To the Muse Asya Fateyeva

Album info



Label: Berlin Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Classical Crossover

Artist: Asya Fateyeva

Composer: Gaucelm Faidit (1156-1202), Henri Tomasi (1901-1971), Claude Debussy (1862-1918), Bernart de Ventadorn (1125-1195), Raimbaut de Vaqueiras (1180-1207), Paule Maurice (1910-1967), Pons de Capduelh (1190-1237)

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 14.50
  • Gaucelm Faidit, Bo Wiget (1170 - 1230), Bo Wiget (b. 1971): Lo Roseignolet Salvage:
  • 1Faidit, Wiget: Lo Roseignolet Salvage03:26
  • Bertrand Plé (b. 1983): Interlude I:
  • 2Plé: Interlude I00:56
  • Henri Tomasi (1901 - 1971): I. Andante - Allegro:
  • 3Tomasi: I. Andante - Allegro11:49
  • II. Final Giration Allegro Vif Tournoyant:
  • 4Tomasi: II. Final Giration Allegro Vif Tournoyant06:09
  • Bertrand Plé: Interlude II:
  • 5Plé: Interlude II01:14
  • Beatritz de Diá (1140 - 1212), Bo Wiget: A Chantar:
  • 6Diá, Wiget: A Chantar05:03
  • Robert Orledge (b. 1948), Claude Debussy (1862 - 1918): Sérénade:
  • 7Orledge, Debussy: Sérénade06:47
  • Bernart de Ventadorn (1135 - 1194), Bo Wiget: Can Vei La Lauzetta Mover (Das Lerchenlied):
  • 8Ventadorn, Wiget: Can Vei La Lauzetta Mover (Das Lerchenlied)03:12
  • Raimbaut de Vaqueiras (1180 - 1207), Bo Wiget: Kalenda Maya:
  • 9Vaqueiras, Wiget: Kalenda Maya01:42
  • Macabru, Bo Wiget: Bel M'es Quan Sunt Li Fruit Madur:
  • 10Macabru, Wiget: Bel M'es Quan Sunt Li Fruit Madur04:28
  • Bertrand Plé: Interlude III:
  • 11Plé: Interlude III01:00
  • Paule Maurice (1910 - 1967): Tableaux De Provence:
  • 12Maurice: Tableaux De Provence: I. Farandoulo Di Chatouno02:28
  • 13Maurice: Tableaux De Provence: II. Cansoun Per Ma Mio01:39
  • 14Maurice: Tableaux De Provence: III. La Boumiano01:09
  • 15Maurice: Tableaux De Provence: IV. Dis Alyscamps, L'amo Souspire05:23
  • 16Maurice: Tableaux De Provence: V. Lou Cabridan03:47
  • Jaufre Rudel (1100 - 1147): Lan Quant Le Jors Sont Donc en Mai:
  • 17Rudel, Wiget: Lan Quant Le Jors Sont Donc en Mai06:10
  • Pons de Capduelh (1190 - 1237): Us Gais Conortz Me Fai Gajaman Far:
  • 18Capduelh: Us Gais Conortz Me Fai Gajaman Far03:13
  • Gaucelm Faidit, Bo Wiget: Fort Chose - Planh:
  • 19Faidit, Wiget: Fort Chose - Planh04:17
  • Total Runtime01:13:52

Info for To the Muse

Asya Fateyeva as Portrait Artist at the SHMF and with New Album "To the Muse"

For the first time in the nearly 40-year history of the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival, the saxophone takes center stage this year. This has been made possible by Asya Fateyeva, who over the past decade has brought the instrument from its jazz and pop niche into the classical world, even making it respectable there. She showcases the impressive versatility of her instrument as a portrait artist at the SHMF in 17 concerts in July and August. Her new album "To the Muse" will also be released on May 17, 2024, on Berlin Classics.

"A sensation for the music world," writes the FAZ about Asya Fateyeva. The musician has established herself as an ambassador for the saxophone far beyond national and genre boundaries, not least since her Echo Klassik award in 2016. Now, as a portrait artist at the SHMF, she follows in the footsteps of Daniel Hope – who was the SHMF portrait artist in 2023 – and puts her instrument in the spotlight from all angles, in various genres, and instrumentations.

French Longing on a New Album: For "To the Muse," Asya Fateyeva has reinterpreted French works by Claude Debussy, Paule Maurice, Henri Tomasi, Bertrand Plé, and the medieval Troubadours. The theme of longing runs through the entire album like a red thread: for example, Henri Tomasi's Concerto for Alto Saxophone is based on a forbidden love story between a nun and a monk; and in Paule Maurice's "Tableaux de Provence," the landscape evokes memories of a friend who will never be near her again. Fateyeva and her fellow musicians use this material as inspiration for free arrangements of the pieces – in new orchestrations for saxophone, hurdy-gurdy, cello, vibraphone, and darbuka. Fateyeva is joined by Matthias Loibner (hurdy-gurdy), Bo Wiget (cello), Emil Kuyumcuyan (vibraphone, darbuka), and the Saarland State Orchestra under Sébastien Rouland. Another facet of sound is shown by Fateyeva in the "Venetian Choral Night": here, together with the NDR Vocal Ensemble, she uses the saxophone in polyphonic vocal works. "The saxophone can be anything. It leads me further and further and shows me a new side every time," says Asya Fateyeva about her instrument.

Asya Fateyeva, saxophone
Matthias Loibner, Hurdy-Gurdy
Bo Wiget, cello
Emil Kuyumcuyan, vibraphone & darbuka
Saarland State Orchestra
Sebastien Rouland, conductor

Asya Fateyeva
Born on the Crimean Peninsula in 1990, Asya Fateyeva can draw on a wide repertoire, encompassing works originally written for her instrument as well as works from the Baroque, Classical and Romantic periods. Her training has combined the Russian tradition of soulful music-making with the methods of the French classical saxophone school. She regularly plays tenor saxophone in the renowned Alliage Quintet. Now based in Hamburg, she has taught classical saxophone at the Münster College of Music since 2014.

Asya Fateyeva has performed with numerous orchestras, including the Vienna Symphony Orchestra under Vladimir Fedoseyev at the Vienna Musikverein. She has appeared as a guest in the Tchaikovsky Symphony Orchestra of Moscow Radio, the National Philharmonic of Ukraine and the Istanbul State Symphony Orchestra. She has been invited to perform at festivals in Colmar, Fermo, Cologne, Moscow and St Petersburg and at the Festival of Mecklenburg-West Pomerania too. In 2015 Asya Fateyeva won the Berenberg Arts Award, which included prize money of 10,000 euros. In October 2016 she won the ECHO Klassik award for “Newcomer of the Year”.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO