De Visee, Weiss & Dufaut Jonas Nordberg

Cover De Visee, Weiss & Dufaut

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Eudora Records

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Interpret: Jonas Nordberg

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 11,30
FLAC 192 $ 13,10
DSD 64 $ 15,80
MQA $ 12,80
  • Robert de Visée (1650-1725): Suite in A minor
  • 1I. Prelude02:04
  • 2II. Allemande -La Royalle-03:08
  • 3III. Courante01:52
  • 4IV. Gavotte01:02
  • 5V. Rondeau -La Mascarade-02:12
  • 6VI. Chaconne04:12
  • Silvius Leopold Weiss (1687-1750)
  • 7Prelude01:52
  • 8Fuga02:37
  • 9Prelude02:22
  • 10Ciaccona03:49
  • 11Fantasie02:30
  • François Dufaut (1604-1672): Suite in G minor
  • 12I. Prelude01:55
  • 13II. Allemande03:24
  • 14III. Sarabande02:00
  • 15IV. Courante Suedoise01:07
  • 16V. Gigue01:46
  • 17VI. Tombeau de Mr. Blancrocher04:41
  • Robert de Visée: Suite in E minor
  • 18I. Prelude01:38
  • 19II. Allemande04:01
  • 20III. Courante01:58
  • 21IV. Sarabande03:02
  • 22V. Gavotte01:17
  • 23VI. Rondeau -La Montfermeil-01:41
  • 24VII. Gigue & Double02:52
  • 25VIII. Tombeau des Mesdemoiselles05:31
  • Total Runtime01:04:33

Info zu De Visee, Weiss & Dufaut

For his début solo recording, Swedish lutenist Jonas Nordberg presents a delightful selection of works for Baroque lute and theorbo; the grandeur and elevated spirit of the French Baroque music of Dufaut and de Visée alternate with the refinement and extraordinary originality of the works of Silvius Leopold Weiss, who was regarded as the finest lutenist of his time. Jonas Nordberg, who has recorded three albums for BIS with recorder virtuoso Dan Laurin, gives personal and intense performances of these pieces, recorded in the gorgeous acoustic of the 13th Century Spanish church of San Francisco, in Ávila.

„A well-chosen spiritual combination of music, culture and history.“ (Adrian Quanjer,

„Empathy and rapport distinguish Nordberg’s first solo disc.“ (John Miller,

Jonas Nordberg, theorbo, lute

Jonas Nordberg
Swedish lutenist and guitarist Jonas Nordberg belongs to the new generation of exciting musicians in the field of plucked instruments. A graduate of the Mozarteum University Salzburg (MA Summa cum Laude 2011), he has an active schedule as a performing artist on lutes and guitars. Thereby his repertoire ranges from early renaissance lute music to contemporary soundscape explorations. In between we find solo repertoire for baroque lute, baroque guitar, early 19th century guitar and theorbo.

He has an extensive collaboration with choreographer Kenneth Kvarnström, resulting in several large scale stage works in recent years. The meeting between baroque music and contemporary dance gives the music a new dimension, a visual chamber music partner for the solo pieces and a way to communicate through physical gestures and impulses. In 2013 Nordberg and Kvarnström teamed up for a critically acclaimed duet, sofa(r), combining elements of dance, baroque music for lute and theorbo, electronic music and speech in a dark work exploring death. This also marked his debut as a dancer.

Nordberg has a strong interest in collaborating with singers and past colleagues include Susanne Rydén, Olle Persson, Ruby Hughes, Elin Rombo, Christina Larsson Malmberg, Lena-Susanne Norin and Christina Högman. He also works together with Operabyrån, co-creating the cutting edge stage work Love and the Courtesan (2013) together with Christina Larsson Malmberg (soprano), Catalina Langborn (baroque violin) and Karin Modigh (dance). It is a piece based on a libretto on the life of Barbara Strozzi including music by her and other female 17th century composers.

Venues and festivals the past seasons include Kammermusikfest Lockenhaus, Greenwich Early Music Festival, Stockholm Early Music Festival, Movimentos festwochen Wolfsburg, Herculessaal Residenz München, Mozarteum Salzburg, Malmö Opera, Kulturhuset Stadsteatern, Helsingfors Stadsteater, Salzburger Landestheater, Palladium Malmö, Concertgebouw Brügge, Theater Bonn Opernhaus, Grand Théatre Luxembourg, Vadstena Gamla Teater and Norrlandsoperan amongst several other concert halls and churches around Sweden and Europe.

He has recorded three albums for BIS Records with recorder player Dan Laurin, two of them to be released later this year. October 5th marks the release of his solo debut album for Eudora Records. His work has also been seen and heard on Swedish state television (SVT), BBC Radio, Sveriges Radio & Deutschlandfunk.

Booklet für De Visee, Weiss & Dufaut

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO