Zappa In New York (Remastered) (Live / 40th Anniversary / Deluxe Edition) Frank Zappa

Cover Zappa In New York (Remastered) (Live / 40th Anniversary / Deluxe Edition)

Album info



Label: Frank Zappa Catalog

Genre: Rock

Subgenre: Modern Rock

Artist: Frank Zappa

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Titties & Beer (1977 Mix/Live)05:01
  • 2I Promise Not To Come In Your Mouth (1977 Mix/Live)03:31
  • 3Big Leg Emma (1977 Mix/Live)02:17
  • 4Sofa (1977 Mix/Live)03:16
  • 5Manx Needs Women (1977 Mix/Live)01:34
  • 6The Black Page Drum Solo/Black Page #1 (1977 Mix/Live)04:06
  • 7Black Page #2 (1977 Mix/Live)05:42
  • 8Honey, Don't You Want A Man Like Me? (1977 Mix/Live)04:16
  • 9The Illinois Enema Bandit (1977 Mix/Live)12:41
  • 10The Purple Lagoon (1977 Mix/Live)17:12
  • 11The Most Important Musical Event Of 1976 (Live)03:23
  • 12Peaches En Regalia (Deluxe Bonus Version/Live)03:04
  • 13The Torture Never Stops (Deluxe Bonus Version/Live)11:27
  • 14The Black Page #2 (Deluxe Bonus Version/Live)05:15
  • 15Punky's Whips Intro (Live)01:25
  • 16Punky's Whips (Deluxe Bonus Version/Live)11:35
  • 17I Promise Not To Come In Your Mouth (Deluxe Bonus Version/Live)04:03
  • 18Honey, Don't You Want A Man Like Me? (Deluxe Bonus Version/Live)04:12
  • 19The Illinois Enema Bandit (Deluxe Bonus Version/Live)15:41
  • 20Two For The Price Of One (Live)01:51
  • 21Penis Dimension (Deluxe Bonus Version/Live)03:08
  • 22Montana (Deluxe Bonus Version/Live)08:04
  • 23America Drinks (Live)04:52
  • 24Irate Phone Calls (Live)01:37
  • 25Sofa #2 (Deluxe Bonus Version/Live)03:04
  • 26The Moment You've All Been Waiting For (Live)00:58
  • 27I'm The Slime (Deluxe Bonus Version/Live)05:38
  • 28Pound For A Brown (Deluxe Bonus Version/Live)04:50
  • 29Terry's Solo (Deluxe Bonus Version/Live)02:47
  • 30The Black Page Drum Solo/Black Page #1 (Deluxe Bonus Version/Live)03:53
  • 31Big Leg Emma (Deluxe Bonus Version/Live)02:19
  • 32Jazz Buffs And Buff-etts (Live)01:51
  • 33The Purple Lagoon (Deluxe Bonus Version/Live)17:00
  • 34Find Her Finer (Deluxe Bonus Version/Live)05:22
  • 35The Origin Of Manx (Live)01:48
  • 36Manx Needs Women (Deluxe Bonus Version/Live)01:37
  • 37Chrissy Puked Twice (Deluxe Bonus Version/Live)06:40
  • 38Cruisin' For Burgers (Deluxe Bonus Version/Live)09:56
  • 39The Purple Lagoon/Any Kind Of Pain (Deluxe Bonus Version/Live)04:25
  • 40The Greatest New Undiscovered Group In America (Live)02:18
  • 41Black Napkins (Deluxe Bonus Version/Live)28:40
  • 42Dinah-Moe Humm (Deluxe Bonus Version/Live)06:16
  • 43Finale (Deluxe Bonus Version/Live)04:40
  • 44The Black Page #2 (Piano Version/Studio)03:14
  • 45I Promise Not To Come In Your Mouth (Alternate Version/Live)03:55
  • 46Chrissy Puked Twice (Vault Bonus Version/Live)08:16
  • 47Cruisin' For Burgers (1977 Mix/Live)09:08
  • 48Black Napkins (Vault Bonus Version/Live)10:56
  • 49Punky's Whips (Unused 1977 Version)10:55
  • 50The Black Page #1 (Piano Version)02:13
  • Total Runtime05:01:52

Info for Zappa In New York (Remastered) (Live / 40th Anniversary / Deluxe Edition)

In celebration of its eventual release in 1978, this 40th Anniversary Edition features all-analog mastering of the original album mix, unavailable since first issued.

In 1976, Frank Zappa played four historic sold-out concerts at The Palladium in New York City the week between Christmas and New Year's. These thrilling shows – described by band member Ruth Underwood as "theatrical, outrageous and raucously funny, but also filled with startling and gorgeous music, dating from Frank's 1960s output to literally the moment the curtain went up"— served as the source material for the live double album Zappa In New York which was constructed from the best-played performances with overdubs later recorded in the studio. Originally slated for release in 1977, the album was delayed for a year due to record label censorship issues, mostly over the controversial song "Punky's Whips," and finally released in 1978. One of Zappa's most beloved collections of songs, the now classic album included a sensational live version of "Sofa" alongside nine new compositions, including the complex percussion-based piece "The Black Page," which has become infamous in the drum community as the ultimate challenge, the Devilish comedic sendup "Titties & Beer," and the notorious aforementioned "Punky's Whips" about Punky Meadows, the flamboyant guitarist for the band Angel.

Zappa In New York capped off a terrific year for the ever-prolific and always-moving musician which included shows around the globe including his second Australian tour and one and only Japanese jaunt, the release of his album Zoot Allures and Grand Funk Railroad's record Good Singin' Good Playin, which he produced, a string of Halloween shows and a performance on "Saturday Night Live" which ended up having a profound impact on the Palladium shows. Following an on-air collaboration with SNL's announcer Don Pardo and the show's house band, Zappa invited them to be a part of the shows after three of the horn players so loved playing with Zappa that they asked if they could be involved. As Travers and Brown write in the illuminating liner notes: "Out of nowhere, the concept of adapting horns to the scheduled concerts became a reality. Frank was immediately swept up in the pleasure and challenge of writing and arranging parts for the existing material."

The collection showcases some of Zappa's most masterful guitar playing and electrifying arrangements as he leads an exceptional band featuring Ray White on vocals and guitar, Terry Bozzio on drums and vocals, Eddie Jobson on keyboard, Ruth Underwood on percussion and synthesizer, Patrick O'Hearn on bass and vocals and David Samuels on timpani and vibes. Don Pardo provided "sophisticated narration" and the brass section, featuring jazz duo the Brecker Brothers with Randy Brecker on trumpet and Michael Brecker on tenor saxophone, was rounded out by the SNL players: Lou Marini on alto sax, Ronnie Cuber on baritone sax and Tom Malone on trombone.

Frank Zappa, conductor, lead guitar, vocals
Ray White, rhythm guitar, vocals
Eddie Jobson, keyboards, violin, vocals
Patrick O'Hearn, bass, vocals
Terry Bozzio, drums, vocals
Ruth Underwood, percussion, synthesizer, and various humanly impossible overdubs
Don Pardo, sophisticated narration
David Samuels, timpani, vibes
Randy Brecker, trumpet
Mike Brecker, tenor saxophone, flute
Lou Marini, alto saxophone, flute
Ronnie Cuber, baritone saxophone, clarinet
Tom Malone, trombone, trumpet, piccolo

John Bergamo, percussion overdubs
Ed Mann, percussion overdubs
Louanne Neill, osmotic harp overdub

Digitally remastered

No biography found.

Booklet for Zappa In New York (Remastered) (Live / 40th Anniversary / Deluxe Edition)

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO