Schubert: Ins stille Land Signum Quartett

Cover Schubert: Ins stille Land

Album info



Label: PentaTone

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Signum Quartett

Composer: Franz Schubert (1797-1828)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 15.80
  • Franz Schubert (1797 - 1828):
  • 1Ins stille Land, D. 403 (Arr. X. van Dijk for String Quartet)01:09
  • 2Frühlingsglaube, D. 686 (Arr. X. van Dijk for String Quartet)02:51
  • 3String Quartet No. 6 in D Major, D. 74: I. Allegro ma non troppo07:43
  • 4String Quartet No. 6 in D Major, D. 74: II. Andante04:41
  • 5String Quartet No. 6 in D Major, D. 74: III. Menuetto. Allegro04:15
  • 6String Quartet No. 6 in D Major, D. 74: IV. Allegro05:33
  • 7Der Tod und das Mädchen, Op. 7 No. 3, D. 531 (Excerpts Arr. X. van Dijk for String Quartet)00:34
  • 8Abendstern, D. 806 (Arr. X. van Dijk for String Quartet)02:33
  • 9Auf dem Waßer zu singen, Op. 72, D. 774 (Arr. X. van Dijk for String Quartet)02:40
  • 10Das Grab, D. 330 (Arr. X. van Dijk for String Quartet)01:01
  • 11String Quartet No. 14 in D Minor, D. 810 "Der Tod und das Mädchen": I. Allegro16:49
  • 12String Quartet No. 14 in D Minor, D. 810 "Der Tod und das Mädchen": II. Andante con moto13:16
  • 13String Quartet No. 14 in D Minor, D. 810 "Der Tod und das Mädchen": III. Scherzo. Allegro molto03:51
  • 14String Quartet No. 14 in D Minor, D. 810 "Der Tod und das Mädchen": IV. Presto09:21
  • 15Schwanengesang, Op. 23 No. 3, D. 744 (Arr. X. van Dijk for String Quartet)02:55
  • Total Runtime01:19:12

Info for Schubert: Ins stille Land

After their multi-award-winning album Aus der Ferne, the Signum Quartett continues their Schubert journey for PENTATONE with Ins stille Land, another recording that explores the fascinating connections between his string quartets and songs, the latter arranged for string quartet by Xandi van Dijk, the ensemble’s violist. The concept for this recording project grew out of the Schubertiad, where chamber music and vocal works would be heard side by side in an intimate setting. Many of the songs and quartets featured on Ins stille Land share a fascination for death, but death as a final journey that ultimately offers consolation. While the song Ins stille Land (Into the silent land) fully epitomizes this idea, the world famous “Death and the Maiden” quartet is the album’s centrepiece.

The Signum Quartett is frequently hailed as one of the most adventurous and outstanding ensembles of today. The quartet’s first PENTATONE recording Aus der Ferne (2018) won an Opus Klassik 2019 award, as well as a diapason d’or.

Signum Quartett

Signum Quartett
Thanks to its rousing and lively interpretations and individual programme concepts, the Signum Quartet has made its mark on the international quartet scene and has established itself as one of the most distinguished ensembles of its generation.

Intensive studies with the Alban Berg Quartet, Artemis Quartet and the Melos Quartet as well as collaborations with György Kurtág, Walter Levin, Alfred Brendel, Leon Fleisher and Joerg Widmann have shaped the artistic development of the Signum Quartet, which has won numerous awards (German Music Competition, Premio Paolo Borciani, London International String Quartet Competition) and has been accorded intensive support (i.a. BBC New Generation Artists, stART-Programm/ Bayer Kultur).

Concert appearances have taken the Signum Quartet to international podia from Madrid and Barcelona to Basel and Paris. The quartet has performed at the Hamburg Laeiszhalle, the Berlin Philharmonie and Konzerthaus, the Luxemburg Philharmonie, the Concertgebouw Amsterdam, the Konzerthaus Vienna, the Wigmore Hall London, the Gewandhaus Leipzig, the Boston Harvard Musical Association as well as at the Schleswig-Holstein, Rheingau and Schwetzingen Music Festivals and at the BBC Proms.

The Signum Quartet’s discography is a testament to their stylistic range: Next to the greats of the quartet literature, there are rarities such as the quartets of Ludwig Thuille and a recording of quartet movements.

Their recording ‘No.3’ (Bartók, Berg and Schnittke) was awarded the International Classical Music Awards 2014 ‘Best Chamber Music Recording’. Subsequent recordings include “soundescapes“ (Ravel, Debussy, Adès) and “Alla czeca“ (Suk, Schulhoff, Dvorák), which will be followed by a recording of works by Franz Schubert.

Regular collaborations with contemporary composers are an integral aspect of the Signum Quartet’s artistic work. Bruno Mantovani dedicated his String Quartet No. 3 to the ensemble, which they performed to great acclaim in Paris, Vienna, Luxembourg and Frankfurt in the 2016/ 17 season.

In 2015, the quartet launched its innovative social media project #quartweet, where composers of all ages and abilities are invited to tweet a short quartet of 140 notes or less on Twitter. The project has received much media attention and been featured on Deutschlandfunk, BBC In Tune and BR U-21. Contributing composers include Grawemeyer Award winners Brett Dean and Sebastian Currier, Pulitzer Prize winner Caroline Shaw, Bruno Mantovani, and Kevin Volans.

Chamber music partners of the quartet include Joerg Widmann, Igor Levit, Nils Moenkemeyer, Adrian Brendel and Dominique Horwitz.

Booklet for Schubert: Ins stille Land

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO