Album info



Label: Simax Classics

Genre: Guitar

Subgenre: Classical Guitar

Artist: Stein-Erik Olsen & Egil Haugland

Composer: Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco (1895-1968), Andre Jolivet (1905-1974), Joaquin Rodrigo (1901-1999), Pierre Petit

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 13.40
  • Pierre Petit (1922 - 2000):
  • 1Toccata05:45
  • Joaquín Rodrigo (1901 - 1999): Tonadilla:
  • 2Tonadilla: I. Allegro ma non troppo02:43
  • 3Tonadilla: II. Minueto Pomposa: Andante05:23
  • 4Tonadilla: III. Allegro vivace04:08
  • André Jolivet (1905 - 1974): Sérénade pour deux Guitares:
  • 5Sérénade pour deux Guitares: I. Praeludio e Canzona03:13
  • 6Sérénade pour deux Guitares: II. Allegro trépidante03:04
  • 7Sérénade pour deux Guitares: III. Andante malinconico03:22
  • 8Sérénade pour deux Guitares: IV. Con allegria02:52
  • Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco (1895 - 1968): Prélude et Fugue No. 4, en Mi majeur:
  • 9Prélude et Fugue No. 4, en Mi majeur: Prélude02:40
  • 10Prélude et Fugue No. 4, en Mi majeur: Fugue02:03
  • Sonatina Canonica, Op. 196:
  • 11Sonatina Canonica, Op. 196: I. Mosso, grazioso e leggero03:18
  • 12Sonatina Canonica, Op. 196: II. Tempo di Sicilianae (Andantino)03:49
  • 13Sonatina Canonica, Op. 196: III. Fandango en rondeau (Ritmico e deciso)02:48
  • Pierre Petit:
  • 14Tarentelle06:20
  • Total Runtime51:28

Info for Paris Recital

Stein-Erik Olsen and Egil Haugland are outstanding interpreters of the music written by the Ida Presti and Alexandre Lagoya duo; music considered to be the hub of guitar music composed in the 1950s and 60s in Paris, the golden age of the guitar.

In 2009, Stein-Erik Olsen presented premiere recordings of music for guitar duo written by Ida Presti, to great acclaim from reviewers world-wide. This project inspired him to go deeper into the music of Presti and her husband and duo-partner Lagoya.

“It is simply masterpieces, all of it - without question among the best ever written for guitar duo. All the works on the album are written within the span of six years by composers who have their individual style and musical vocabulary. You immediately hear that these works are written for two equal performers with outstanding technical and musical abilities.... A fundamental aspect in our way of playing is the joy of making music and emphasising musical intuition, creativity and fantasy. We allow certain differences in our musical dialogue by allowing different articulation and sonorities as a part of the artistic expression.” – Stein-Erik Olsen

Olsen has a long list of album releases, including collaborations with such prestigious orchestras as the St Martin in the Fields. Haugland is also a luthier and has numerous recordings as soloist and chamber musician.

Stein-Erik Olsen, guitar
Egil Haugland, guitar

Stein-Erik Olsen
was educated at the Bergen Conservatory of Music and the Norwegian State Academy of Music, his post-graduate teachers have included Alexandre Lagoya, at the Concervatoire National Superieur de Musique de Paris, and the Czech pianist Jiri Hlinka.

His international career began in 1974, when he represented Norway in the Expo Norr Festival in Sweden, since when he has been invited to many other international festivals and has toured extensively, giving concerts - including concerto performances (among these, of course the Concierto de Aranjuez), appearing on radio and television throughout Europe, Great Britain, India and Korea.

In 1986 his debut recital in the Wigmore Hall, London, was rewarded with undiluted praise from the critics and his recordings have been similarly well received. Stein-Erik Olsen has had works written for him by eminent contemporary composers; Those by Ketil Hvoslef, Olav Berg, John Duarte, Nikita Koshkin and Stepan Rak are featured in his recordings for Simax.

Following his London debut Music & Musicians magazine commented: "He is a master of his craft and a genuine artist " and writing of his first recording Alice Artzt (New York) wrote: "The world of music must welcome him with open arms". Following his last solo recording the American critic William Zagorski (Fanfare) wrote: "I would install him in the pantheon of guitar greats somewhere near Julian Bream."

Stein-Erik Olsen, now a truly international guitarist of distinction currently teaches (Professor) at the Grieg Academy, Department of Music, University of Bergen, returning full circle to his "Alma matar" to teach others who hope to follow in his footsteps.

Egil Haugland
(b. 1959) is a guitarist, luthier and associate professor at Bergen University College. In addition to solo recordings he has participated in numerous recording projects with major artists in Norway. A luthier since 2000, Haugland has produced a television documentary on making and playing classical guitars. He has made several instruments with the great guitar maker José Luis Romanillos. In this recording of Seonveh, Haugland guitars are used by Njål Vindenes and Egil Haugland.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO