Schubert: Aus der Ferne Signum Quartett

Cover Schubert: Aus der Ferne

Album info



Label: PentaTone

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Signum Quartett

Composer: Franz Schubert (1797-1828)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 88.2 $ 15.80
  • Franz Schubert (1797 - 1828): Lied aus der Ferne, D. 107:
  • 1Lied aus der Ferne, D. 107 (Arr. X. van Dijk for String Quartet)01:29
  • Rosamunde, Op. 26, D. 797:
  • 2Rosamunde, Op. 26, D. 797: No. 6, Hirtenmelodien (Arr. X. van Dijk for String Quartet)01:16
  • String Quartet No. 8 in B-Flat Major, Op. 168, D. 112:
  • 3I. Allegro ma non troppo09:41
  • 4II. Andante sostenuto08:14
  • 5III. Menuetto. Allegro - Trio05:21
  • 6IV. Presto05:42
  • Lachen und Weinen, Op. 59 No. 4, D. 777:
  • 7Lachen und Weinen, Op. 59 No. 4, D. 777 (Arr. X. van Dijk for String Quartet)01:49
  • Die Götter Griechenlands, D. 677:
  • 8Die Götter Griechenlands, D. 677 (Arr. X. van Dijk for String Quartet)03:39
  • Wandrers Nachtlied II, Op. 96 No. 3, D. 768:
  • 9Wandrers Nachtlied II, Op. 96 No. 3, D. 768 (Arr. X. van Dijk for String Quartet)02:09
  • String Quartet No. 13 in A Minor, Op. 29, D. 804:
  • 10I. Allegro ma non troppo13:51
  • 11II. Andante06:59
  • 12III. Menuetto. Allegretto - Trio07:57
  • 13IV. Allegro moderato07:41
  • Du bist die Ruh, Op. 59 No. 3, D. 776:
  • 14Du bist die Ruh, Op. 59 No. 3, D. 776 (Arr. X. van Dijk for String Quartet)03:43
  • Total Runtime01:19:31

Info for Schubert: Aus der Ferne

Hailed as one of the most adventurous and outstanding string quartets of today, both in the performance of modern pieces and the iron repertory, Signum Quartett now releases its first PENTATONE recording with an all-Schubert program.

Aus der Ferne illuminates the Romanticism and lyricism of this great master. By combining string quartets with lieder arranged for string quartet, the members of the Signum Quartett aim to show how Schubert’s instrumental and vocal music cross-pollinate each other. The fact that Schubert quotes openly from his own songs in his chamber music underlines the strong connection between the two, and this album takes this connection a step further. The concept for the album grew out of the Schubertiad, where chamber music and vocal works would be heard side by side in an intimate setting. A further idea was to complement one of the late quartets with an earlier one - perhaps lesser-known but not a lesser piece. The B-flat major quartet and the Rosamunde Quartet, both featured on this album, share a delicacy and fragility of spirit; convey a longing from afar. These instrumental works gain significance by being accompanied by the lieder arrangements, created by quartet member Xandi van Dijk. These arrangements present quintessential Schubert lieder such as Du bist die Ruh, Wandrers Nachtlied and Lachen und Weinen in a new, fascinating light.

Signum Quartett

Signum Quartett
Thanks to its rousing and lively interpretations and individual programme concepts, the Signum Quartet has made its mark on the international quartet scene and has established itself as one of the most distinguished ensembles of its generation.

Intensive studies with the Alban Berg Quartet, Artemis Quartet and the Melos Quartet as well as collaborations with György Kurtág, Walter Levin, Alfred Brendel, Leon Fleisher and Joerg Widmann have shaped the artistic development of the Signum Quartet, which has won numerous awards (German Music Competition, Premio Paolo Borciani, London International String Quartet Competition) and has been accorded intensive support (i.a. BBC New Generation Artists, stART-Programm/ Bayer Kultur).

Concert appearances have taken the Signum Quartet to international podia from Madrid and Barcelona to Basel and Paris. The quartet has performed at the Hamburg Laeiszhalle, the Berlin Philharmonie and Konzerthaus, the Luxemburg Philharmonie, the Concertgebouw Amsterdam, the Konzerthaus Vienna, the Wigmore Hall London, the Gewandhaus Leipzig, the Boston Harvard Musical Association as well as at the Schleswig-Holstein, Rheingau and Schwetzingen Music Festivals and at the BBC Proms.

The Signum Quartet’s discography is a testament to their stylistic range: Next to the greats of the quartet literature, there are rarities such as the quartets of Ludwig Thuille and a recording of quartet movements.

Their recording ‘No.3’ (Bartók, Berg and Schnittke) was awarded the International Classical Music Awards 2014 ‘Best Chamber Music Recording’. Subsequent recordings include “soundescapes“ (Ravel, Debussy, Adès) and “Alla czeca“ (Suk, Schulhoff, Dvorák), which will be followed by a recording of works by Franz Schubert.

Regular collaborations with contemporary composers are an integral aspect of the Signum Quartet’s artistic work. Bruno Mantovani dedicated his String Quartet No. 3 to the ensemble, which they performed to great acclaim in Paris, Vienna, Luxembourg and Frankfurt in the 2016/ 17 season.

In 2015, the quartet launched its innovative social media project #quartweet, where composers of all ages and abilities are invited to tweet a short quartet of 140 notes or less on Twitter. The project has received much media attention and been featured on Deutschlandfunk, BBC In Tune and BR U-21. Contributing composers include Grawemeyer Award winners Brett Dean and Sebastian Currier, Pulitzer Prize winner Caroline Shaw, Bruno Mantovani, and Kevin Volans.

Chamber music partners of the quartet include Joerg Widmann, Igor Levit, Nils Moenkemeyer, Adrian Brendel and Dominique Horwitz.

Booklet for Schubert: Aus der Ferne

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO