, mixing & mastering by Classic Sound Ltd
Produced by James Mallinson

Keine Alben gefunden.

Keine Biografie vorhanden.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO