Transmutation Joanna Estelle

Album info



Label: Navona

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Joanna Estelle

Composer: Joanna Estelle (1950)

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.50
  • Joanna Estelle (b. 1950): Faraway Star:
  • 1Estelle: Faraway Star03:22
  • Appassionato Variations:
  • 2Estelle: Appassionato Variations02:16
  • Bobby’s Song:
  • 3Estelle: Bobby’s Song04:50
  • Fatherland:
  • 4Estelle: Fatherland07:29
  • I Am My Home:
  • 5Estelle: I Am My Home05:34
  • Songs from Heaven:
  • 6Estelle: Songs from Heaven: Bless the Lord, My Soul03:52
  • 7Estelle: Songs from Heaven: Hymn to the Only Begotten Son04:04
  • 8Estelle: Songs from Heaven: The Beatitudes03:23
  • 9Estelle: Songs from Heaven: The Trisagion02:48
  • 10Estelle: Songs from Heaven: The Cherubic Hymn03:36
  • 11Estelle: Songs from Heaven: The Nicene Creed06:29
  • 12Estelle: Songs from Heaven: Holy, Holy, Holy03:06
  • 13Estelle: Songs from Heaven: The Lord’s Prayer02:59
  • 14Estelle: Songs from Heaven: We Have Seen the True Light02:26
  • 15Estelle: Songs from Heaven: Let Our Mouths Be Filled with Your Praise02:27
  • 16Estelle: Songs from Heaven: Blessed Be the Name of the Lord03:54
  • Total Runtime01:02:35

Info for Transmutation

trans·​mu·​ta·​tion [tran(t)s-my-ta-shen] noun to change or alter in form, appearance, or nature, and especially to a higher form.

Throughout human history, the arts have served as catalysts for change. Regardless of its specific nature, be it a painting, sculpture, architecture, poetry, music, literature or dance, any art form can divide a society or create an environment ripe for social and political change. It can exclude some or invite everyone to the table in the hope of our being able to live better together as a society. This hope of bringing about greater understanding of the human condition lies at the core of much creativity, inspiration, and innovation. A writer may transmute his life into stories or novels, for example. Throughout my life, music has been a constant and reliable companion and for that I am grateful. When others failed or disappointed, music was always there to comfort, as well as provide solace and peace. I chose TRANSMUTATION as the name of my second album as most of the music was either inspired by or is the expression of my emotional response to difficult, sometimes tragic circumstances in my own life or the life of a family member. Over time, often with deep reflection, I was able to transmute painful memories and experiences into music which I hope will touch and perhaps heal the soul of the listener in the same way that writing it touched and healed me. My wish is that you will be uplifted in some way by the music which I offer to you now. (Joanna Estelle)

Trio Casals:
Ovidiu Marinescu, cello
Sylvia Ahramjian, violin
Anna Kislitsyna, piano
London Symphony Orchestra
Miran Vaupotić, conductor
Ewashko Singers
Laurence Ewashko, direction

Joanna Estelle Storoschuk
is a Ukrainian-Canadian composer, lyricist, and arranger whose music has won critical acclaim internationally, most recently at Carnegie Hall in May 2023 where Bobby’s Song was premiered by Trio Casals. She learned classical piano and theory with the Royal Conservatory of Music (Toronto) as a young person, but was deterred from pursuing music as a career. Instead, she graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in English and Psychology (Brock, 1972), then studied management accounting while working in Canada’s federal public service.

Trio Casals
Since making a highly-praised debut at the 1996 edition of the Pablo Casals Festival in Puerto Rico, Trio Casals has delighted audiences with spectacular virtuosity, engaging enthusiasm, and exquisite musical elegance. Consisting of pianist Anna Kislitsyna, violinist Alexandr Kislitsyn, cellist Ovidiu Marinescu, Trio Casals has released several commercial albums with PARMA Recordings and Navona Records to critical acclaim, from the beloved MOTO series to A GRAND JOURNEY and more.

London Symphony Orchestra
Widely acclaimed by audiences and critics alike, The London Symphony Orchestra was named by Gramophone as one of the top five orchestras in the world. A world-leader in recording music for film, television, and events, it was the official orchestra of the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games ceremonies, memorably performing Chariots of Fire on stage in the opening ceremony, conducted by Simon Rattle and with Rowan Atkinson.

Miran Vaupotić
Acclaimed as “dynamic and knowledgeable” by the Buenos Aires Herald, Croatian conductor Miran Vaupotić has worked with eminent orchestras including the London Symphony Orchestra, the Royal Scottish National Orchestra, the Berliner Symphoniker, the Russian National Orchestra, the Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Budapest Symphony Orchestra MÁV, Orchestre de Chambre de Genève, the Cairo Symphony Orchestra, Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional Argentina, and others, performing in major halls around the globe such as Carnegie Hall, Wiener Musikverein, Berliner Philharmonie, Rudolfinum, Smetana Hall, Victoria Hall, Forbidden City Concert Hall, Shanghai Oriental Art Center, Dubai Opera, Tchaikovsky Hall, International House of Music, CBC Glenn Gould Studio, and more.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO