Weinberg 1945 Trio Khnopff

Cover Weinberg 1945

Album info



Label: Pavane Records

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 192 $ 16.50
  • Mieczysław Weinberg (1919 - 1996): Piano Trio, Op. 24:
  • 1Piano Trio, Op. 24: I. Prelude and Aria (Larghetto)05:46
  • 2Piano Trio, Op. 24: II. Toccata (Allegro marcato)04:04
  • 3Piano Trio, Op. 24: III. Poem (Moderato)11:23
  • 4Piano Trio, Op. 24: IV. Finale (Allegro moderato)10:38
  • Sonata No. 1 for Cello and Piano, Op. 21:
  • 5Sonata No. 1 for Cello and Piano, Op. 21: I. Lento ma non troppo08:49
  • 6Sonata No. 1 for Cello and Piano, Op. 21: II. Un poco moderato – Lento ma non troppo11:29
  • Two Songs Without Words for Violin and Piano:
  • 7Two Songs Without Words for Violin and Piano: I. Andantino04:09
  • 8Two Songs Without Words for Violin and Piano: II. Larghetto04:12
  • Rhapsody on Moldavian Themes for Violin and Piano, Op. 47 No. 3:
  • 9Rhapsody on Moldavian Themes for Violin and Piano, Op. 47 No. 3: Adagio - Allegro vivace - Doppio più lento - Doppio movimento - Prestissimo11:00
  • Total Runtime01:11:30

Info for Weinberg 1945

Trio Khnopff writes of this new release: Weinbergs Trio was one of the first big pieces we played together, and it has remained a unanimous favorite. The huge emotional spectrum, the quality and originality of the writing, the instrumental challenge, the composer himself (a young man facing the greatest personal and societal challenges) this all comes together in his Trio to create a work that resonates deeply with us and that has been something of a constant companion. The idea of dedicating our first album to Weinberg, and more precisely to the pivotal time around 1945, felt like a natural one. His works from this time are extremely diverse: the Trio is monumental in breadth and emotional impact; the cello sonata seems to quote the entire history of music in twenty minutes (from the baroque to the jazz age!); the Songs Without Words and sincere and beautiful in their simplicity; and the Rhapsody showcases Weinbergs instrumental inventiveness by way of great violinistic virtuosity. Furthermore the Two Songs without Words, unpublished to this date, are here recorded as a world premiere.

Trio Khnopff

Trio Khnopff
United by the spirit of a Belgian symbolist painter whose exceptional work bears witness to the vitality of art in Brussels at the turn of the 20th century, Sadie Fields, Stephanie Salmin and Romain Dhainaut share their formidable experience and creativity to present innovative programmes with enthusiasm and commitment.

Trained in the most prestigious European academies (Chapelle Musicale Reine Elisabeth, Royal Academy of Music London, the Berne, Mons, and Brussels Conservatoires) and holders of numerous prizes and awards, they individually lead rich careers, performing around the world and recording a wide variety of solo and chamber music repertoire. Their shared curiosity, passion, and dedication to music was clear very soon after they met in 2014, and this innate musical complicity allows Trio Khnopff to explore the possibilities and push the emotional and technical boundaries of the piano trio medium.

Free spirited and avant-garde, resolutely modern and uncompromising, Khnopff left a legacy of paintings of incomparable seductiveness: mysterious portraits, melancholy landscapes, and indecipherable mysteries. Music - or silence - often holds a special place. His career spanned the years 1880 to the 1920, an epoch of great artistic experimentation and adventure. Beyond their extensive knowledge of the "great repertoire", Trio Khnopff is passionate about presenting works of this period, creating a dialogue between more famous works and those that have been unfairly forgotten by history. They regularly play Weinberg, Frank Martin, Krenek, Lajtha, Jongen, Saint-Saens... alongside Brahms, Dvorak, or Piazzolla.

The trio performs frequently in festivals and concert series in Belgium, and is regularly invited to play abroad.

Booklet for Weinberg 1945

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO