Where I'm Coming From (Remastered) Leon Spencer

Album info



Label: Craft Recordings

Genre: Jazz

Subgenre: Hard Bop

Artist: Leon Spencer

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Superstition06:45
  • 2Give Me Your Love05:23
  • 3Keeper Of the Castle05:20
  • 4Trouble Man06:23
  • 5The Price A Po’ Man’s Got to Pay04:19
  • 6Where I’m Coming From05:35
  • Total Runtime33:45

Info for Where I'm Coming From (Remastered)

Where I'm Coming From is the fourth and last album by jazz organist Leon Spencer recorded for the Prestige label in 1973.

The very definition of ‘70s soulful jazz, Where I’m Coming From has all the hallmarks of Prestige Records at its finest, with an all-star cast of sidemen (Welcome back, Idris Muhammed! Hello to Madlib’s uncle, Jon Faddis! Greetings to the funky flute of Hubert Laws!) recorded at Van Gelder’s studio and packed with down and dirty grooves top to bottom. From the opening cover of Stevie Wonder’s “Superstition” through to the low-slung original headnodder “Where I’m Coming From,” with stops along the way for dips into the catalogs of Curtis Mayfield (“Give Me Your Love”), Marvin Gaye (“Trouble Man”) and the Four Tops (“Keeper Of The Castle”), Leon Spencer’s rippling organ lines sear this prime example of groove jazz.

Leon Spencer, organ, vocals
Jon Faddis, trumpet (tracks 1-4)
Victor Paz, trumpet (tracks 1-4)
Virgil Jones, trumpet (track 6)
Hubert Laws, flute (tracks 6)
Seldon Powell, flute, tenor saxophone (tracks 1-4)
Frank Wess, flute, baritone saxophone, conductor (tracks 1-4)
Sonny Fortune, alto saxophone (track 6)
Dave Hubbard, tenor saxophone (track 6)
Joe Beck, guitar (tracks 1-5)
Melvin Sparks, guitar (track 6)
Ernie Hayes, electric piano (tracks 1-4)
George Duvivier, bass (tracks 1-4)
Grady Tate, drums (tracks 1-5)
Idris Muhammad, drums (track 6)
Buddy Caldwell, congas (track 6)

Produced by Ozzie Cadena

Digitally remastered

No biography found.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO