Album info



Label: Berlin Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Claudio Bohórquez & Christoph Eschenbach

Composer: Franz Schubert (1797-1828), Robert Schumann (1810-1856), Anton Webern (1883-1945), Olivier Messiaen (1908-1992)

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 13.20
  • Franz Schubert (1797 - 1828): Arpeggione Sonata in A Minor, D. 821:
  • 1Schubert: Arpeggione Sonata in A Minor, D. 821: I. Allegro moderato11:40
  • 2Schubert: Arpeggione Sonata in A Minor, D. 821: II. Adagio04:52
  • 3Schubert: Arpeggione Sonata in A Minor, D. 821: III. Allegretto09:05
  • Robert Schumann (1810 - 1856): Adagio & Allegro, Op. 70:
  • 4Schumann: Adagio & Allegro, Op. 70: I. Langsam, mit innigem Ausdruck04:10
  • 5Schumann: Adagio & Allegro, Op. 70: II. Rasch und feurig04:46
  • Anton Webern (1883 - 1945): Two Pieces for Cello and Piano (1899):
  • 6Webern: Two Pieces for Cello and Piano (1899): I. Langsam 03:13
  • 7Webern: Two Pieces for Cello and Piano (1899): II. Langsam02:17
  • Olivier Messiaen (1908 - 1992): Quatuor pour la fin du temps:
  • 8Messiaen: Quatuor pour la fin du temps: V. Louange à l​'​É​ternité de J​é​sus07:37
  • Total Runtime47:40

Info for On the Shoulders of Giants

On the Shoulders of Giants" is the latest album from the renowned cellist Claudio Bohórquez., with works ranging from Schumann to Webern, from Schubert to Messiaen, this album is a journey on the shoulders of musical giants, both in the compositions and in the interpretations. Accompanied by the legendary conductor and pianist Christoph Eschenbach, Bohórquez delivers an extraordinary performance that is a treat for the ears and soul. With his exceptional skill and technique, he explores the depths of the cello's sound, bringing out the unique beauty and emotion of each piece. The album features Schumann's Adagio & Allegro op. 70, a powerful and expressive work that showcases Bohórquez's impeccable bowing and phrasing. The 2 Pieces for Cello and Piano by A. v. Webern are a masterclass in modernist composition, with Bohórquez and Eschenbach expertly navigating the intricate and complex melodies. Schubert's Sonata (Arpeggione) is a true gem of the cello repertoire. Finally, O. Messiaen's Louange à l'Éternité de Jésus is a beautiful and moving work that showcases the cello's ability to convey deep spiritual emotions.

Claudio Bohorquez, cello
Christoph Eschenbach, piano

No biography found.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO