Wildewoman (The New Recordings) Lucius

Album info



Label: Play It Again Sam

Genre: Alternative

Subgenre: Indie Rock

Artist: Lucius

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 13.20
  • 1Wildewoman (The New Recording)04:12
  • 2Turn It Around (The New Recording)03:29
  • 3Go Home (feat. Marcus Mumford) (The New Recording)03:28
  • 4Hey, Doreen (The New Recording)04:37
  • 5Tempest (The New Recording)04:11
  • 6Nothing Ordinary (The New Recording)03:10
  • 7Two of Us on the Run (The New Recording)04:35
  • 8Until We Get There (The New Recording)03:31
  • 9Don't Just Sit There (The New Recording)03:49
  • 10Housewarming (The New Recording)04:10
  • 11Monsters (The New Recording)03:29
  • 12How Loud Your Heart Gets (The New Recording)05:24
  • 13Genevieve (The New Recording)03:58
  • Total Runtime52:03

Info for Wildewoman (The New Recordings)

Wildewoman (The New Recordings) offers a richer take on Lucius' dazzling debut album. Guests include Marcus Mumford, Devon Gilfillian, and Brandi Carlile.

Wildewoman (The New Recordings) re-imagines and expands Lucius’ dazzling debut album with enhanced instrumentation and deeper renditions of these remarkable songs. This 13-track set features guest appearances from Marcus Mumford on “Go Home (The New Recording)” and Devon Gilfillian on “Tempest (The New Recording).”

Formed by lead vocalists and songwriters Jess Wolfe and Holly Laessig, the acclaimed indie band Lucius is celebrated for its sinuous harmonies and uniquely original pop-noir musical artistry. With multi-instrumentalists Peter Lalish and Dan Molad completing the lineup, Lucius has released three albums and toured worldwide, cultivating a passionate following for their ingenious art-pop creations and electrifying live performances. The exceptional musicianship and songwriting talents of Wolfe and Laessig shine through in their collaborations with a diverse array of artists over their prolific 16-year career.

Lucius made their debut with Wildewoman in 2013, which included the enduring single “Two of Us on the Run” and received a wave of critical acclaim. Rolling Stone praised the album’s modern take on '60s girl group sounds as “fresh and thrilling.” Their second album, 2016's Good Grief, saw the Los Angeles-based group delving into their influences to create an album NPR called “rapturous,” further expanding their rapidly growing fan base. In 2022, Lucius released Second Nature, an '80s dance-inflected LP produced by Brandi Carlile and Dave Cobb. The album features “Next to Normal,” named one of NPR Music’s top songs of the year, and the sparkling disco track “Dance Around It,” with contributions from Carlile and Sheryl Crow.

Beyond Lucius, Wolfe and Laessig are among the most sought-after vocalists out there. They are members of Joni Mitchell’s esteemed “Joni Jam” crew and have lent their voices to songs by a myriad of artists, including the War on Drugs, John Legend, the Killers, Harry Styles, Black Pumas, Jeff Tweedy, and even Ozzy Osbourne.


Please Note: We offer this album in its native sampling rate of 48 kHz, 24-bit. The provided 96 kHz version was up-sampled and offers no audible value!

dubbed by Rolling Stone as “the best band you may not have heard yet,” ­are a five-piece indie-pop band from Brooklyn. The quintet pairs the synchronous and powerful vocals of Jess Wolfe and Holly Laessig, who also play synth and keyboards, with guitars and percussion from Dan Molad, Peter Lalish and Andrew Burri. Together, they make music that evokes classic girl-group pop and iconic rock ’n’ roll with a modern twist, that belongs solely to Lucius.

The band’s 2013 debut LP WILDEWOMAN (Mom + Pop) is lauded by The New York Times as “an art school take on girl group soul,” admired by Paste for its “strong song structures, substantive lyrics and precise playing” and included in NPR’s top 50 albums of 2013.

Landing on numerous critics’ best-of lists is only the beginning of a pivotal year for the band. Lucius has spent most of 2014 on headlining US and European tours, performing at a variety of the country’s largest summer festivals (Governor’s Ball, Lollapallooza, ACL, ect.) and playing in support of Sara Bareilles, City and Colour, The Head and The Heart and Andrew Bird. Wolfe and Laessig also make appearances via backing vocals for Wilco frontman Jeff Tweedy’s latest release SUKIERAE and on ALPHAVILLE, the debut LP from The Rentals. But none of it happened overnight.

“We’ve been singing together for almost nine years,” Wolfe says. “We never wanted to rush anything. We never looked for a record deal before it felt like we needed one, and we never wanted to be on tour until we felt like we could sustain ourselves on the road. It was important for us to hone our craft.” Wolfe and Laessig met in college in Boston, bonding over a love of old-school soul, David Bowie and the Beatles. They sing as though each is one half of the same voice, with riveting, resonant unison parts on songs like “Hey Doreen,” the propulsive first single from WILDEWOMAN; and harmonies that feel instinctive as their voices diverge and then meld together on the ineffably catchy title track. “We started singing in unison because we were always drawn to doubled vocals on recordings,” Wolfe says. “We figured it couldn’t hurt to try it in a live setting and it just felt like our voices were supposed to be sitting together – an automatic vocal kinship. In truth, many of our intentional decisions, when it comes to sounds and arrangements and even band setup, have been happy accidents.”

After their initial musical gathering, the pair started writing songs together, exploring a sense of otherness that each had felt growing up, and pairing it with arresting musical arrangements: from bright acoustic guitars and heartbroken vocals to layers of irresistible rhythm and bold melodies. “Jess and I have shared unusually parallel experiences,” Laessig says. “We were both bullied during adolescence, which lit a fire in each of us. We have both experienced relationships and love on a similar timeline, so when we write songs together we have a natural empathy. The themes that run through this record reflect the struggles and realizations of becoming an adult, and of being a bit of an outsider sometimes, but embracing it. I think that’s something people can relate to.”

In 2007, Wolfe and Laessig moved to Brooklyn’s Ditmas Park, taking up residence at the Bromley House, which had, unbeknownst to them at the time, been a music school and recording studio for more than 60 years prior. Wolfe and Laessig established an open door policy for the strong local community of musicians. First came Molad, a drummer, producer and engineer whom Lucius sought out for some early recording sessions (he also coproduced WILDEWOMAN). He introduced them to Lalish, his former bandmate in the indie-pop trio Elizabeth and the Catapult. Later, Molad met Burri while working on a different recording project, rounding out the Lucius family. At the same time, Lucius was developing the memorable visual look the band employs onstage — “dressing the sound,” they call it. Taking inspiration from strong visual artists, and citing Bjork, Bowie, Warhol and Prince as style icons, the women are bedecked in a seemingly endless array of identical head-to-toe ensembles, complimented by the men’s sharp, tailored style. Lucius’ steady ascent shows no signs of retreat. The rest of 2014 brings Lucius full circle: amid the anniversary of their first album, a European tour and a handful of headlining US dates, the band will return to the studio to begin work on their second album.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO