Destination Failure (Remastered) Smoking Popes

Album info



Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Star Struck One01:58
  • 2No More Smiles02:30
  • 3I Know You Love Me03:15
  • 4You Spoke To Me03:17
  • 5Paul03:22
  • 6Can't Find It03:04
  • 7Capital Cristine02:03
  • 8Before I'm Gone03:36
  • 9Megan03:10
  • 10Let's Hear It For Love03:54
  • 11Pure Imagination02:42
  • 12I Was Right03:27
  • 13They Lied00:54
  • 14End Of Your Time02:34
  • 15Pretty Pathetic04:08
  • 16Follow The Sound04:22
  • Total Runtime48:16

Info for Destination Failure (Remastered)

Destination Failure is the third album by the Chicago-based pop punk band the Smoking Popes, released August 26, 1997 by Capitol Records. It was their second, and final, album for Capitol and their last before their nearly seven-year hiatus; their covers album The Party's Over was rejected by Capitol and the Smoking Popes disbanded in December 1998, reuniting in November 2005 to record At Metro.

Destination Failure was not as successful as the band's previous album Born to Quit; it failed to chart despite the release a single and music video for "I Know You Love Me". The album was recorded at the Chicago Recording Company and at Conway Studios in Hollywood with producer Jerry Finn and recording engineer Phil Bonnet.[2] Bonnet had worked with the band since early in their career, engineering and producing their EPs Break Up and 2 as well as Born to Quit.

"To call Smoking Popes merely pop-punk would be a grotesque disservice -- they've been excelling at it for years. The problem is the image such a description (or genre name) conjures: a mediocre group who plays a fifth as well as the bands who founded punk in the '70s, with lyrics that are dim-witted, simplistic, dull, or immature, and tunes that are stiff, forced, and/or plain. We hold these truths to be self-evident, especially since Descendents re-formed to disrobe all the new, shabby pretenders, and to remind us of the melodious glory the genre used to radiate. As for this actually "smoking" Chicago quartet, they not only avoid such pitfalls, they humbly offer a singular style that is actually power pop in the early-'70s and early-'80s tradition -- from the young Todd Rundgren to the Fabulous Poodles. And with earlier efforts, such as 1994's Born to Quit on the little Johan's Face label (here's a rare band that has greatly improved on a major), these likable pontiffs have an earnestness and wound-licking vulnerability to match Descendents' Auckerman, without Milo's more bawdy edges. With a singer in Josh Caterer who can make the most melancholic, fretting passage seem like a whistling, carefree, Willie Wonka-kissed day (and who still sounds like a cross between XTC's Andy Partridge and Gilbert O'Sullivan) and a band who is gleeful, but not in a churlish-youthful way, Smoking Popes are one of the most deceptively pleasant-sounding bands going. So much so that their bite has to sneak up on you. And with such undeniably delicious and catchy fare as "No More Smiles," it's as easy to root for these folks in the difficulties their words pose as it is to continuously play their records." (Jack Rabid, AMG)

Josh Caterer, vocals, guitar
Eli Caterer, guitar
Matt Caterer, bass
Mike Felumlee, drums

Produced by Jerry Finn

Digitally remastered

Smoking Popes
Ever wonder what a traditional lounge singer would sound like backed up by a punk band? The Smoking Popes take that concept one step further: They've created a unique kind of music that some listeners are describing as ‘hyperkinetic tear-jerkers’." Los Angeles Times

Bursting onto the Chicago punk scene in 1991, Smoking Popes built a relationship with their legion of fans by melding raw songs about bittersweet heartache with soaring melodies, power chords and infectious energy. From their early indie releases to their critically acclaimed major label albums, Smoking Popes developed a unique blend of buzzsaw guitars, caffeinated rhythms and heartfelt crooning vocals, combining the angst of punk with the smooth sophistication of Frank Sinatra, creating music both urgent and timeless, and influencing a generation of musicians in their wake.

These days, the Popes are tighter and more inspired than ever, having reunited with drummer Mike Felumlee, from the band’s seminal recordings of the ‘90s. Lead singer Josh Caterer describes the reunion, “We’ve been fortunate to have some really great drummers over the years, they’ve all brought something unique to the band, but as soon as we started playing with Mike again, we felt like ‘This is how it’s supposed to be!’ Mike is the one who helped create our sound in the first place. Having him back in the band brings a lot of energy and excitement to what we’re doing.”

That excitement is palpable on “Into The Agony”, the first full-length Smoking Popes album featuring their original lineup since 1998’s “The Party’s Over.” Brilliantly mixed by the legendary Jamie Woolford, “Into The Agony” is a poignant collection of sublimely crafted songs, passionately delivered by a band clearly at the top of their game. If this new album is any indication, Smoking Popes are far from done making waves.

“Into The Agony” is available Oct 12th 2018 on Asian Man Records. The band will be hitting the road to support the release, with dates covering North America and Europe in the coming year.

“Why are the Smoking Popes important? Because they’ve written your favorite song, whether you know it or not.” – Kyle Kinane, Comedian & Smoking Popes Superfan

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO