Cover Britten: The Turn of the Screw, Op. 54

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 12.00
  • Benjamin Britten (1913 - 1976): The Turn of the Screw, Op. 54, Act I:
  • 1Prologue03:44
  • 2Theme01:06
  • 3Scene 1: "The Journey"02:26
  • 4Variation I00:34
  • 5Scene 2: "The Welcome"03:36
  • 6Variation II00:43
  • 7Scene 3: "The Letter"03:09
  • 8Variation III01:50
  • 9Scene 4: "The Tower"03:45
  • 10Variation IV00:26
  • 11Sccene 5: "The Window"09:24
  • 12Variation V00:59
  • 13Scene 6: "The Lesson"03:48
  • 14Variation VI01:17
  • 15Scene 7: "The Lake"05:41
  • 16Variation VII01:24
  • 17Scene 8: "At Night"10:03
  • The Turn of the Screw, Op. 54, Act II:
  • 18Variation VIII04:34
  • 19Scene 1: "Colloquy and Soliloquy"04:47
  • 20Variation IX00:49
  • 21Scene 2: "The Bells"07:59
  • 22Variation X00:34
  • 23Scene 3: "Miss Jessel"06:38
  • 24Variation XI01:22
  • 25Scene 4: "The Bedroom"05:08
  • 26Variation XII01:21
  • 27Scene 5: "Quint"00:57
  • 28Variation XIII01:05
  • 29Scene 6: "The Piano"03:18
  • 30Variation XIV00:34
  • 31Scene 7: "Flora"04:10
  • 32Variation XV01:18
  • 33Scene 8: "Miles"11:50
  • Total Runtime01:50:19

Info for Britten: The Turn of the Screw, Op. 54

Released in the Britten anniversary year, Richard Farnes, the Music Director of Opera North who led their critically acclaimed production of 'The Turn of the Screw' in 2010, conducts an all-English cast in Britten’s most ingeniously crafted opera, including Andrew Kennedy, Sally Matthews, and 11-year old Michael Clayton-Jolly in the role of Miles.

Originally scheduled to be conducted by Sir Colin Davis, Richard Farnes was the natural replacement, himself having been mentored by the late conductor.

In 1932, the 18-year-old Britten heard on the radio ‘a wonderful, impressive but terribly eerie and scary play 'The Turn of the Screw' by Henry James.’ Britten’s version of the ghost story, premiered in 1954, is a chamber opera in a prologue and two acts. The opera tells the story of a Governess and a housekeeper, Mrs Grose, who vow to protect two children, Miles and Flora, from the strange happenings that occur in the grounds of their English country house.

"There are two main glories to the performance: the first is Richard Farnes’s conducting of the LSO, which is taut and controlled but evolves at a natural pace....The second is Sally Matthews’ Governess; this is a voice with infinite colours and the soprano knows how to maximise her gift." (Opera Now)

"It's Andrew Kennedy as the ghost Peter Quint who impresses most...He's a worldly whose voice naturally embodies all the necessary qualities to dramatize the childlike appeal of Quint's high-flown poetic language...As the hapless ex-governess Miss Jessel, Katherine Broderick brings a pleasing edge to the part." (International Record Review)

"The orchestral performance under Richard Farnes is everything it should be, and indeed as a representation of this chilling score this is a very good performance indeed. That said, it does lack the sheer sense of discovery and horrified engagement that was present in the original Decca recording." (MusicWeb International)

"there is much to admire, especially in the virtuoso playing of the LSO musicians, but the drama seems underplayed...Still, this is a good cast in an opera that rarely gets a poor performance...Kennedy is an expressive Quint, especially imaginative in the Prologue" (Gramophone Magazine)

Andrew Kennedy, tenor (Peter Quint, Prologue)
Sally Matthews, soprano (Governess)
Michael Clayton-Jolly, treble (Miles)
Lucy Hall, soprano (Flora)
Catherine Wyn-Rogers, alto (Mrs Grose)
Katherine Broderick, mezzo-soprano (Miss Jessel)
London Symphony Orchestra
Richard Farnes, conductor

No biography found.

Booklet for Britten: The Turn of the Screw, Op. 54

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO