Cover Elgar: The Dream Of Gerontius, Op.38

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • The Sir Edward Elgar (1857-1934): Dream of Gerontius, Op.38 / Pt. 1:
  • 1Prelude09:20
  • 2Jesu, Maria, I am near to death03:36
  • 3Kyrie eleison02:12
  • 4Rouse thee, my fainting soul00:49
  • 5Be merciful, be gracious02:37
  • 6Sanctus fortis, Sanctus Deus05:47
  • 7I can no more; for now it comes again02:11
  • 8Rescue him, O Lord01:57
  • 9Novissima hora est01:10
  • 10Proficiscere, anima Christiana01:54
  • 11Go, in the name of Angels and Archangels04:08
  • The Dream of Gerontius, Op.38 / Pt. 2:
  • 12Introduction01:36
  • 13I went to sleep03:35
  • 14My work is done, my task is o'er09:16
  • 15Low-born clods of brute earth02:40
  • 16The mind bold and independent02:29
  • 17I see not those false spirits03:40
  • 18Praise to the Holiest03:05
  • 19Glory to him01:16
  • 20But hark! A grand mysterious harmony00:47
  • 21And now the threshold as we traverse it00:36
  • 22Praise to the Holiest in the height07:50
  • 23Thy judgement now is near02:31
  • 24Jesu! by that shuddering dread which fell on Thee05:20
  • 25Praise to His name!01:22
  • 26Take me away!03:37
  • 27Lord, Thou hast been our refuge01:06
  • 28Softly and gently, dearly ransomed soul07:30
  • Total Runtime01:33:57

Info for Elgar: The Dream Of Gerontius, Op.38

Daniel Barenboim’s ‘The Dream of Gerontius’ is a significant addition to his critically-acclaimed Elgar series with Staatskapelle Berlin. This is Barenboim’s first recording of Elgar’s greatest choral masterpiece. Featuring the finest array of English-speaking soloists: Catherine Wyn-Rogers, Andrew Staples and Thomas Hampson.

The album is released to coincide with Barenboim’s performances of Elgar’s Symphonies 1 & 2 with the Staatskapelle Berlin at the BBC Proms on 15 & 16 July

„Barenboim's long association with, and love for, Elgar has effectively made it part of his musical DNA.“ (Gramophone)

„Barenboim made this a Gerontius of transcendental splendour.“ (Financial Times)

„If anyone can make a case for Elgar outside Britain, and without special pleading, it's Daniel Barenboim, returning to conduct this British composer's works.“ (New York Times)

Catherine Wyn-Rogers, mezzo-soprano (Angel)
Andrew Staples, tenor (Gerontius)
Thomas Hampson, baritone (Priest/Angel of the Agony)
RIAS Kammerchor
Staatsopernchor Berlin
Staatskapelle Dresden
Daniel Barenboim, conductor

No biography found.

Booklet for Elgar: The Dream Of Gerontius, Op.38

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO