Mascagni: Cavalleria rusticana / Leoncavallo: Pagliacci (Remastered) Orchestra del Teatro alla Scala di Milano & Herbert von Karajan

Cover Mascagni: Cavalleria rusticana / Leoncavallo: Pagliacci (Remastered)

Album info



Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Pietro Mascagni (1863-1945): Cavalleria rusticana:
  • 1Preludio02:41
  • 2"O lola ch'ai di latti la cammisa" (Siciliana)02:19
  • 3Siciliana - Tempo I03:46
  • 4Introduzione02:53
  • 5"Gli aranci olezzano sui verdi margini"05:18
  • 6Scena - Largo01:51
  • 7"Dite, mamma Lucia"02:34
  • 8"Il cavallo scalpita"02:58
  • 9"Beato voi, compar Alfio"00:58
  • 10"Regina coeli, laetare"02:35
  • 11"Inneggiamo, il Signor non è morto" (Easter Hymn)05:01
  • 12"Voi lo sapete, o mama" (Romanza)06:33
  • 13Tu qui, Santuzza?04:10
  • 14"Fior di giaggiolo"03:23
  • 15"Ah! lo vedi, che hai tu detto?"06:47
  • 16"Oh! Il Signore vi manda" (Duetto)03:39
  • 17Comare Santa02:03
  • 18Intermezzo sinfonico03:27
  • 19A casa, a casa03:10
  • 20"Viva il vino spumeggiante" (Brindisi)03:03
  • 21"A voi tutti salute!"05:37
  • 22"Mamma, quel vino è generoso"06:03
  • Ruggiero Leoncavallo (1857-1919): Pagliacci / Prologue:
  • 23Prelude02:45
  • 24"Si può? Signore! Signori!"05:26
  • Pagliacci / Act 1:
  • 25"Son qua! Ritornano"03:23
  • 26"Un grande spettacolo!"02:53
  • 27"Un tal gioco, credetemi"03:16
  • 28"I zampognari!"04:17
  • 29"Qual fiamma aveva nel guardo!"02:38
  • 30"Stridono lassù"02:43
  • 31Sei lá! Credea che te ne fossi andato05:00
  • 32"Nedda! Silvio, a quest'ora"01:52
  • 33"Decidi il mio destin"02:08
  • 34Non mi tentar!05:27
  • 35Cammina adagio01:45
  • 36Derisione e scherno!03:08
  • 37"Recitar!" - "Vesti la giubba"04:03
  • 38Intermezzo03:37
  • Pagliacci / Act 2:
  • 39Ohè! ... Ohè!04:20
  • 40"Pagliaccio, mio marito"01:39
  • 41O Columbina, il tenero fido02:27
  • 42"E dessa! Dei, come è bella"03:42
  • 43"Arlecchin!" / "Colombina!"01:53
  • 44"Versa il filtro ne la tazza sua!"02:58
  • 45"No, Pagliaccio non son"03:33
  • 46"Suvvia, cosi terrible"02:47
  • Total Runtime02:38:29

Info for Mascagni: Cavalleria rusticana / Leoncavallo: Pagliacci (Remastered)

Classical masterpiece: "This is widely regarded as the best stereophonic Pagliacci--and many would say the best, period. Its virtues are primarily musical: Carlo Bergonzi usually sang with a level of good taste not common in tenors this side of Sir Peter Pears, and you might expect that to limit the voltage he generates as the insanely jealous, knife-wielding Canio, particularly with the well-groomed Karajan on the podium. But he gets into the character, and Karajan gets into the music's passion and the story's gritty atmosphere. It may be that the conductor caught some excitement from the La Scala Orchestra and Chorus, which are ideal for this music. The two baritones are excellent, and Joan Carlyle's performance makes you wonder why she made so few recordings."

“Conviction and insight instill this Pagliacci with excitement and real drama. A troupe of actors arrives to give a performance of a commediadell'arte play. The illustration of real love, life and hatred is portrayed in the interplay of Tonio, Silvio, Nedda and her husband Canio. As the two rivals, Caro Bergonzi and Giuseppe Taddei are superb. Taddei's sinister, hunch-backed clown, gently forcing the play-within-the-play closer to reality until it finally bursts out violently is a masterly assumption, and Karajan controls the slow build-up of tension with a grasp that few conductors could equal. The forces of La Scala, Milan respond wholeheartedly and the 1965 recording sounds well.” (Gramophone)

"Karajan takes real care to bring clarity and definition to music that in the wrong hands can leave you wallowing in emotional treacle . . . His graphic handling of orchestral texture brings the world of "Cavalleria" to life, with every nuance of light and colour brought into focus in the playing of La Scala's orchestra. Cossotto is quite outstanding, surely one of the finest mezzos on record. Here she sings with exquisite pathos and dramatic intensity . . . [Bergonzi] brings instead an elegance that captures something of Turiddu's duplicitous charm . . ." (Ashutosh Khandekar, BBC Music Magazine)

Orchestra del Teatro alla Scala di Milano
Herbert von Karajan, conductor

Digitally remastered

No biography found.

Booklet for Mascagni: Cavalleria rusticana / Leoncavallo: Pagliacci (Remastered)

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO