Mozart - Clementi Vanessa Wagner

Cover Mozart - Clementi

Album info



Label: La Dolce Volta

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Artist: Vanessa Wagner

Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791), Muzio Clementi (1752-1832)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.90
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791):
  • 1Fantasia in D Minor, K. 39706:13
  • 2Piano Sonata in B-Flat Major, K. 570: I. Allegro05:28
  • 3Piano Sonata in B-Flat Major, K. 570: II. Adagio07:13
  • 4Piano Sonata in B-Flat Major, K. 570: III. Allegretto03:39
  • Muzio Clementi (1752-1832):
  • 5Piano Sonata No. 2 in F Major, Op. 23: I. Allegro con spirito05:25
  • 6Piano Sonata No. 2 in F Major, Op. 23: II. Adagio04:10
  • 7Piano Sonata No. 2 in F Major, Op. 23: III. Rondo. Allegretto con spirito04:16
  • 8Sonata No. 3 in G Minor, Op. 50 "Didone abbandonata, Scene tragiche": I. Largo patetico e sostenuto02:15
  • 9Sonata No. 3 in G Minor, Op. 50 "Didone abbandonata, Scene tragiche": II. Allegro ma con espressione. Deliberando e meditando07:19
  • 10Sonata No. 3 in G Minor, Op. 50 "Didone abbandonata, Scene tragiche": III. Adagio dolente04:44
  • 11Sonata No. 3 in G Minor, Op. 50 "Didone abbandonata, Scene tragiche": IV. Allegro agitato e con disperazione05:27
  • Total Runtime56:09

Info for Mozart - Clementi

Ever since her first Mozart disc in 2000, the French pianist Vanessa Wagner has wanted to make another recording of his music. Her ‘encounter’ with Clementi stimulated her to do so and to bring together on a single disc these two composers who have so often been compared.

Since 2008 she has also played the fortepiano in concert with a delight matched only by her initial timidity and reluctance to tackle period instruments!

Like Alain Planès, with whom she has worked, Vanessa Wagner likes to think of herself as a keyboardist as much as a pianist. Her frequentation of the fortepiano opened a new door in her musical itinerary. She enjoys the technique it calls for, the attitude required of the musician confronted with these fragile instruments, the intimate sound it produces, the nostalgic charm it exudes.

To alternate between the instruments seemed natural to her, and she now does so as often as possible in concert. Far from merely wishing to ‘make an impression’, she finds it gives genuine meaning and a new perspective to the listening experience.

Vanessa Wagner has always tried to create her own career path, a trajectory that seems natural, free and coherent to her. This disc exemplifies her approach.

Vanessa Wagner, piano

Vanessa Wagner
A highly individual musician, Vanessa Wagner is characterised by her sensitive and thoughtful playing, the richness of her tone colour, and her artistic choices, which prompt her to traverse the di erent repertories, from that of the fortepiano (which she plays on period instruments) to the music of our time, notably that of Pascal Dusapin and François Meïmoun, both of whom have dedicated several pieces to her. After obtaining a Premier Prix at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris in Dominique Merlet’s class and a postgraduate diploma in the class of Jean-François Heisser, she entered the International Piano Academy Lake Como, where she received the guidance of such great masters as Leon Fleisher, Dmitri Bashkirov, Murray Perahia, Fou Ts’ong and Alexis Weissenberg.

Since being named ‘Solo Instrumental Discovery of the Year’ at the Victoires de la Musique in 1999, Vanessa Wagner has appeared with the leading international orchestras and conductors.

She is also a sought-after chamber music partner, and often shares the concert platform with her musician friends, notably Augustin Dumay, with whom she has a privileged partnership, the pianists Marie Vermeulin, Cédric Tiberghien and Wilhem Latchoumia, and Murcof, a renowned musician on the electro scene.

Vanessa Wagner is artistic director of the Festival de Chambord and has been appointed Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres.

Booklet for Mozart - Clementi

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO