Lloyd: Symphonies Nos. 4, 5 & 8 Philharmonia Orchestra & Edward Downes

Cover Lloyd: Symphonies Nos. 4, 5 & 8

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Lyrita

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Orchestral

Interpret: Philharmonia Orchestra & Edward Downes

Komponist: George Lloyd (1913-1998)

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 14,00
  • George Lloyd (1913 - 1998): Symphony No. 4 in B Major:
  • 1Symphony No. 4 in B Major: I. Allegro moderato17:10
  • 2Symphony No. 4 in B Major: II. Lento tranquillo12:39
  • 3Symphony No. 4 in B Major: III. Allegro scherzando13:17
  • 4Symphony No. 4 in B Major: IV. Lento - Allegro non troppo19:46
  • Symphony No. 5 in B-Flat Major:
  • 5Symphony No. 5 in B-Flat Major: I. Pastorale. Allegretto con tenerezza12:24
  • 6Symphony No. 5 in B-Flat Major: II. Corale. Grave11:07
  • 7Symphony No. 5 in B-Flat Major: III. Rondo. Delicatamente scherzando09:08
  • 8Symphony No. 5 in B-Flat Major: IV. Lamento. Adagio drammatico14:14
  • 9Symphony No. 5 in B-Flat Major: V. Finale. Vivace10:37
  • Symphony No. 8:
  • 10Symphony No. 8: I. Tranquillo - Allegro18:32
  • 11Symphony No. 8: II. Largo14:13
  • 12Symphony No. 8: III. Vivace12:40
  • Total Runtime02:45:47

Info zu Lloyd: Symphonies Nos. 4, 5 & 8

George Lloyd (1913-1998) had three symphonies and two operas produced before he was twenty-five, despite little formal education. When he was just nineteen, Lloyd wrote his First Symphony. This promising start to a career in music was literally blasted to a halt by the war. Severely shell-shocked by an explosion, he was only slowly nursed back to health over many years by his devoted wife, Nancy. In 1951 he abandoned the world of music, resuming composition only in 1973. His Late Romantic style was no longer in fashion, and the revival of interest in his sweeping symphonies has been thanks in large part to championship by the conductor of this recording, Sir Edward Downes.

"The Philharmonia Orchestra plays extremely well, Edward Downes bringing out all the details in the scores with great success. Lyrita’s recordings, excellently re-mastered by Simon Gibson, are as superb as ever, made in acoustics which allow the climaxes to expand without congealing into a muddy mess while preserving the transparency of Downes’s direction. Lyrita offers these three highly recommended recording of George Lloyd’s for the price of two." (Peter Joelson, classicalsource.com)

"The performances are first rate. Downes and the Philharmonia realise the changing moods of the music to perfection, and play with genuine commitment. The sound and balance of these late-analogue recordings is excellent and a very believable concert-hall balance is created. As usual with Lyrita the presentation is of a high standard, with fascinating programme notes by Lewis Foreman and the composer himself." (Ewan McCormick, MusicWeb International

Philharmonia Orchestra
Sir Edward Downes, conductor

Keine Biografie vorhanden.

Booklet für Lloyd: Symphonies Nos. 4, 5 & 8

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO