Cover Perpetuum

Album info



Label: Alpha Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Artist: Anthony Romaniuk

Composer: Giovanni Girolamo Kapsberger (1580-1651), Alessandro Scarlatti (1685-1757), Henry Purcell (1659-1695), Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827), Franz Schubert (1797-1828), Robert Schumann (1810-1856), Dmitri Schostakowitsch ((1906-1975), Igor Strawinsky (1882-1971), Maurice Ravel (1875-1937), György Ligeti (1923–2006)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 192 $ 14.90
  • John Adams (b. 1947): China Gates:
  • 1Adams: China Gates04:33
  • Erik Satie (1866 - 1925): Pièces froides:
  • 2Satie: Pièces froides: II. Danses de travers: No. 1, En y regardant à deux fois01:20
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 - 1750): Suite in E Major, BWV 1006a:
  • 3Bach: Suite in E Major, BWV 1006a: I. Prélude (Arr. for Piano by Anthony Romaniuk)03:28
  • Simon Harry Piers Jeffes (1949 - 1994): Perpetuum Mobile (Arr. for Piano by Anthony Romaniuk):
  • 4Jeffes: Perpetuum Mobile (Arr. for Piano by Anthony Romaniuk)02:55
  • György Ligeti (1923 - 2006): Etude No. 4 "Fanfares":
  • 5Ligeti: Etude No. 4 "Fanfares"04:00
  • Franz Schubert (1797 - 1828): 4 Impromptus, D. 899:
  • 6Schubert: 4 Impromptus, D. 899: No. 3, Andante in G-Flat Major05:30
  • Anthony Romaniuk: Shadings:
  • 7Romaniuk: Shadings02:40
  • Henry Purcell (1659 - 1695): A New Ground in E Minor, ZT 682:
  • 8Purcell: A New Ground in E Minor, ZT 68202:14
  • Erik Satie: Pièces froides:
  • 9Satie: Pièces froides: II. Danses de travers: No. 2, Passer01:18
  • Anthony Romaniuk: Parabola:
  • 10Romaniuk: Parabola01:46
  • Igor Stravinsky (1882 - 1971): Piano Sonata, K043:
  • 11Stravinsky: Piano Sonata, K043: I. Quarter note = 11203:13
  • Johann Sebastian Bach: Toccata in E Minor, BWV 914:
  • 12Bach: Toccata in E Minor, BWV 91406:25
  • Philip Glass (b. 1937): Etude No. 2:
  • 13Glass: Etude No. 205:58
  • Robert Schumann (1810 - 1856): Faschingsschwank aus Wien, Op. 26:
  • 14Schumann: Faschingsschwank aus Wien, Op. 26: No. 4, Intermezzo02:17
  • Maurice Ravel (1875 - 1937): Le tombeau de Couperin, M. 68:
  • 15Ravel: Le tombeau de Couperin, M. 68: I. Prélude. Vif03:32
  • Anonymous: Uppon La Mi Re:
  • 16Anonymous: Uppon La Mi Re02:41
  • Dmitri Shostakovich (1906 - 1975): 24 Preludes and Fugues, Op. 87:
  • 17Shostakovich: 24 Preludes and Fugues, Op. 87: Prelude No. 2 in A Minor00:50
  • Anthony Romaniuk: Improvisation upon 'Uppon La Mi Re':
  • 18Romaniuk: Improvisation upon 'Uppon La Mi Re'01:40
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 - 1827): Piano Sonata No. 17, Op. 31 No. 2:
  • 19Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 17, Op. 31 No. 2: III. Finale05:42
  • Erik Satie: Pièces froides:
  • 20Satie: Pièces froides: II. Danses de travers: No. 3, Encore02:04
  • Giovanni Girolamo Kapsperger (1580 - 1651): Toccata Arpeggiata:
  • 21Kapsperger: Toccata Arpeggiata04:04
  • Total Runtime01:08:10

Info for Perpetuum

Anthony Romaniuk, multi-keyboardist, alchemist of pianos, or ‘musical polyglot’ as some people call him, presents his new album as follows: ‘I remember very clearly the occasions in my childhood when I would be at a concert and a magical feeling would overtake both the audience and the performers. It was as though everyone in the room was part of the performance and we were all experiencing a kind of collective bliss. As an adult I have tried to understand this phenomenon of communal concentration. It seems to me that a certain kind of musical work will naturally induce this state, works in which the rhythm is hypnotic, trance-like and ongoing. For this album I wanted to find music embodying this quality, pieces in perpetual motion.’ As if in some fascinating portrait gallery, we meet music by Kapsberger, Scarlatti, Purcell, Bach, Beethoven, Schubert, Schumann, Shostakovich, Stravinsky, Ravel, Satie, Ligeti, Adams, and improvisations, played on a Fazioli concert piano, a Graf fortepiano from 1835, a Flemish muselar, a seventeenth-century harpsichord, a Yamaha CP80 electro-acoustic piano and a Prophet Rev2 synthesizer.

Anthony Romaniuk, piano, fortepiano, harpsichord, synthesizer

Anthony Romaniuk
Keyboardist Anthony Romaniuk’s singular artistic voice stems from his relentless exploration of a vast range of musical styles.

A natural musical polyglot, his classical training is complemented by his improvising prowess, allowing him to traverse the borders between genres.

Jazz-obsessed in his youth in Australia, he studied classical piano in New York (Manhattan School of Music), spent several years specialising in early music (harpsichord and fortepiano in the Netherlands) and, post-studies, has continued his development across the realms of improvisation, Indy rock and ambient/electronic music.

As a classical recitalist, his repertoire includes music from Byrd to Bach, Beethoven, Chopin and Brahms (often on historical instruments), to Ligeti, Crumb and contemporary music. He works regularly with violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja and tenor Reinoud Van Mechelen and is also a core member of Vox Luminis. Other noteworthy collaborations include working with cellists Peter Wispelwey and Nadège Rochat, the Australian Chamber Orchestra, Seattle Symphony Orchestra and Danish rock group Efterklang.

He has played at many important concert venues in Europe, including Wigmore Hall (London), Salle Gaveau (Paris), Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Berliner Konzerthaus, Bozar (Brussels) and at the Menuhin Festival (Gstaad), as well as frequent engagements in the US and Australia.

His debut solo recording “Bells”, released on Alpha Classics in 2020, showcases his approach to combining repertoire and improvisation, employing the timbres of four keyboard instruments, consciously pushing the boundaries of classical orthodoxy.

Booklet for Perpetuum

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO