Our New Orleans (Expanded Edition) Various Artists - A Benefit Album

Cover Our New Orleans (Expanded Edition)

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Yes We Can Can04:15
  • 2World I Never Made04:01
  • 3Back Water Blues03:31
  • 4Gather by the River03:40
  • 5Cryin' in the Streets08:43
  • 6Canal Street Blues03:40
  • 7Brother John Is Gone / Herc-Jolly-John05:31
  • 8When the Saints Go Marching In02:18
  • 9My Feet Can't Fail Me Now04:38
  • 10Tou' les jours c'est pas la meme (Every Day Is Not the Same)03:59
  • 11L'ouragon (The Hurricane)03:58
  • 12Do You Know What It Means to Miss New Orleans02:42
  • 13Prayer for New Orleans02:14
  • 14What a Wonderful World (feat. Donald Harrison)03:50
  • 15Tipitina and Me02:52
  • 16Louisiana 1927 (with Members of the New York Philharmonic)03:05
  • 17Do You Know What It Means03:40
  • 18Let's Work Together03:13
  • 19Crescent City Serenade05:26
  • 20Walking By the River03:47
  • 21Do You Know What It Means (feat. Donald Harrison)03:26
  • Total Runtime01:22:29

Info for Our New Orleans (Expanded Edition)

Newly remastered! Originally released to benefit Habitat for Humanity’s post-Hurricane Katrina rebuilding effort, Nonesuch releases a remastered, special edition of the 2005 record Our New Orleans for the first time on HIGHRESAUDIO. The two-album set includes five previously unreleased tracks: ‘Do You Know What It Means’, by Davell Crawford; ‘Let's Work Together’, by Buckwheat Zydeco and Ry Cooder; ‘Crescent City Serenade’, by Dr. Michael White; ‘Walking By the River’, by Dr. John; and ‘Do You Know What It Means’, by The Wardell Quezergue Orchestra featuring Donald Harrison.

For Our New Orleans, many of the Crescent City’s best-known musicians recorded songs that are integral to their lives and that express their feelings about the city and the trauma of Katrina. The album was made swiftly and simply, over the course of a month, in one-day sessions across the country. Nick Spitzer, host of public radio’s New Orleans–based American Routes, contributed liner notes to the record, as did Pulitzer Prize–winning author Richard Ford, also a Crescent City resident. Other producers who made enormous contributions include Mark Bingham, Ry Cooder, Joel and Adam Dorn, Steve Epstein, Joe Henry, Doug Petty, Matt Sakakeeny, and Hal Willner.

Nonesuch President David Bither recalls, “What was most remarkable to me was the immediate response of the musicians. Many were in New Orleans when Katrina struck. Many lost everything they owned including even the musical instruments that are their livelihood. Yet they responded within days to the question of whether they might participate in this project. The emotion and the power of Our New Orleans come both from their anguish and from their incredible generosity.”

No biography found.

Booklet for Our New Orleans (Expanded Edition)

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO