New Misery Cullen Omori

Album info



Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1No Big Deal04:16
  • 2Two Kinds03:20
  • 3Hey Girl05:13
  • 4And Yet the World Still Turns04:04
  • 5Cinnamon04:00
  • 6Poison Dart04:48
  • 7Sour Silk03:37
  • 8Synthetic Romance03:23
  • 9Be a Man03:21
  • 10LOM03:39
  • 11New Misery03:31
  • Total Runtime43:12

Info for New Misery

Cullen Omori knows it’s a false cliche to say there are no second acts in American lives, but after the 2014 breakup of his acclaimed band the Smith Westerns, living that cliche was his greatest fear. His solo debut New Misery, out March 18 on Sub Pop Records, is a direct challenge to that anxiety: an album that goes beyond the glam punch of the Smith Westerns to new sounds, new sources of inspiration, and greater self-awareness.

“I had this overwhelming feeling that perhaps the apex of my life both as a musician and as an individual would be relegated to five years in my late teens/early 20s,” says Omori, who was launched into the music industry when the Smith Westerns, who started in high school in Chicago, became fast-rising indie stars. “This fear really forced me to work hard as to not see the Smith Westerns as an end but as a point along a bigger trajectory.”

While New Misery grew out of a difficult personal and professional time for Omori, he says the title reflects “not so much the distress that comes with failure, but the troubles and complexities that come with any type of success. No matter what you get you’re going to want more, you’re going to want something different. That’s the catch.”

Cullen Omori
Formerly a member of the Smith Westerns, but as they broke up in 2014, it is time to move on and do something new.

If you're a painter and your company goes belly up, it's prudent to find another job and paint different houses is it not?

However, being a member of a band is far different from just being an employee, though it is a job, no matter what anyone else says.

The implosion of a band is a happening that one can only truly understand when it happens to them. The more accomplished the band, the worse the feeling.

When my band dissolved we had less than modest success after a few years, but we had a body of work that had to be chucked and started again.

It never worked out for me again honestly, but I lacked talent and drive.

In this album, Omori acutely reveals the crossroads of his career. The dissolution appears to have struck, but didn't knock him down. Though, somewhat melancholy, there is hope hiding in there as well.

Clinking, metallic sounding chords coexist with fuzzy guitar solos and tenor vocals. Aside from the alt-pop conventions, a portion of country and western swing appears from time to time. A clever use of a Hammond Organ and Leslie speakers adds a layer of beauty to this album.

With closed eyes, it's easy to see the man looking forward just after looking behind.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO