Cover Jules Massenet: Werther

Album info



Label: Bru Zane

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Artist: Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra & György Vashegyi

Composer: Jules Massenet (1842-1912)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 21.10
  • Jules Massenet (1842 - 1912): Werther: Prélude:
  • 1Massenet: Werther: Prélude03:52
  • Werther, Act I: S
  • 2Massenet: Werther, Act I: Scène "Assez ! Assez !..."01:50
  • 3Massenet: Werther, Act I: Scène "Bravo pour les enfants !"05:05
  • 4Massenet: Werther, Act I: Scène et Air "Alors, c’est bien ici"06:17
  • 5Massenet: Werther, Act I: Scène "Charlotte ! Charlotte !"02:49
  • 6Massenet: Werther, Act I: Scène "Arrivez donc, Brühlmann !"01:57
  • 7Massenet: Werther, Act I: Scène "Ô spectacle idéal"03:06
  • 8Massenet: Werther, Act I: Scène "Sophie !"02:15
  • 9Massenet: Werther, Act I: Air "Elle m’aime... elle pense à moi !..."02:08
  • 10Massenet: Werther, Act I: Clair de lune "Il faut nous séparer."05:16
  • 11Massenet: Werther, Act I: Clair de lune, suite "Hélas ! oui... Mes enfants…"02:59
  • 12Massenet: Werther, Act I: Clair de lune, suite "Rêve ! Extase ! Bonheur !"01:43
  • 13Massenet: Werther, Act I: Clair de lune, suite "Charlotte !... Albert est de retour !..."01:47
  • Werther, Act II: P
  • 14Massenet: Werther, Act II: Prélude01:12
  • 15Massenet: Werther, Act II: Scène "Vivat Bacchus ! Semper vivat ! C’est dimanche !"01:45
  • 16Massenet: Werther, Act II: Scène "Allez ! chantez l’office et que l’orgue résonne !"02:18
  • 17Massenet: Werther, Act II: Scène "Trois mois ! voici trois mois que nous sommes unis !"02:17
  • 18Massenet: Werther, Act II: Air "Un autre est son époux !"03:01
  • 19Massenet: Werther, Act II: Scène "Si ! Käthchen reviendra, je vous dis !"01:08
  • 20Massenet: Werther, Act II: Duo "Au bonheur dont mon âme est pleine"03:22
  • 21Massenet: Werther, Act II: Air "Frère, voyez le beau bouquet !"01:49
  • 22Massenet: Werther, Act II: Scène "Heureux ! pourrai-je l’être encore !"01:32
  • 23Massenet: Werther, Act II: Scène et Duo "Ai-je dit vrai ? L’amour que j’ai pour elle"02:02
  • 24Massenet: Werther, Act II: Duo, suite "Ah ! qu’il est loin ce jour plein d’intime douceur"01:39
  • 25Massenet: Werther, Act II: Duo, suite "Werther ! N’est-il donc pas d’autre femme"04:01
  • 26Massenet: Werther, Act II: Scène "Oui, ce qu’elle m’ordonne"01:50
  • 27Massenet: Werther, Act II: Air "Lorsque l’enfant revient d’un voyage avant l’heure"02:01
  • 28Massenet: Werther, Act II: Scène "Mais venez donc ! le cortège s’approche"01:34
  • Werther, Act III:
  • 29Massenet: Werther, Act III: Prélude02:44
  • 30Massenet: Werther, Act III: Air "Werther ! Werther !..."06:25
  • 31Massenet: Werther, Act III: Scène "Bonjour, grande sœur ! je viens aux nouvelles"01:34
  • 32Massenet: Werther, Act III: Air "Ah ! le rire est béni, joyeux, léger, sonore !"00:55
  • 33Massenet: Werther, Act III: Scène "Écoute ! je suis d’âge à savoir les raisons"01:13
  • 34Massenet: Werther, Act III: Air "Va ! laisse couler mes larmes !"02:14
  • 35Massenet: Werther, Act III: Scène "Tiens, Charlotte, crois-moi, ne reste pas ici…"01:52
  • 36Massenet: Werther, Act III: Air "Ah ! Mon courage m’abandonne !"01:50
  • 37Massenet: Werther, Act III: Duo "Ciel ! Werther !"05:20
  • 38Massenet: Werther, Act III: Stances "Toute mon âme est là !"02:30
  • 39Massenet: Werther, Act III: Duo "N’achevez pas !"02:52
  • 40Massenet: Werther, Act III: Duo, suite "Ah ! moi ! moi ! dans ses bras !"01:04
  • 41Massenet: Werther, Act III: Arioso "Rien !... pas un mot... elle se tait"01:32
  • 42Massenet: Werther, Act III: Scène "Werther est de retour... on l’a vu revenir…"02:57
  • Werther, Act IV:
  • 43Massenet: Werther, Act IV: Symphonie "La Nuit de Noël"03:56
  • 44Massenet: Werther, Act IV: Scène "Werther ! Werther ! Rien !..."01:22
  • 45Massenet: Werther, Act IV: Scène "Charlotte ! Ah ! c’est toi !"03:22
  • 46Massenet: Werther, Act IV: Scène "À cette heure suprême"03:54
  • 47Massenet: Werther, Act IV: Scène "Noël ! Noël ! Noël !"01:50
  • 48Massenet: Werther, Act IV: Scène "Ah !... Ses yeux se ferment !... sa main se glace…"04:13
  • Total Runtime02:06:14

Info for Jules Massenet: Werther

Massenet’s Werther is one of those masterpieces that were rejected or shunned at the time of their creation. Sketched in the 1880s, the score was turned down by the director of the Opéra-Comique and had to make do with a premiere in German, far from Paris, before finally being heard in Paris in 1893. It gradually established itself as one of the composer’s most personal works, in which he showed himself to be as fine a colourist as he was a master of the art of the ‘motif de rappel’. In adapting Goethe’s novel, Massenet and his librettists gave greater prominence to the character of Charlotte, thus placing the struggle between duty and passion at the centre of the narrative. The role of Werther, originally assigned to a tenor, was also sung by the baritone Mattia Battistini with the composer’s approval. Provided the singer makes skilful use of voix mixte , this version gives the work a melancholy colouring ideal for portraying its hero’s suicidal temperament. Tassis Christoyannis follows this approach in exemplary fashion, opposite the reserved yet moving Charlotte of Véronique Gens. Both singers give the text the preponderant role allotted to it by French operatic tradition.

Tassis Christoyannis, baritone
Veronique Gens, soprano
Helene Carpentier, soprano
Thomas Dolie, baritone
Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra
György Vashegyi, conductor

No biography found.

Booklet for Jules Massenet: Werther

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO