Fridrich Bruk: Orchestral Music, Vol. 2 Māris Kupčs

Cover Fridrich Bruk: Orchestral Music, Vol. 2

Album info



Label: Toccata Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Orchestral

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 16.50
  • Fridrich Bruk (b. 1937): Symphony No. 19 "Tunes from Ghettoes":
  • 1Symphony No. 19 "Tunes from Ghettoes": I. Our Little Town Is Burning14:28
  • 2Symphony No. 19 "Tunes from Ghettoes": II. Ele-bele13:15
  • 3Symphony No. 19 "Tunes from Ghettoes": III. O, Hammer, Hammer, Knock!11:07
  • Symphony No. 20:
  • 4Symphony No. 20: I. Allegro energico11:22
  • 5Symphony No. 20: II. Adagietto06:28
  • 6Symphony No. 20: III. Lesto05:01
  • Symphony No. 21 "Presentiment. In Memory of Anne Frank":
  • 7Symphony No. 21 "Presentiment. In Memory of Anne Frank": I. Presentiment No. 109:47
  • 8Symphony No. 21 "Presentiment. In Memory of Anne Frank": II. Presentiment No. 205:55
  • Total Runtime01:17:23

Info for Fridrich Bruk: Orchestral Music, Vol. 2

Fridrich Bruk – born in Kharkov in 1937 and a Finnish resident since 1974 – made his name as a composer of tangos. But the heart of his music lies in a series of (to date) 21 symphonies, which have a strong narrative element, some reflecting Jewish themes, others inspired by Karelia and Finland. The three most recent together form a kind of meta-symphony premised on the persecution of the Jews in the first half of the twentieth century. Bruk’s kaleidoscopic use of orchestral colour, his angular but expressive melodies and his dramatic musical language reflect this urge to chronicle the outrage visited on his fellow Jews – and which directly impinged on his own life.

Liepaja Symphony Orchestra (tracks 1-3, 7-8)
Arvydas Kazlauskas, baritone saxophone (tracks 1-3) Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra(tracks 4-6)
Māris Kupčs, conductor

No albums found.

No biography found.

Booklet for Fridrich Bruk: Orchestral Music, Vol. 2

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO