Cover Schein: Israelis Brünnlein

Album info



Label: CPO

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Artist: Opella Musica, Tillmann Steinhöfel & Gregor Meyer

Composer: Johann Hermann Schein (1586-1630)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.90
  • Johann Hermann Schein (1586 - 1630): Israelis Brünnlein:
  • 1Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 1, O Herr, ich bin dein Knecht03:42
  • 2Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 2, Freue dich des Weibes deiner Jugend03:51
  • 3Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 3, Die mit Tränen säen03:41
  • 4Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 4, Ich lasse dich nicht03:02
  • 5Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 5, Dennoch bleibe ich stets an dir03:18
  • 6Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 6, Wende dich, Herr, und sei mir gnädig04:04
  • 7Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 7, Zion spricht. Der Herr hat mich verlassen04:44
  • 8Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 8, Ich bin jung gewesen03:21
  • 9Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 9, Der Herr denket an uns04:31
  • 10Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 10, Da Jakob vollendet hatte04:53
  • 11Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 11, Lieblich und schöne sein ist nichts03:47
  • 12Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 12, Ist nicht Ephraim mein teurer Sohn04:14
  • 13Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 13, Siehe an die Werk Gottes03:19
  • 14Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 14, Ich freue mich im Herren02:53
  • 15Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 15, Unser Leben währet siebnzig Jahr03:35
  • 16Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 16, Ihr Heiligen, lobsinget dem Herren03:44
  • 17Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 17, Herr, laß meine Klage für dich kommen03:11
  • 18Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 18, Siehe, nach Trost war mir sehr bange04:15
  • 19Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 19, Ach Herr, ach meiner schone03:15
  • 20Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 20, Drei schöne Ding sind03:43
  • 21Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 21, Was betrübst du dich, meine Seele05:17
  • 22Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 22, Wem ein tugendsam Weib bescheret ist03:29
  • 23Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 23, O Herr Jesu Christe04:47
  • 24Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 24, Ich bin die Wurzel des Geschlechtes David04:06
  • 25Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 25, Lehre uns bedenken04:15
  • 26Schein: Israelis Brünnlein: No. 26, Nu danket alle Gott04:22
  • Total Runtime01:41:19

Info for Schein: Israelis Brünnlein

In the early 17th century, Italy was the wonderland of music; all new ideas and suggestions came from here, and whoever was a composer in the north - i.e. also in Germany - could not avoid these innovations, e.g. the "madrigalian manner". Johann Hermann Schein, too, enthusiastically embraced the southern stimuli as they reached the ears of German musicians in madrigals and sacred concertos from the beginning of the century, but he was never able to deny his musical upbringing and education rooted in German chapel and cantor tradition. This is especially true of his cycle of 26 sacred madrigals for 5 voices and b.c., the Israels Brünnlein - Fontana d'Israel, published in 1623, when Schein was already Leipzig's Thomaskantor. This cycle is virtually a combination of the German-Dutch motets tradition and the New Italian art of expression. Schein commands the various stylistic phenomena with aplomb, committed only to the affects and the expression. The collection is a step on the way to a more subjective, emotional practice of faith, as it then breaks through in Pietism.

Opella Musica:
Isabel Schicketanz, soprano 1
Heidi Maria Taubert, soprano 2
Susanne Langner, alto
Tobias Hunger, tenor
Friedemann Klos, bass
Tillmann Steinhöfel, violin
Gregor Meyer, chest organ & direction

No biography found.

Booklet for Schein: Israelis Brünnlein

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO