Der ferne Klang... Orchestral Works & Songs by Franz Schreker Chen Reiss, Matthias Goerne, Konzerthausorchester Berlin & Christoph Eschenbach

Cover Der ferne Klang... Orchestral Works & Songs by Franz Schreker

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Franz Schreker (1878 - 1934): Der ferne Klang:
  • 1Schreker: Der ferne Klang: Nachtstück17:29
  • Valse lente:
  • 2Schreker: Valse lente06:13
  • Kammersymphonie:
  • 3Schreker: Kammersymphonie: I. Langsam, schwebend10:31
  • 4Schreker: Kammersymphonie: II. Scherzo (Allegro Vivace)07:02
  • 5Schreker: Kammersymphonie: III. Ziemlich bewegt01:47
  • 6Schreker: Kammersymphonie: IV. Langsam, schwebend05:41
  • 2 Lyrische Gesänge:
  • 7Schreker: 2 Lyrische Gesänge: No. 1, Wurzeln und Halme sind dies nur05:09
  • 8Schreker: 2 Lyrische Gesänge: No. 2, Das Gras12:17
  • 5 Gesänge:
  • 9Schreker: 5 Gesänge: No. 1, Ich frag' nach dir jedwede Morgensonne03:13
  • 10Schreker: 5 Gesänge: No. 2, Dies aber kann mein Sehnen nimmer fassen02:59
  • 11Schreker: 5 Gesänge: No. 3, Die Dunkelheit sinkt schwer wie Blei02:39
  • 12Schreker: 5 Gesänge: No. 4, Sie sind so schön, die milden, sonnenreichen02:52
  • 13Schreker: 5 Gesänge: No. 5, Einst gibt ein Tag mir alles Glück zu eigen05:10
  • Kleine Suite:
  • 14Schreker: Kleine Suite: I. Präludium03:59
  • 15Schreker: Kleine Suite: II. Marcia01:42
  • 16Schreker: Kleine Suite: III. Canon03:19
  • 17Schreker: Kleine Suite: IV. Fughette02:03
  • 18Schreker: Kleine Suite: V. Intermezzo03:56
  • 19Schreker: Kleine Suite: VI. Capriccio02:05
  • Romantische Suite:
  • 20Schreker: Romantische Suite: I. Idylle (Andante)09:27
  • 21Schreker: Romantische Suite: II. Scherzo (Prestissimo)03:38
  • 22Schreker: Romantische Suite: III. Intermezzo (In sanfter Bewegung)07:00
  • 23Schreker: Romantische Suite: IV. Tanz (Allegro vivace)07:05
  • Total Runtime02:07:16

Info for Der ferne Klang... Orchestral Works & Songs by Franz Schreker

Christoph Eschenbach has always been interested in early twentieth-century music, but only in the last twenty years has he discovered Schreker's works. "I was utterly fascinated by the Kammersymphonie," Eschenbach admits, "which is why I was keen to record it. As a piece, it is laid out along the grandest lines but the writing is extremely subtle, with a lot of different facets to it."

Early 20th century repertoire specialist Christoph Eschenbach presents orchestral works and songs by Franz Schreker for his 145th birthday in 2023 with the Konzerthausorchester Berlin: this double album features highlights such as the "Nachtstück", an instrumental intermezzo from the opera "Der Ferne Klang", which made Schreker famous overnight, as well as the popular "Valse Lente" in Viennese style and other orchestral works.

Together with the soprano Chen Reiss and the baritone Matthias Goerne, Eschenbach devotes himself to the rarely performed treasures of Schreker's song repertoire, such as the song cycle "Fünf Gesänge" with texts by the Austrian poet Edith Ronsperger and "Vom ewigen Leben" with poems by the American Walt Whitman.

Sweet, late romantic music can be beautifully discovered here, the "distant sound" of other, utopian worlds...

Chen Reiss, soprano
Matthias Goerne, baritone
Konzerthausorchester Berlin
Christoph Eschenbach, conductor

No biography found.

Booklet for Der ferne Klang... Orchestral Works & Songs by Franz Schreker

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO