Lost & Found Sean Shibe

Cover Lost & Found

Album info



Label: PentaTone

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Artist: Sean Shibe

Composer: Hildegard von Bingen (1098-1179), Chick Corea (1941-2021), Daniel Kidane (1986), Oliver Leith (1990), Meredith Monk (1943), Bill Evans (1929-1980), Olivier Messiaen (1908-1992), Julius Eastman (1940-1990)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 13.50
  • Hildegard von Bingen (1098 - 1179): O viridissima virga:
  • 1O viridissima virga06:54
  • Chick Corea (1941 - 2021): Children's Song No. 1:
  • 2Children's Song No. 101:42
  • Daniel Kidane (b. 1986): Continuance:
  • 3Continuance02:05
  • Chick Corea: Children's Song No. 4:
  • 4Children's Song No. 402:14
  • Moondog (1916 - 1999): Sea Horse:
  • 5Sea Horse01:18
  • Pastoral:
  • 6Pastoral04:00
  • High on a Rocky Ledge (Second Movement from H'Art Songs, Op. 82):
  • 7High on a Rocky Ledge (Second Movement from H'Art Songs, Op. 82)04:15
  • Chick Corea: Children's Song No. 2:
  • 8Children's Song No. 201:29
  • Oliver Leith (b. 1990): Pushing My Thumb Through a Plate:
  • 9Pushing My Thumb Through a Plate10:44
  • Meredith Monk (b. 1942): Nightfall:
  • 10Nightfall09:38
  • Bill Evans (1929 - 1980): Peace Piece:
  • 11Peace Piece06:42
  • Olivier Messiaen (1908 - 1992): O sacrum convivium!, I/18:
  • 12O sacrum convivium!, I/1803:51
  • Shiva Feshareki (b. 1987): Venus / Zohreh:
  • 13Venus / Zohreh05:22
  • Hildegard von Bingen (1098 - 1179): O choruscans lux stellarum:
  • 14O choruscans lux stellarum04:58
  • Julius Eastman (1940 - 1990): Buddha:
  • 15Buddha04:41
  • Total Runtime01:09:53

Info for Lost & Found

Sean Shibe’s second Pentatone album Lost & Found is an ecstatic journey containing music by outsiders, mystics, visionaries, who often have more than one identity and lay claim to various artistic traditions, genres, or audiences. The repertoire ranges from Hildegard von Bingen to Olivier Messiaen, Moondog, Julius Eastman, Bill Evans, Chick Corea, Meredith Monk, Shiva Feshareki, Oliver Leith, and Daniel Kidane. Stretching ten centuries, these pieces are bound together by Shibe’s unique electric guitar sound and aesthetic. The first print run of this album comes with an exclusive polaroid picture of Sean at the recording sessions. Multi-award-winning guitarist Sean Shibe brings a fresh and innovative approach to the traditional classical guitar, while also exploring contemporary music and repertoire for electric guitar. He continues his exclusive collaboration with Pentatone after his well-received label debut Camino (2021).

“The composers and pieces on this album might not immediately stand out as having very much in common; this album is less portraiture than a journey that revels in eclecticism. If an image did come to mind, it would be something like an overflowing toybox, some kind of emporium of curiosities; but what appears to be child’s play portends something darker and ecstatic, particularly when rendered through the post-modern chaos of the electric guitar.

Each musical object influences the interpretation of the next: evocations of Bingen; alternate naïveté and menace of Corea; tense liquid of Leith; inherent qualities are transformed, exaggerated and — in a sense — modernised. And yet, this is still the Old World: the opening branches and songs are earthly; the hazy utopia of ‘High on a Rocky Ledge’ is the jangle of the band in a lazy bar; only with ‘Pushing my thumb through a plate’ do we begin the uneasy climb to the heavens. From this point onwards interpretation becomes necessarily more drastic —scordatura alteration in Venus and the transmogrification of Buddha.

William Blake — a radical searching for the revelatory, seen as old-fashioned in his own day —sums up this journey. The illustrations that accompany his writings disregard convention, demonstrate miraculous prescience of the Arts and Crafts movement, and present a vital auteurship of craft and philosophy exemplified in the often androgynous characters of his personal mythos. I would worry that posing him as ‘the way in’ might seem a little grand, but the fecundity of his influence on so many artists eases that a little. Only he reflects the strange light and celestial ambition of the works presented here.” (Sean Shibe)

Sean Shibe, electric guitar

Sean Shibe
Born in Edinburgh in 1992 of English and Japanese heritage, Sean studied at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, and currently with the inspirational Paolo Pegoraro in Italy.

In 2012 he became the first guitarist to be selected for the BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artists scheme, and the only solo guitarist to be awarded a Borletti-Buitoni Trust Fellowship. He was selected by Young Classical Artists Trust in 2015.

Over the last year Sean has given recitals at Wigmore Hall, the Heidelberger-Frühling, Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Bath International, Cambridge Summer and Aldeburgh Festivals. He returned to the Marlboro Summer Music Festival & Academy in the USA (on the invitation of Mitsuko Uchida), recorded solo works by Sir Peter Maxwell Davies for Linn Records as part of a Scottish Chamber Orchestra disc, and was the featured cover disc for BBC Music Magazine.

Engagements during 2016/17 include recitals at Wigmore Hall, Saffron Hall, the Three Palaces Festival in Malta, the Cumnock Tryst, Northern Chords and Newbury Spring Festivals, and a tour of China. He also brings together acoustic and electric guitars; ancient and modern traditions in his new project softLOUD, which premieres at the East Neuk Festival, followed by a week’s residency at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe. Earlier this year he recorded a CD of English music for Delphian due for release shortly. Future plans include debut concerts in Tokyo and Nagoya.

As a concerto soloist Sean has appeared with the BBC Scottish Symphony, Scottish Chamber Orchestra, BBC National Orchestra of Wales and BBC Symphony Orchestras performing Rodrigo’s Concierto de Aranjuez and Fantasía para un Gentilhombre, the Malcolm Arnold and Villa-Lobos Concertos, and recording Takemitsu’s To the Edge of Dream.

Drawn to chamber music and song, Sean has collaborated with the BBC Singers, Danish String Quartet, cellist Isang Enders, harpsichordist Mahan Esfahani and singers Ben Johnson, Robert Murray and Robert Tritschler.

His awards include the Royal Over-Seas League First Prize and Gold Medal (2011), Ivor Mairants Guitar Award (2009), a Dewar Arts and D’Addarrio endorsement. He is grateful for support from the Hattori Trust.

Booklet for Lost & Found

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO