Bellido: Violin Concerto "Aurora" & Symphony No. 2 "Ad Astra" (Live) Leticia Moreno, Houston Symphony Orchestra & Andrés Orozco-Estrada

Cover Bellido: Violin Concerto 'Aurora' & Symphony No. 2 'Ad Astra' (Live)

Album info



Label: PentaTone

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Concertos

Artist: Leticia Moreno, Houston Symphony Orchestra & Andrés Orozco-Estrada

Composer: Jimmy López Bellido (1978)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 16.60
  • Jimmy López Bellido (b. 1978): Violin Concerto "Aurora":
  • 1Bellido: Violin Concerto "Aurora": I. Equatorialis (Live)11:31
  • 2Bellido: Violin Concerto "Aurora": II. Borealis (Live)12:53
  • 3Bellido: Violin Concerto "Aurora": III. Australis (Live)12:27
  • Symphony No. 2 "Ad Astra":
  • 4Bellido: Symphony No. 2 "Ad Astra": I. Voyager (Live)08:10
  • 5Bellido: Symphony No. 2 "Ad Astra": II. Apollo (Live)12:11
  • 6Bellido: Symphony No. 2 "Ad Astra": III. Hubble (Live)06:08
  • 7Bellido: Symphony No. 2 "Ad Astra": IV. Challenger (Live)08:28
  • 8Bellido: Symphony No. 2 "Ad Astra": V. Revelation (Live)14:29
  • Total Runtime01:26:17

Info for Bellido: Violin Concerto "Aurora" & Symphony No. 2 "Ad Astra" (Live)

Violinist Leticia Moreno, the Houston Symphony and its Music Director Andrés Orozco-Estrada present two world premiere recordings of works by contemporary composer Jimmy López Bellido. Aurora, for Solo Violin and Orchestra, and Symphony No. 2: Ad Astra share a fascination for the stars. While Aurora is inspired by López Bellido’s years in Finland, and particularly the privilege to witness northern lights, Ad Astra is an homage to humanity’s spirit of exploration, and dedicated to the people of NASA, whose bravery and vision continue to inspire humanity’s most ambitious dreams. López Bellido’s symphony adds a new dimension to the notion of per aspera ad astra (“through hardship to the stars”), which has been one of the central narratives of symphonic composition since Beethoven’s days.

Houston Symphony and Andrés Orozco-Estrada have a vast PENTATONE discography, including recordings of Dvořák symphonies 6 to 9 (2016-2017), Music of the Americas, as well as Haydn’s The Creation (both 2018). PENTATONE also released several albums of Orozco-Estrada with the Frankfurt Radio Symphony, such as Stravinsky’s Rite of Spring and Firebird Suite (2016), as well as Strauss’s Ein Heldenleben and Macbeth (2016) and Salome (2017). Leticia Moreno makes her PENTATONE debut.

Leticia Moreno, violin
Houston Symphony Orchestra
Andrés Orozco-Estrada, conductor

Leticia Moreno
Recognised as a truly exciting and versatile violinist, Leticia Moreno “captivates audiences and critics alike with her natural charisma, virtuosity and deep interpretative force”.

She has appeared with the most renowned conductors such as Zubin Mehta, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Paavo Jarvi, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Christoph Eschenbach, Yuri Temirkanov, Krzysztof Penderecki, Andrés Orozco-Estrada, Josep Pons, Juanjo Mena, Gustavo Gimeno, Peter Eötvös, and Andrey Boreyko amongst others.

She has also performed with leading orchestras such as Wiener Symphoniker, St. Petersburg Philharmonic, Philharmonia, Mahler Chamber Orchestra, Washington’s National Symphony, The Mariinsky Orchestra, Orchestra del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, Orchestre Philharmonique de Monte Carlo, Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, Academy of St. Martin in the Fields, Orquesta Sinfónica Simón Bolívar, and is a regular guest with most of the major Spanish orchestras.

Leticia recently premiered Jimmy Lopez’ new violin concerto “Aurora”, with Houston Symphony Orchestra and Andres Orozco Estrada to critical acclaim. Last season she had her debut with NCPA Orchestra in Beijing conducted by Vladimir Ashkenazy, Philharmonia Orchestra with Paavo Jarvi, Prague Spring Festival and Rostropovich Festival and returned to Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and Gulbenkian Orchestra.

Leticia’s 2019/2020 season will see her debut with the Helsinki Philharmonic and Peter Eötvös as well as with NHK Symphony Orchestra in Tokyo with Paavo Jarvi. Leticia will also perform with Mozarteum Orchestra and Andrey Boreyko, Deutsche Radio Philharmonie with Josep Pons, Musica Viva Chamber Orchestra in Moscow and San Carlo Theatre Orchestra as well.

As a keen recitalist and chamber musician, Leticia has collaborated alongside Sol Gabetta, Bertrand Chamayou, Kirill Gerstein, Alexander Ghindin, Lauma Skride, Mario Brunello, Leonard Elschenbroich, Ksenija Sidorova and Maxim Rysanov.

Leticia released her latest album Piazzolla on Deutsche Grammophon, recorded at Abbey Road Studios, London and Emil Berliner Studio, Berlin with the London Philharmonic Orchestra and Andrés Orozco-Estrada. Leticia has also recently recorded two CDs for Universal/Deutsche Grammophon: Spanish Landscapes - a study of Spanish Music (Sarasate, Lorca, Granados, Falla etc) and Shostakovich Violin Concerto No.1 with St Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Yuri Temirkanov.

Leticia studied with Zakhar Bron, Maxim Vengerov and Mtislav Rostropovich at Escuela Superior de Música Reina Sofía in Madrid, the Hochschule für Musik und Tanz in Cologne and Guildhall School in London, and was the youngest member of the prestigious Alexander von Humboldt Stiftung. Leticia Moreno has won international violin competitions such as Szeryng, Concertino Praga, Novosibirsk, Sarasate, Kreisler, as well as the being awarded with the Echo Rising Star.

Born in Spain of Peruvian descent, Leticia Moreno has developed strong ties with Latin America, especially with her country of origin where she returns every season to perform and which has as a corollary her recent World Premier of Jimmy Lopez’s new violin concerto “Aurora” in Houston and Lima. Leticia plays a 1762 Nicola Gagliano.

Booklet for Bellido: Violin Concerto "Aurora" & Symphony No. 2 "Ad Astra" (Live)

© 2010-2022 HIGHRESAUDIO