Album info



Label: Orchid Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Concertos

Artist: Copenhagen Phil & Toshiyuki Kamioka

Composer: Richard Strauss (1864-1949)

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 192 $ 15.40
  • Richard Strauss (1864 - 1949): I Allegro moderato (attacca):
  • 1Strauss: I Allegro moderato (attacca)09:27
  • II Andante (attacca):
  • 2Strauss: II Andante (attacca)09:16
  • III Vivace - Allegro:
  • 3Strauss: III Vivace - Allegro08:42
  • I Allegro:
  • 4Strauss: I Allegro05:18
  • II Andante:
  • 5Strauss: II Andante04:49
  • III Allegro:
  • 6Strauss: III Allegro05:05
  • Ouverture zum 1. Aufzug (Jourdain-der Bürger):
  • 7Strauss: Ouverture zum 1. Aufzug (Jourdain-der Bürger)05:43
  • Menuett:
  • 8Strauss: Menuett01:50
  • Der Fechtmeister:
  • 9Strauss: Der Fechtmeister05:22
  • Auftritt und Tanz der Schneider:
  • 10Strauss: Auftritt und Tanz der Schneider02:04
  • Das Menuett des Lully:
  • 11Strauss: Das Menuett des Lully02:14
  • Courante:
  • 12Strauss: Courante03:53
  • Auftritt des Cleonte (nach Lully):
  • 13Strauss: Auftritt des Cleonte (nach Lully)03:36
  • Vorspiel zum 2. Aufzug (Intermezzo):
  • 14Strauss: Vorspiel zum 2. Aufzug (Intermezzo)07:29
  • Das Diner (Tafelmusik und Tanz des Küchenjungen):
  • 15Strauss: Das Diner (Tafelmusik und Tanz des Küchenjungen)02:44
  • Total Runtime01:17:32

Info for Strauss

"With its Chief Conductor Toshiyuki Kamioka at the helm, the Copenhagen Philharmonic performs three of Richard Strauss’s most sparkling scores: the Oboe Concerto, with soloist Andreas Fosdal, the First Horn Concerto, played by Jakob Keiding, and the suite from Der Bürger als Edelmann. Strauss’s Oboe Concerto is in three seamless movements: a pastoral opening with ornate oboe lines leads into a radiant slow movement and virtuoso finale. Strauss’s famous horn-playing father inspired his First Horn Concerto, which reveals his evident relish for the horn’s uninhibited, bucolic character as it cuts through the orchestral colours. Strauss’s music for Der Bürger als Edelmann (based on the 17th-century Molière-Lully collaboration Le bourgeois gentilhomme) is an early instance of neoclassicism, originally composed to be performed immediately before his opera Ariadne auf Naxos. The result is a quintessentially Straussian confection, combining lyricism and good humour."

Andreas Fosdal, oboe
Jakob Keiding, french horn
Copenhagen Philharmonic Orchestra
Toshiyuki Kamioka, conductor

Toshiyuki Kamioka
was born in Tokyo, where he studied conducting, composition, the piano and the violin at the National University of Fine Arts & Music. In 1982, he was awarded the coveted Ataka Prize and two years later received a Rotary International Fellowship to attend the Hamburg Conservatory where he studied conducting under Klauspeter Seibel.

During season 1985/6 he has been a korrepetitor in Hoofstad Operette Amsterdam. He was a korrepetitor and conductor at Theater Kiel between 1987 and 1992, where he gained his first theatre experience as répétiteur for soloists and as Kapellmeister at the Städtische Bühnen.

By 1987, he had become a lecturer in chamber music and accompaniment at the Hamburg Conservatory and, in the 2000/01 season, he stood in as professor of the opera classes at the Frankfurt-am-Main Conservatory. Since the autumn of 2004, he has been working as professor of conducting at the Saar Conservatory (HfM Saar) in Saarbrücken.

From 1992 to 1996, Toshiyuki Kamioka was the lead Kapellmeister at the Aalto Theater in Essen. Between 1996 and 2004, he held the post of general music director at the Hessisches Staatstheater in Wiesbaden. During the eight seasons from 1998 to 2006, Toshiyuki Kamioka was Chief conductor of the Nordwestdeutsche Philharmonie in Herford, at the same time he was invited to tour regularly in Germany and abroad. Concerts with ensembles such as the NHK Symphony Orchestra in Tokyo and the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra have gained him an international reputation. Press and public heap equal praise on his highly musical and sophisticated interpretations. Aside from his commitments as conductor, Toshiyuki Kamioka also continues to delight audiences with his subtle interpretations and virtuosity as a piano soloist.

Maestro Kamioka was the general music director of the Wuppertal Symphony Orchestra (WSO) from the 2004/05 season onwards. In 2009/10 he changed position to become chief conductor and artistic director. Between 2014 and 2016 he held the intendant position in Theater Wuppertal.

Under his baton, the WSO has developed considerably, both musically and technically, leading to regular invitations to appear in Milan. Building on its’ successful nine-day concert tour in Japan in 2007, the orchestra returned there for a further, more extensive visit in October 2010. During this stay of fourteen days, the orchestra had ten concerts in nine cities, such as Tokyo, Yokohama, Fukushima, Nagoya and Fukuoka. In August 2011 the WSO gave its debut with Toshiyuki Kamioka in a sold out performance in the Concertgebouw Amsterdam where they were joined by Tzimon Barto at the piano playing Johannes Brahms’ Piano Concert No 1.

Toshiyuki Kamioka had simultaneously acted as the general music director of the Saarländisches Staatstheater in Saarbrücken since the 2009/10 season. He joined the New Japan Philharmonic as Artistic Advisor in April 2015, and has been appointed the NJP’s Music Director in September 2016.

Toshiyuki Kamioka has been Chief Conductor of the Copenhagen Philharmonic since Season 2016/2017.

He has been a guest conductor in Germany, Japan, France, Italy, Hungary, the Czech Republic, Netherlands, Brazil and Sweden and has performed as pianist in Germany, Italy and Japan.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO