Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1 - Liszt: Solo Piano Works George Li

Cover Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1 - Liszt: Solo Piano Works

Album info



Label: Warner Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Concertos

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840 - 1893): Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-Flat Minor, Op. 23:
  • 1Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-Flat Minor, Op. 23: I. Allegro non troppo e molto maestoso - Allegro con spirito (48kHz)21:17
  • 2Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-Flat Minor, Op. 23: II. Andantino semplice - Allegro vivace assai - Tempo I (48kHz)06:50
  • 3Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-Flat Minor, Op. 23: III. Allegro con fuoco - Molto meno mosso - Allegro vivo (48kHz)06:47
  • Franz Liszt (1811 - 1886): Années de pèlerinage, Troisième année, "Italie", S. 163:
  • 4Liszt: Années de pèlerinage, Troisième année, "Italie", S. 163: IV. Les Jeux d'eaux á la Villa d'Este (96kHz)07:15
  • 5Liszt: Années de pèlerinage, Deuxième année, "Italie", S. 161: V. Sonetto 104 del Petrarca (96kHz)06:09
  • 6Liszt: Réminiscences de Don Juan, S. 418 (96kHz)16:18
  • Total Runtime01:04:36

Info for Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1 - Liszt: Solo Piano Works

George Li gained international attention in 2015 when he won the silver medal in the International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow. Now he has recorded one of Tchaikovsky’s greatest and best-loved works, the Piano Concerto No 1 with the London Philharmonic Orchestra and conductor Vasily Petrenko. The New York Times has called him a “real revelation” in the work. It is complemented by three solo pieces by Liszt, a composer who featured on his debut Warner Classics recital, judged “a winner” by International Piano magazine.

George Li, piano
London Philharmonic Orchestra
Vasily Petrenko, conductor

George Li
Praised by the Washington Post for combining “staggering technical prowess, a sense of command and depth of expression,” pianist George Li possesses brilliant virtuosity and effortless grace far beyond his years. He captured the Silver Medal at the 2015 International Tchaikovsky Competition and was the recipient of the 2016 Avery Fisher Career Grant.

Recent and upcoming concerto highlights include performances with Gustavo Dudamel and the Los Angeles Philharmonic, Michael Tilson Thomas and the San Francisco Symphony, Hamburg Philharmonic with Manfred Honeck, a tour of Asia with the London Symphony Orchestra and Giandrea Noseda, St. Petersburg Philharmonic with Yuri Temirkanov, Philharmonia Orchestra with Long Yu, Oslo Philharmonic, Orchestre National de Lyon, Rotterdam Philharmonic, Mälmo Symphony, Verbier Festival Orchestra, DSO Berlin, Seattle Symphony, Utah Symphony, Sydney Symphony and Frankfurt Radio Symphony. He frequently appears with Valery Gergiev and the Mariinsky Orchestra, including performances at the Paris Philharmonie, Luxemburg Philharmonie, New York’s Brooklyn Academy of Music, Graffenegg Festival and in various places throughout Russia.

Recital highlights include Carnegie Hall, Davies Hall in San Francisco, the Mariinsky Theatre, Munich’s Gasteig, the Louvre, Seoul Arts Center, Tokyo’s Asahi Hall and Musashino Hall, NCPA Beijing, Ravinia Festival, Lanaudiere Festival, Edinburgh Festival and Montreaux Festival.

An active chamber musician, George has performed chamber music with James Ehnes, Noah Bendix-Balgley, Benjamin Beilman, Kian Soltani, Pablo Ferrandez and Daniel Lozakovich.

George is an exclusive Warner Classics recording artist, with his debut album releasing in October 2017 which was recorded live from the Mariinsky.

George Li gave his first public performance at Boston’s Steinway Hall at the age of ten and in 2011, performed for President Obama at the White House in an evening honoring Chancellor Angela Merkel. Among George’s many prizes, he was the First Prize winner of the 2010 Young Concert Artists International Auditions and a recipient of the 2012 Gilmore Young Artist Award. George is currently in the Harvard University / New England Conservatory joint program, studying with Wha Kyung Byun.

Booklet for Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1 - Liszt: Solo Piano Works

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO