Album info



Label: Wolf Tone

Genre: Pop

Subgenre: Pop Rock

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Lifeline02:23
  • 2The Way06:19
  • 3Birdsong04:34
  • 4Pharoah03:52
  • 5Valium01:30
  • 6Mango03:15
  • 7ITILY03:59
  • 8Little Bird04:26
  • 9Royalty03:18
  • 10Body // Blood01:03
  • 11UEMM03:54
  • 12Shoulder01:20
  • 13Apologise03:09
  • Total Runtime43:02

Info for YU

Rosie Lowe returns with her much-anticipated second album YU on Wolf Tone. Produced by Dave Okumu (The Invisible, Grace Jones, Jessie Ware) and featuring The P Funk Choir of Jamie Woon, Jamie Lidell, Jordan Rakei and Kwabs, first single Bird Song marks a new dawn for Rosie Lowe. The track was inspired, says Rosie, by ideas of “lust and desire, but with the lingering sense of insecurity and longing.” YU is a record that asks bigger questions of how the heart and mind works, and ultimately finds power through opening up both. A songwriter, producer, multi-instrumentalist and DJ, Rosie Lowe’s work digs into a richly complex mix of musical and emotional experiences.

On debut album Control she was striding out alone, tackling politics, feminism and modern relationships. But if Control was about self, YU – says Rosie – “is about other. I wanted to write about my experience of sharing my life with another as a lover, friend and partner.” These are intensely songs of the mind, which makes sense after all when you consider the fact that Lowe is also training in psychotherapy.

She grew up as one of six kids in rural Devon, having learnt the saxophone young (which she still plays and adores) and been exposed to a broad mix of soul, jazz, funk and R&B; influences which come to glorious fruition on her second album, where inspiration ranges from Childish Gambino, Gabrielle Garzon Montano and Thundercat to childhood heroes like Ella Fitzgerald or Charlie Parker. Lowe realised early on, too, that love was a fragile, difficult thing, her parents splitting up resulting in weekends spent living out of a bag.

Despite its richly classic feel, what’s emerged on YU is an album on thoroughly modern, twenty-first-century love: its childhood myths and more pragmatic realities, its utopias and difficult weathers. Those moments when you find out how you are, who you are, and if you’re brave enough, you let it all bleed through. On her stunning second album, YU, Rosie Lowe has also done just that.

Rosie Lowe, vocals

Rosie Lowe
If two great producers come together for one artist, it's worth checking out. When those two happen to be Kwes and The Invisible's Dave Okumu, you sit up and listen. The debut EP by Devon-born Londoner Rosie Lowe is what brought them all together, and between them they have created something exceptional.

Last seen on Lil Silva's addictive summer anthem 'No Doubt,' Rosie's rich, smooth guest vocals have already caught the media's eye but now she's ready to showcase her own material with her debut EP "Right Thing." "Right Thing" is a collection of snapshots from the last year of Rosie's life bound together with strong pop sensibilities, an ebbing undercurrent of jazz and expert production.

Listen to the deliciously soulful and skewed pop of the lead track 'Me & Your Ghost' here: Raised on a rich musical diet, Rosie was already playing the violin and piano by the age of five. By 13 she was juggling six instruments, but it was singing that she always wanted to pursue. Inspired by diverse and original voices ranging from Ella Fitzgerald to Bjork, Rosie has developed her own unique vocal style using loops, harmonies, pitch shifting and distortion, all of which feature in her live show. Backed by a striking all-girl band on stage, the blend of mesmerising vocals, electronics and a lithe rhythm section makes for a potent brew.

A sultry song filled with loss and regret, the sparse, atmospheric production of the EP's title track "Right Thing" lends itself perfectly to Rosie's inviting tones, as does the meandering soul and tripping percussion of '10K Balloons.' The inspiration of powerful musicians like Lykke Li, Erykah Badu and Grace Jones shines through on the twists and turns of seductive after hours number 'Games.' 'Me & Your Ghost' however, written in a 10 minute jamming session with a friend, wraps the vulnerability of being abandoned by someone you love in layers of glacial, static-fueled dub and the warm embrace of that voice.

As soon as he was played Rosie's music, Dave Okumu felt he had to be involved; "I immediately recognised a true creative spirit, fully immersed in a beautiful and compelling process. It wasn't until we met that the value of collaboration really started to become clear to me but as our friendship grew, so did our vision of collaboration." Okumu had also wanted to work with Kwes for some time, having always been a fan of his work; "I had this instinctive feeling that Kwes would be a wonderful person to bring into the equation. We'd never worked together in this capacity before and it felt like this could be a really interesting context in which to explore a new creative relationship."

Okumu was absolutely right, and "Right Thing" is the result of their magical collaboration.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO