Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Universal Music Ltd.

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Concertos

Interpret: Esther Yoo, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra & Vasily Petrenko

Komponist: Samuel Barber (1910-1981), Max Bruch (1838-1920)

Das Album enthält Albumcover

Entschuldigen Sie bitte!

Sehr geehrter HIGHRESAUDIO Besucher,

leider kann das Album zurzeit aufgrund von Länder- und Lizenzbeschränkungen nicht gekauft werden oder uns liegt der offizielle Veröffentlichungstermin für Ihr Land noch nicht vor. Wir aktualisieren unsere Veröffentlichungstermine ein- bis zweimal die Woche. Bitte schauen Sie ab und zu mal wieder rein.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen das Album auf Ihre Merkliste zu setzen.

Wir bedanken uns für Ihr Verständnis und Ihre Geduld.


  • Max Bruch (1838 - 1920): Violin Concerto No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 26:
  • 1Bruch: Violin Concerto No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 26: I. Vorspiel. Allegro moderato08:27
  • 2Bruch: Violin Concerto No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 26: II. Adagio08:57
  • 3Bruch: Violin Concerto No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 26: III. Finale. Allegro energico07:28
  • Adagio appassionato, Op. 57:
  • 4Bruch: Adagio appassionato, Op. 5710:08
  • Samuel Barber (1910 - 1981): Violin Concerto, Op. 14:
  • 5Barber: Violin Concerto, Op. 14: I. Allegro10:21
  • 6Barber: Violin Concerto, Op. 14: II. Andante09:06
  • 7Barber: Violin Concerto, Op. 14: III. Presto in moto perpetuo03:59
  • Henri Vieuxtemps (1820 - 1881): Souvenir d'Amerique, Variations on "Yankee Doodle", Op. 17:
  • 8Vieuxtemps: Souvenir d'Amerique, Variations on "Yankee Doodle", Op. 1705:57
  • Total Runtime01:04:23

Info zu Barber, Bruch

A blend of intelligent musicianship and artistic authenticity.

First studio recording with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra (RPO) and Music Director Vasily Petrenko.

Violinist Esther Yu releases Barber, Bruch, an album of recordings of Max Bruch's Violin Concerto in G minor and Samuel Barber's Violin Concerto with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra (conducted by Vasily Petrenko).

This is his first studio album in six years since his second album of Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto (2017) and his first recording with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and Music Director Vasily Petrenko. In addition to the two violin concertos, it features Bruch's Adagio appassionato, written for Joachim, and Vieuxtemps' Yankee Doodle Variations (Memories of America). The recording was made at the Watford Coliseum with Henry Woodhall, creator of many masterpieces, and producer Christopher Alder, who has won ten Grammys and made many best-selling albums.

Esther Yoo, violin
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Vasily Petrenko, conductor

Esther Yoo
The Strad described Esther Yoo as ​“the model of a violin soloist in the modern age. Intelligent, articulate and self-possessed, she is so much more than a technical virtuoso.”

Esther began playing the violin at four-years-old and made her concerto debut aged eight. At sixteen she became the youngest prizewinner of the International Sibelius Violin Competition and two years later was one of the youngest ever prize-winners of the Queen Elisabeth Competition. In 2014 she became a BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artist and in 2018 was selected as one of Classic FM’s Top 30 Artists under 30. In 2020 WQXR named her one of twenty Artist to Watch.

She performs with leading conductors – including Vladimir Ashkenazy, Gustavo Dudamel, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Myung-Whun Chung, Vasily Petrenko, Thierry Fischer, Karina Canellakis and Andrew Davis – and orchestras such as the Los Angeles Philharmonic, Philharmonia, Seoul Philharmonic, Deutsche Radio Philharmonie, BBC Symphony and Royal Liverpool Philharmonic. She has performed at a range of prominent festivals, including BBC Proms and Aspen Music Festival, and has appeared in recital at Lincoln Center and Wigmore Hall. The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra appointed her as their inaugural Artist-in-Residence in 2018, through which she participated extensively in educational and outreach projects, alongside concert performances in London and across the UK.

Esther has recorded the Sibelius, Glazunov and Tchaikovsky concertos for Deutsche Grammophon, who will soon also release her recordings of Bruch and Barber. She featured prominently on the soundtrack and accompanying disc of the feature film, On Chesil Beach, and is a guest artist on pianist Chad Lawson’s album breathe, both released by Decca Records and recorded at Abbey Road Studios.

Deutsche Grammophon have also released two recordings by the Z.E.N. Trio, which she founded together with fellow BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artists, Zhang Zuo and Narek Hakhnazaryan, and which tours widely in North America, Europe, Asia and Australia. The first album includes works by Brahms and Dvořák; and is followed by Burning Through the Cold, featuring piano trios by Shostakovich, Babajanyan, Rachmaninov and Khachaturian.

Esther may be unique among classical soloists in being fully tri-cultural. She was born and spent her earliest years in the U.S., before receiving her education in Belgium and Germany, but she proudly retains her family’s Korean heritage. Having authentic roots in three continents contributes to her versatility and exceptionally broad range of expression, and is unquestionably a factor in making her one of the most articulate and gifted communicators in the field of classical music.

Recent years have brought many opportunities for Esther to demonstrate those skills. She curated a two-hour special programme for BBC Radio 3 and is frequent contributor to BBC Music Magazine, Gramophone, The Arts Desk, and The Strad, which featured her on the cover of its August 2021 edition. She writes not only about repertoire and practice techniques, but also about less commonly explored areas, such as the mental health and wider well-being of musicians.

She hosts a video series on Youtube, ​‘Artist Confidential’, where she talks with artists like Miloš, Narek Hakhnazaryan, Lina González-Granados and Julia Bullock on the hopes, fears, and perspectives of artists in the classical music space today. She also created a 3‑part video series ​“Journey Through Violin with Esther Yoo”, in collaboration with Kyobo Nobiliaire Arts & Culture, available to watch in Korean on its YouTube channel.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO