Broken Land Initiative H

Album info



Label: Neuklang

Genre: Jazz

Subgenre: Avantgarde Jazz

Artist: Initiative H

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 12.50
  • 1Broken Land07:54
  • 2Signes06:53
  • 3The Point of No Return04:46
  • 4Just Dust07:58
  • 5Far West04:27
  • 6Fun Kills06:03
  • 7Failure06:06
  • 8Trouble04:14
  • 9Polaroid05:34
  • Total Runtime53:55

Info for Broken Land

After the two critically acclaimed albums DEUS EX MACHINA and DARK WAVE, the French Big Band Initiative H is releasing a third opus, BROKEN LAND, modeled on Grieg's "Peer Gynt Suite" or Moussorgsky's "Pictures of an Exhibition".

BROKEN LAND embodies the sound and visual soundtrack of this dark statement: a dark and imposing, but also fragile and intimate music that makes the listener fly into a dreamy road movie.

Far removed from fatalism, this album also creates a consciousness that conveys hope: fight not to resign. "BROKEN LAND" provides a new impetus - at the same time strong, sensitive and bright.

Founded in 2012 by David Haudrechy, Initiative H has embraced the ambitious challenge of creating dense, modern, passionate and cross-genre music (jazz, rock, electro, 20th-century music). The powerful sound of this 21st century orchestra is enlivened by the energy of a large collective project in which every single musician has his place. The interpretation is masterful, the commitment absolute and the listener is kidnapped by the telling power of this music. A musical adventure, human, urban, that makes Initiative H an inescapable asset in the renewal of French jazz.

The extraordinary crossover in his music becomes a lot more understandable when you know the special enthusiasm of saxophonist David Haudrechy for surfing, snowboarding and skating. The thrill, the slight shiver and the risk were sublimated by the director and composer of the Ensemble Initiative H, around the iconic image of the "Dark Wave".

David Haudrechy develops his own free musical language inspired by Berlioz and Moussorgski, as well as Gill Evans, Carla Bley, but also King Crimson and Arvo Pärt. Unexpectedly and paradoxically, the musical process in the "slalom" meanders between the collaboration with Médéric Collignon, Magic Malik or Emile Parisien, as well as various projects around music, contemporary dance, or even audiovisual productions.

David Haudrechy, soprano saxophone, composer, direction, voice, additional sound
Ferdinand Doumerc, alto saxophone, flute
Gaël Pautric, baritone saxophone, bass clarinet
Nicolas Gardel, trumpet
Cyril Latour, trumpet
Olivier Sabatier, trombone, additional sound
Lionel Segui, bass trombone
Amaury Faye, piano, Fender Rhodes
Olivier Cussac, synthesizer
Florent Hortal, guitar
Pascal Celma, electric bass
Pierre Pollet, drums
Florent "Pepino" Tisseyre, percussions
La Lauzeta, vocals (on tracks 1, 9)

No biography found.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO