Yankee Hotel Foxtrot Wilco

Album info



Label: Warner Music Group

Genre: Alternative

Subgenre: Indie Rock

Artist: Wilco

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1I am trying to break your heart06:58
  • 2Kamera03:30
  • 3Radio cure05:09
  • 4War on war03:49
  • 5Jesus, etc.03:52
  • 6Ashes of American Flags04:44
  • 7Heavy metal drummer03:09
  • 8I'm the man who loves you03:56
  • 9Pot kettle black04:01
  • 10Poor places05:18
  • 11Reservations07:24
  • Total Runtime51:50

Info for Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

When pioneering alt-country band Uncle Tupelo split in the mid-1990s, they broke off into two camps. Jay Farrar started the rootsy, twangy (if lyrically elliptical) Son Volt. Singer/songwriter/guitarist Jeff Tweedy, who co-led the band with Farrar, established himself anew with Wilco.

Though Wilco initially offered country-influenced rock not unlike that of Tweedy's former outfit, they quickly progressed through the Stones-meet-Big Star shambling two-disc epic „Being There“, the Beach Boys/Beatles-influenced pop of „Summer Teeth“, and the screwy, art-damaged, Jim O'Rourke-produced „Yankee Hotel Foxtrot“, whose release was notoriously delayed due to label apathy, though the album was eventually hailed as the group's masterpiece.

„Named in honor of the three-word codes used by short-wave radio operators, Wilco's fourth album sounds like a late-night broadcast of some weirdly wonderful pop station punctuated by static and the sonic bleed of competing signals. Songs that begin with simple, elegiac grace--'Ashes of American Flags' and 'Poor Places'--end in a cathartic squall of distortion. The results can be initially jarring, but it's these tracks more than the sturdy jangle pop of 'Kamera' or 'Heavy Metal Drummer' that demand, and reward, repeated listens. Mixed by studio experimentalist Jim O'Rourke and produced by the band, Yankee Hotel Foxtrot harkens back to a time when the words 'pop' and 'sonic adventurism' weren't mutually exclusive. The Beatles and Kurt Cobain knew this, and clearly so do Jeff Tweedy and company.“ (Keith Moerer)

'It's Tweedy's growth as a lyricist that's most arreting....Tweedy alternates subtle and startling twists of phrase to paint pictures of intense longing, wistful nostalgia, moments of pure joy and utter despair.' (Paste Magazine)

Jeff Tweedy, vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, programming, harmonica
Jay Bennett, programming, guitars, piano, keyboards, synthesizers, organ, bass, drums, vocals
John Stirratt, bass, vocals
Leroy Bach, piano, acoustic and electric guitar, organ, glockenspiel, vibraphone, bass, percussion
Glenn Kotche, drums, percussion, cimbalom, siren, chimes

Additional musicians:
Ken Coomer, additional drums and percussion
Fred Lonberg-Holm, cello
Craig Christiansen, programming, keyboards, synthesizers, percussion, autoharp, harmonium
Jessy Greene, violin, viola
Jim O'Rourke, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, piano, keyboards, toy piano, stylophone

Recorded at The Loft, CRC, and Soma E.M.S., Chicago, Illinois
Engineered by Chris Buckley, Chris Brickley, Jay Bennett, Jim O'Rourke
Mixed by Jim O’Rourke at Soma E.M.S.
Mastered by Steve Rooke at Abbey Road Studios, London
Produced by Wilco

Digitally remastered

The Chicago rock band founded in the mid-’90s by singer, guitarist and songwriter Jeff Tweedy last year launched and headlined the inaugural Solid Sound Festival, while Tweedy produced and wrote two songs for the Grammy- winning release by soul legend Mavis Staples, You Are Not Alone, which won Best Americana Album at the 53rd Annual Grammy Awards in February.

Staples joined Wilco, Avi Buffalo, Vetiver, the Baseball Project and more to perform at the first Solid Sound Festival, held Aug. 13-15, 2010, on the grounds of MASS MoCA (the Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Art), a converted textile mill in North Adams, tucked away in the scenic Berkshire Mountains of western Massachusetts.

Wilco has already announced the second incarnation of Solid Sound June 24-26. Along with a pair of headline performances by Wilco, this year’s version features the Levon Helm Band, Sonic Youth guitarist Thurston Moore, New Zealand rocker Liam Finn, alt-country duo The Handsome Family and folk couple Sarah Lee Guthrie & Johnny Irion. Also performing are soul singer Syl Johnson, jazz trumpeter Dave Douglas and Chicago retro-soul band JC Brooks & The Uptown Sound, plus indie-rockers Here We Go Magic, Sic Alps, Purling Hiss and a rare live set by Pillow Wand, a collaboration between Moore and Wilco guitarist Nels Cline. Comedian John Hodgman hosts this year’s Comedy Cabaret, featuring Daily Show correspondent Wyatt Cenac and comics Eugene Mirman and Morgan Murphy. Tickets are available via solidsoundfestival.com.

Also, Wilco this winter founded dBpm Records, headquartered in Easthampton, MA, to release future Wilco albums. Speaking of which, the band is currently recording the follow-up to its Grammy-nominated 2009 release Wilco (The Album) at the band’s studio in Chicago, The Loft.

It’s the latest chapter for Wilco, which Tweedy founded in 1994 after the dissolution of his previous group, Uncle Tupelo. From its raucous roots-rock origins, Wilco over the years has expanded its sound to encompass classic pop and genre-spanning experimentalism on acclaimed albums including 2002’s Yankee Hotel Foxtrot (the subject of Sam Jones’ 2002 film I Am Trying to Break Your Heart) and 2005’s Grammy-winning effort A Ghost is Born. Wilco also teamed with English singer Billy Bragg in the late ’90s at the invitation of Woody Guthrie’s daughter, who invited them to collaborate on setting to music some of the folk icon’s previously unrecorded lyrics, resulting in a pair of highly regarded Mermaid Avenue albums.

The current Wilco lineup solidified in 2004 with the addition of guitarist Nels Cline and guitarist/keyboardist Pat Sansone, who rounded out a roster featuring Tweedy, founding bassist John Stirratt, drummer Glenn Kotche and keyboardist Mikael Jorgensen. Kotche joined the band during the making of Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, and Jorgensen helped with live sound manipulations on that tour before switching to piano and becoming a full-time member of Wilco.

In life beyond Wilco Stirratt and Sansone play together in the folk-pop group Autumn Defense, Jorgensen fronts the pop-rock band Pronto and Cline performs in multiple side projects, most notably with the free-jazz instrumental group The Nels Cline Singers. Kotche performs with bassist Darin Gray in On Fillmore and as a composer and a solo percussionist. He has also collaborated with Tweedy on the Loose Fur side project.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO