Retropolis (2022 Remaster) The Flower Kings

Album info



Label: InsideOutMusic

Genre: Rock

Subgenre: Modern Rock

Artist: The Flower Kings

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Rhythm of Life (2022 Remaster)00:32
  • 2Retropolis (2022 Remaster)11:10
  • 3Rhythm of the Sea (2022 Remaster)06:12
  • 4There Is More to This World (2022 Remaster)10:15
  • 5Romancing the City (2022 Remaster)00:57
  • 6The Melting Pot (2022 Remaster)05:45
  • 7Silent Sorrow (2022 Remaster)07:42
  • 8The Judas Kiss (2022 Remaster)07:43
  • 9Retropolis By Night (2022 Remaster)03:06
  • 10Flora Majora (2022 Remaster)06:50
  • 11The Road Back Home (2022 Remaster)08:55
  • Total Runtime01:09:07

Info for Retropolis (2022 Remaster)

After their critically acclaimed debut Back In The World Of Adventures Sweden´s best loved progressive rock band returned in 1996 with the suitably retro sounding Retropolis. As the title suggested the music was a nostalgic nod to the 70´s, paying tribute to the bands that originally influenced them. The band was clearly beginning to build their own identity on this release with a mixture of bombastic epics and melancholic ballads. A feast for lovers of Hammond and Mellotron.

"Retropolis is the album that brought the Flower Kings from an interesting underground progressive rock band to an act that simply couldn't be ignored by anyone interested in the genre's 1990s revival. Roine Stolt and consorts' aim for Retropolis was to dive a little more into vintage progressive forms (retro) and, indeed, this album is the most nostalgic and closer-to-the-roots-sounding of the band's catalog. From the Pink Floyd-shaped "Rhythm of the Sea" to the poignant Yes-like hymn "There Is More to This World," the Flower Kings sound like they are paying tribute to the groups that brought them to do what they are doing, without ever falling into plagiarism or sacrificing the band's own identity. "Melting Pot," "The Judas Kiss," and the powerful instrumental "Retropolis" are the album's other highlights. Very strong composition-wise, Retropolis lacked some cohesion. It is one of the band's most song-oriented albums (with The Flower King). In comparison, the following effort Stardust We Are will have a stronger identity but at times weaker material." (François Couture, AMG)

Roine Stolt, vocals, guitar, keyboards
Tomas Bodin, Hammond C3 organ, Mellotron, synthesizers, piano, EFX
Michael Stolt, bass
Jaime Salazar, drums)
Hasse Bruniusson, percussion, drums (track 10)
Ulf Wallander, soprano saxophone (tracks 6, 11)
Hasse Fröberg, vocals (track 4, 7)

Digitally remastered

Please Note: We offer this album in its native sampling rate of 48kHz, 24-bit. The provided 96kHz version was up-sampled and offers no audible value!

The Flower Kings
started as an outlet for guitarist/singer/composer Roine Stolt in 1994 – a time when prog-rock wasn’t mere history, nor a dirty word. The band quickly gained momentum and was one of a handful of bands helping to revive the progressive rock scene worldwide. Roine has since collaborated with a host of legendary musicians across various projects, including his acclaimed 2015 album with Yes-legend Jon Anderson, progressive-rock supergroup Transatlantic alongside Neal Morse, Mike Portnoy & Pete Trewavas, and a year as bass player with Genesis guitarist Steve Hackett. The Flower Kings however, has always felt like home for Roine and the other band veterans Jonas Reingold & Hasse Fröberg.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2022 HIGHRESAUDIO