Brahms: Cello Sonatas Nos 1 , 2 & 6 Hungarian Dances Alexandre Tharaud

Cover Brahms: Cello Sonatas Nos 1 , 2 & 6 Hungarian Dances

Album info



Label: Warner Classics, Warner Classics UK Ltd

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Concertos

Artist: Alexandre Tharaud

Composer: Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897): Cello Sonata No. 1 in E Minor, Op. 38:
  • 1I. Allegro non troppo14:32
  • 2II. Allegretto quasi Menuetto05:39
  • 3III. Allegro06:28
  • Cello Sonata No. 2 in F Major, Op. 99:
  • 4I. Allegro vivace09:25
  • 5II. Adagio affettuoso07:04
  • 6III. Allegro passionato07:18
  • 7IV. Allegro molto04:45
  • Transc Tharaud & Queyras: 21 Hungarian Dances, WoO 1:
  • 8Book 1: No. 4 in G Minor (Transc. for Cello and Piano)04:06
  • 9Book 1: No. 1 in G Minor (Transc. for Cello and Piano)03:13
  • 10Book 1: No. 5 in F-Sharp Minor (Transc. for Cello and Piano)02:11
  • 11Book 2: No. 7 in A Major (Transc. for Cello and Piano)01:46
  • 12Book 3: No. 14 in D Minor (Transc. for Cello and Piano)02:14
  • 13Book 3: No. 11 in D Minor (Transc. for Cello and Piano)02:41
  • Total Runtime01:11:22

Info for Brahms: Cello Sonatas Nos 1 , 2 & 6 Hungarian Dances

Pianist Alexandre Tharaud and cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras are long-established as a duo team, but this is the first time that Queyras has joined Tharaud for an Erato recording. They have chosen works that lie at the heart of the Romantic repertoire, all by Brahms: his two cello sonatas and the duo’s own transcriptions of six of the Hungarian Dances.

Alexandre Tharaud, piano
Jean-Guihen Queyras, cello

Alexandre Tharaud
For Harmonia Mundi, Alexandre made a series of successful and award winning recordings which included discs of Rameau, Ravel (complete piano works), Bach (Italian Concerti), Couperin, Satie. He has recorded a series of Chopin discs; the complete waltzes and twenty four preludes as well as a personal selection, Journal Intime, which marked his first release with EMI Classics. Subsequent, award winning releases include JS Bach’s keyboard concertos and a selection of Scarlatti’s sonatas.

In recent seasons, Alexandre has appeared at the Köln Philharmonie, Bern Casino, Essen Philharmonie, South Bank piano series, Rudolfinum in Prague, Krakow Philharmonic, Théâtre des Champs-Elysées, Cité de la Musique, Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires, John F Kennedy Centre and Hoam Art Hall in Seoul. His festival credits include ‘Piano aux Jacobins', La Roque d'Anthéron, BBC PROMS, Lufthansa Festival of Baroque Music, Sacrum-Profanum in Krakow, Schleswig-Holstein and the Rimini festival.

Alexandre is a Resident Artist at the MC2 in Grenoble, and was the Artistic Director of the Amadeus festival in Switzerland in 2011.

As a soloist, Alexandre has performed with the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Münchner Rundfunkorchester, Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio-France, Orchestre National de France, Orchestre du Capitole de Toulouse, Orchestre National de Lyon, Orchestre National de Lille, Orchestre National de Bordeaux-Aquitaine, Estonian National Symphony Orchestra, Orquestra Sinfonica do Estado de Sao Paulo, Umea Symphony Orchestra, Netherlands Chamber Orchestra, the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Saarbrücken,

Japan Philharmonic Orchestra, Tokyo Metropolitan Orchestra, Singapore Symphony Orchestra, Taïwan National Symphony Orchestra, Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra, Les Violons du Roy and the Bolchoi Theatre Orchestra. Next season will see him perform Poulenc’s concerto with the London Philharmonic Orchestra.

His close collaboration with cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras has led to invitations to perform at the most prestigious halls around the world and recordings of three successful CDs (Hungarian cello music, Arpeggione, Debussy/Poulenc).

Alexandre's adventurous approach to programming has resulted in a number of commissions and premières; he has toured extensively in Europe with his ‘Hommages à Rameau' and ‘Hommage à Couperin' programmes which feature works by the old masters interwoven with tributes by contemporary composers. May saw the premiere of Pianosong; a selection of contemporary works composed after popular songs from the 1960s-80s. He has also just premiered French composer Gérard Pesson’s new piano concerto, together with the Tonhalle.

Booklet for Brahms: Cello Sonatas Nos 1 , 2 & 6 Hungarian Dances

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO