A Tribute to Ryuichi Sakamoto - To the Moon and Back Ryuichi Sakamoto

Album info



Label: Milan

Genre: Electronic

Subgenre: Electronica

Artist: Ryuichi Sakamoto

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Walker - Lim Giong Follow the Steps Remodel04:42
  • 2Grains (Sweet Paulownia Wood) - David Sylvian Remodel07:13
  • 3Thousand Knives - Thundercat Remodel05:26
  • 4Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence - Electric Youth Remodel05:09
  • 5Thatness and Thereness - Cornelius Remodel03:35
  • 6World Citizen I Won't Be Disappointed - Hildur Guðnadóttir Remodel05:42
  • 7The Sheltering Sky - Alva Noto Remodel04:49
  • 8Amore - Fennesz Remodel04:40
  • 9Choral No. 1 - Devonté Hynes Remodel (Featuring Emily Schubert)03:02
  • 10DNA - The Cinematic Orchestra Remodel04:32
  • 11With Snow and Moonlight - snow, silence, partially sunny - Otomo Yoshihide Remodel12:49
  • 12Forbidden Colours - Gabrial Wek Remodel06:35
  • 13The Revenant Main Theme - 404.zero Remodel03:53
  • Total Runtime01:12:07

Info for A Tribute to Ryuichi Sakamoto - To the Moon and Back

"A Tribute To Ryuichi Sakamoto – To The Moon And Back" is a collection of songs celebrating the legendary composer on his 70th birthday. The album, to be released in December by Milan Records, includes ‘Grains (Sweet Paulownia Wood)’ (David Sylvian Remodel).

Envisioned by Sakamoto’s management team and Milan Records, A TRIBUTE TO RYUICHI SAKAMOTO – TO THE MOON AND BACK features artists across generation and genre, each with their own connection to the iconic musician, and hand-selected for the project as either past collaborators, friends, admirers, or personal favorites of Sakamoto. From contemporary admirers of Sakamoto’s work like Thundercat, Devonté Hynes, and Hildur Guðnadóttir to longtime collaborators and friends like David Sylvian, Alva Noto, Cornelius, and Fennesz, plus some of Sakamoto’s personal favorites like Lim Giong, Gabrial Wek, and 404.zero, the included artists reflect the breadth of Sakamoto’s influence on contemporary music. Given full access to the musician’s extensive catalogue of solo releases and film scores, each artist personally selected their contribution and put their unique spin on Sakamoto’s originals.

The result is a collection that reflects the many dimensions of Sakamoto’s career, from the diversity of sound the consummate musician has traversed to the continued legacy of his work on artists of all backgrounds.

Ryuichi Sakamoto
David Sylvian
Devonté Hynes
Hildur Guðnadóttir

Ryuichi Sakamoto
Born in 1952 in Nakano (Tokyo), Ryuichi Sakamoto has been active in the entertainment industry since his graduation from the Tokyo National University of Fine Arts and Music.

He achieved western fame as a member of electronic pioneer trio Yellow Magic Orchestra from 1978 until the mid 80s. By then he started writing music alone, or contributing with artists, most notably David Sylvian.

His exploits include an Academy Award for his score to the 1987 Bernardo Bertolucci film The Last Emperor, the soundscape for the opening ceremony of the 1992 Summer Olympics in Barcelona, and was even hired by the Finnish mobile phone company Nokia to compose ring tones for the Nokia 8800. He is maybe the most influential Japanese musician in electronica. In addition to making music, he has also acted in movies, most notably in "Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence" co-starring David Bowie, for which Ryuichi also composed perhaps his most memorable film soundtrack.

Trivia - he acts as a director in Madonna's "Rain" video. He also modeled for "The Gap" among other products.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO