Cover Paderewski: Solo & Chamber Works

Album info



Label: DUX

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.00
  • Ignacy Jan Paderewski (1860 - 1941): Miscellanea, Op. 16 (Excerpts):
  • 1Miscellanea, Op. 16 (Excerpts): No. 3, Thème varié in A Major09:52
  • 6 Humoresques de concert, Op. 14, Book 1 (Excerpts):
  • 26 Humoresques de concert, Op. 14, Book 1 (Excerpts): No. 1, Menuet célèbre in G Major03:49
  • Miscellanea, Op. 16 (Excerpts):
  • 3Miscellanea, Op. 16 (Excerpts): No. 4, Nocturne in B-Flat Major03:47
  • 6 Humoresques de concert, Op. 14, Book 1 (Excerpts):
  • 46 Humoresques de concert, Op. 14, Book 1 (Excerpts): No. 2, Sarabande in B Minor03:12
  • 6 Humoresques de concert, Op. 14, Book 2 (Excerpts):
  • 56 Humoresques de concert, Op. 14, Book 2 (Excerpts): No. 6, Cracovienne fantastique in B Major03:26
  • Violin Sonata in A Minor, Op. 13:
  • 6Violin Sonata in A Minor, Op. 13: I. Allegro con fantasia14:20
  • 7Violin Sonata in A Minor, Op. 13: II. Intermezzo. Andantino05:35
  • 8Violin Sonata in A Minor, Op. 13: III. Finale. Allegro molto quasi presto10:45
  • The Days of Roses, Op. 7 No. 1:
  • 9The Days of Roses, Op. 7 No. 102:25
  • Little Lily of the Valley, Op. 7 No. 5:
  • 10Little Lily of the Valley, Op. 7 No. 502:43
  • 12 Mélodies, Op. 22 (Excerpts):
  • 1112 Mélodies, Op. 22 (Excerpts): No. 3, Le ciel est très bas02:33
  • 1212 Mélodies, Op. 22 (Excerpts): No. 5, Un jeune pâtre01:28
  • 1312 Mélodies, Op. 22 (Excerpts): No. 8, Viduite04:07
  • Total Runtime01:08:02

Info for Paderewski: Solo & Chamber Works

This album includes both smaller pieces by Paderewski, including the famous Minuet in G major, Op. 14 No. 1 at the forefront, as well as texturally complex works (incl. Variations in A major, Op. 16 No. 3), in which their formal architecture is developed in an idiomatic way. The recordings were made in the Paderewski Court, the Polish home of the Master, his only preserved estate in the world. Invitations to participate in the project were accepted by artists holding leading positions among Polish music performers - Katarzyna Duda, Hanna Samson, Jacek Jaskula, Robert Marat, Robert Morawski and talented young pianist Cezary Karwowski.

The works by Ignacy Jan Paderewski, according to the popular opinion, belong to the most original pieces composed by Polish artists. Although the musical language of Paderewski is very strongly rooted in the major-minor system, thus in the Romantic tradition, various innovative measures that the composer subjected particular musical forms and genres to, often turn out to be a genuine enigma for musicologists and researchers of his work.

Katarzyna Duda, violin
Hanna Samson, soprano
Jacek Jaskula, baritone
Cesary Karwowski, piano
Robert Marat, piano
Robert Morawski, piano

Katarzyna Duda
is one of the most outstanding personalities in the Polish music world. Reviewers unanimously characterize her as a star of a new format.

They emphasize unity of her musical artistry and great scenic temper as well as virtuosity and great sensitivity of music.

A prizewinner of the Tibor Varga International Violin Competition in Sion, Switzerland, (where she also won the "Mozart Prize" for the best interpretation of a violin concerto by Mozart) and the Tadeusz Wronski International Violin Solo Competition in Warsaw. She has given recitals and concerts in Poland, most of European countries and the South and North Americas.

She has appeared in such prestigious auditoria like Lincoln Center and Carnegie Hall in New York, where she inaugurated the Festival “Chopin & Friends”, National Philharmonic Hall in Warsaw, Rossini Hall in Padova and twice in Concertgebouw in Amsterdam. Her debut recital in Amsterdam was performed with Ewa Pobłocka, an outstanding Polish pianist. All her recitals were enthusiastically received by the audience and critics.

Katarzyna Duda has appeared as soloist with leading orchestras such as the Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne, the Orquesta Sinfonica de Veracruz, European Union Chamber Orchestra, Polish Radio Orchestra, Hradec Kralove Philharmonic, Amadeus Chamber Orchestra, Capella Sankt Petersburg, the Orquesta Sinfonica del Estado de Mexico, National Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra in Warsaw, Lvov Philharmonic Orchestra, New Music Orchestra, Silesian Chamber Orchestra, Neue Ruhr Kammerphilharmonie, Beethoven Academy Orchestra, Wratislavia Chamber Orchestra under excellent conductors such as Dalia Atlas, Lavard Skou Larsen, Agnieszka Duczmal, Enrique Batiz, Jesus Lopez-Cobos, Józef Wiłkomirski, Jorge Mester, Łukasz Borowicz. She has appeared as a chamber player with Konstanty Andrzej Kulka, Waldemar Malicki, Katarzyna Budnik-Gałązka, Jakub Jakowicz, Hubert Salwarowski, Rafał kwiatkowski, Ryszard Groblewski, Camerata Quartet, jazz violinists: Michael Urbaniak and Krzesimir Debski. She regularly performed with conductor Pawel Kos-Nowicki and Warsaw Camerata orchestra.

Her performances have been broadcast by Radio Suisse Romande, Polish Radio and TV, as well as radio and TV stations in Holland, Mexico, France, Korea, Germany and Russia.

She has an extensive and diverse repertoire ranging from the Baroque period to present-day composers.

Katarzyna studied with Maestro Tibor Varga at the Ecole Supérieure de Musique in Sion, Switzerland, and with Jan Stanienda at the Academy of Music in Warsaw (diploma with distinction). She has won numerous awards at competitions for young violinists in Poland and abroad including a grant from the Interlochen Academy of Arts in the USA. Her performance at the 17th National Week of Musical Talents in Tarnow was acclaimed by the jury, and she was included in a national program for the promotion of young artists.

Her debut CD entitled “Le Streghe” featuring virtuoso pieces for violin and piano (with the pianist Waldemar Malicki, DUX label) won enthusiastic reviews in the media and received a nomination for the FRYDERYK'2000 award of the Polish recording industry as the only disc with solo violin. The success prompted the young artist to record another CD "Le Streghe 2" - with virtuoso violin hits, this time with orchestral accompaniment of the well known chamber orchestra "Wratislavia" under Jan Stanienda (also DUX label). The disc also received a nomination for the FRYDERYK'2001 award. Lately, Katarzyna Duda recorded violin music by the Polish composers Tadeusz Paciorkiewicz (with pianist Edward Wolanin, Acte Prealable label) and Andrzej Nikodemowicz (with pianist Agnieszka Schulz-Brzyska, DUX label) and music for violin and guitar (with guitarist Waldemar Gromolak) with famous jazz vocalist Anna Maria Jopek as a guest star.

In 2002 Katarzyna was nominated to a prestigious award "Polityka's Passport" being each year granted by a Polish leading journal "Polityka" to outstanding creators in all kinds of arts.

Booklet for Paderewski: Solo & Chamber Works

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO