On Chesil Beach (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) Dan Jones & BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Esther Yoo

Album info



Label: Decca

Genre: Soundtrack

Subgenre: Film

Artist: Dan Jones & BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Esther Yoo

Composer: Dan Jones

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Talking to the Birds00:47
  • 2Solemn Love01:38
  • 3Variations on an Original Theme, Op. 36 "Enigma" - 9. Nimrod (Adagio)04:34
  • 4String Quartet in G Major, Hob. III:81 (Op.77 No.1) - 1. Allegro moderato05:30
  • 5Open Door00:46
  • 6Into the Woods01:38
  • 7Love at First Sight01:03
  • 8Walk in the Meadows02:04
  • 9String Quartet in B Flat Major, Op. 130 - 6. Finale (Allegro)00:44
  • 10Walk from Henley01:53
  • 11Lulworth Cove01:03
  • 12Partita for Violin Solo No. 3 in E Major, BWV 1006 - 1. Preludio03:53
  • 13Symphony No. 35 in D Major, K.385 "Haffner" - 1. Allegro con spirito01:36
  • 14Pandora's Piano01:20
  • 15Fear of Sex02:47
  • 16String Quartet No. 14 in D Minor, D. 810 "Death and the Maiden" - 1. Allegro01:56
  • 17You may enter00:56
  • 18You can change your mind00:39
  • 19Factory Tennis01:22
  • 20Suite for Cello Solo No. 1 in G Major, BWV 1007 - 1. Prélude02:18
  • 21I'd do anything02:12
  • 22Ponting Electronics02:04
  • 23Buried Memory01:03
  • 24String Quartet No. 14 in D Minor, D. 810 "Death and the Maiden" - 2. Andante con moto09:51
  • 25Cold Shoulder (Violin Solo Version)02:30
  • 26Chloe04:30
  • 27Arrival at Wigmore Hall01:40
  • 28String Quintet in D Major, K.593 - 1. Larghetto - Allegro04:14
  • 29My Promise to you01:21
  • 30Date on the River01:58
  • 31Symphonic Dances, Op. 45 - 1. Non allegro02:34
  • 32Cold Shoulder02:32
  • Total Runtime01:14:56

Info for On Chesil Beach (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Decca Classics is releasing the soundtrack to the highly-anticipated new film adaptation of Ian McEwan’s book, On Chesil Beach, featuring music from British composer Dan Jones and a stand-out performance from violinist Esther Yoo. The album is released on the May 18 to coincide with the film opening in cinemas the same day.

Jones’ brand new score is performed by the BBC National Orchestra of Wales and young American-Korean violinist Esther Yoo, who has a prominent solo part throughout. Alongside Jones’ score are familiar classical pieces by composers including Rachmaninov, Schubert, Elgar and Mozart.

Dan Jones says, “It’s been a great journey working with one of my favourite directors Dominic Cooke, and long time collaborators BBC NoW, to produce a score which is woven into Ian McEwan’s wonderful script, and an absolute delight to work with Esther who has brought so much insight and depth to the music. I’ve found it really rewarding working with a soloist who has taken as strong an interest in the drama as the music, and who has brought her extraordinary musicality to bear on both.”

Esther Yoo comments, “Dan has written a wonderful score and it was very important for me to really understand the story – first through the book and then by watching the movie, to place exactly where the music appears and why it appears. The music is discreet, it’s subtle, it’s very sentimental and magical and I’m delighted to be venturing into film music for the first time.”

Adapted by Ian McEwan from his acclaimed novel of the same name, On Chesil Beach stars three-time Academy Award nominee, four-time BAFTA nominee and recent winner of a Golden Globe, Saoirse Ronan (Lady Bird, Brooklyn, Atonement) and Billy Howle (Dunkirk, The Sense of an Ending, The Seagull). It is directed by Dominic Cooke, four-time Olivier Award winning and BAFTA nominated theatre, TV and film director and writer.

On Chesil Beach centres around two young spouses, Florence (Ronan) – a violinist in a string quartet, and Edward (Howle) – a graduate student of history, on their honeymoon on the dramatic coastline of Chesil Beach in Dorset. However, the hotel is old fashioned and stifling, and underlying tensions between the young couple surface and cast unexpected shadows over their long-anticipated wedding night.

From the precise depiction of young lovers, to the touching story of how their misunderstandings and fears shape the rest of their lives, Jones’ soundtrack provides a stunning and heart-breaking musical accompaniment to this tender love story. Cooke’s on-screen adaption of On Chesil Beach shows how the entire course of a life can be changed by a gesture not made or a word not spoken.

Dan Jones is a multi-award-winning composer and sound designer working in film, television and theatre. Recent credits include Louis Theroux’s documentary feature My Scientology Movie, Shadow of the Vampire starring John Malkovich and Willem Dafoe, which received two Oscar nominations, The Tonto Woman – also nominated for an Oscar in the short films category – and Max starring John Cusack and Noah Taylor, for which he won his first Ivor Novello award. For Channel 4/Carnival’s Any Human Heart Jones won BAFTA and Ivor Novello awards as well as gaining double Emmy nominations.

BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Esther Yoo, violin

No albums found.

No biography found.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO