Fair Youth (10th Anniversary 2024 Remix & Remaster) Maybeshewill

Album info



Label: Superball Music

Genre: Rock

Subgenre: Adult Alternative

Artist: Maybeshewill

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1... (2024 Mix)00:54
  • 2In Amber (2024 Mix)05:47
  • 3You and Me and Everything in Between (2024 Mix)04:02
  • 4Fair Youth (2024 Mix)04:23
  • 5All Things Transient (2024 Mix)04:14
  • 6Sanctuary (2024 Mix)03:45
  • 7Asiatic (2024 Mix)04:18
  • 8Waking Life (2024 Mix)05:58
  • 9Permanence (2024 Mix)04:29
  • 10In the Blind (2024 Mix)05:33
  • 11Volga (2024 Mix)06:36
  • Total Runtime49:59

Info for Fair Youth (10th Anniversary 2024 Remix & Remaster)

UK-based instrumental band, MAYBESHEWILL, celebrate 10 years of their fourth studio album ‘Fair Youth’, with a newly remixed & remastered version of the record by the bands own Jamie Ward.

As Jamie explains: “Fair Youth is a pretty ambitious album. The arrangements are pretty maximalist and we were treading new ground with the instrumentation. For this 10 year anniversary reissue I felt I could get more out of the album with a full remix rather than just a remaster. With 10 years more mixing experience under my belt I feel a bit better placed to conquer the wall of sound and get a little more separation between the instruments to really bring out the details of those arrangements. In general I’ve tired to make things hit a little harder and be bit a more vibrant and technicolour.”

On its original release in 2014, DIY Magazine said that the band “had never sounded better”, while Rocksound called the album “an undeniably engaging listen”, and this new version presents a fresh way to experience the music.

John Helps, guitar
Robin Southby, guitar
Matthew Daly, keyboards
Jamie Ward, bass
James Collins, drums

Digitally remastered

is James Collins, Matthew Daly, John Helps, Robin Southby and Jamie Ward. Based in Leicester, UK, they have always aspired to be as self-sufficient as possible, sticking to a steadfastly DIY ethos and self-recording all their material to date. They’ve worked tirelessly over the course of three full-length albums and countless tours to build a loyal and enthusiastic following around the globe. The band released their debut four-track EP ‘Japanese Spy Transcript‘ on their own label (Robot Needs Home) in early 2006 followed by debut album ‘Not For Want Of Trying‘ on Field Records in May 2008. The album was Huw Stephens' record of the week on his Radio 1 show in its week of release and received glowing reviews from RockSound (8/10), Kerrang (4/5) and Drowned In Sound (8/10) amongst many others. Just a year later in June 2009, ‘Sing The Word Hope In Four-Part Harmony‘ was released to a similarly enthusiastic response. For their third record, ‘I Was Here For A Moment, Then I Was Gone‘ Jamie Ward, who had relatively recently joined them on bass took over production duties, marking a step up in recording quality. The album featured live strings for the first time, and a more electronic direction. The record was released in May 2011 and was praised widely by the music press including RockSound, NME, Artrocker, Kerrang, Big Cheese and Metal Hammer. The Finnish National Ice Hockey team chose ‘Words for Arabella’ from the record as their ‘skate out’ music during the World Cup. The album was played in its entirety on Kerrang radio twice, and gained Maybeshewill ‘Band of the Week’ on RockSound.tv for an unprecedented two weeks running. Touring has been fundamental to Maybeshewill’s existence so far. They’ve covered the UK and mainland Europe extensively, as well as Russia, China and Japan with the likes of 65daysofstatic, And So I Watch You From Afar, And You Will Know Us By The Trail of Dead, The Dillinger Escape Plan, Lite and The Ocean. Having taken a rare few months off from touring to step back and take stock they’re now determined to see how far their idea of what it means to be a ‘DIY’ band can take them. Self managed and produced and working with a small team of trusted friends, they’re about to embark on their most ambitious album cycle to date - pushing the music, production and touring to the limit of what is achievable for a band of their stature. Maybeshewill’s fourth studio album ‘Fair Youth‘ will be released on 25th August 2014 through Superball Music (…Trail of Dead, 65daysofstatic, Oceansize). It’s an overwhelmingly positive record, with the band creating a musical solution to dealing with real world problems and difficulties. It touches on themes of nostalgia and oneirism, and the connections, disconnection and constant feeling of motion that comes with spending so many months of the year on the road. Once again Jamie has taken the production helm but this time they’ve vastly expanded the pallet of sounds and instruments at their disposal. By working with live instrumentation wherever possible, but also augmenting the real with electronic flourishes, it is simultaneously the most and least organic Maybeshewill record to date. It’s been shaped largely by influences from outside the musical world they exist in - from washes of hazy Shoegaze guitars to glitchy Electronica; chopped and screwed Hip-Hop beats to ornate Chamber Pop orchestration, as well as countless other threads coming together. Importantly, it’s the band re-imagined as a larger ensemble - a hundred-year-old grand piano, string and brass sections, an enormous old drum kit, glockenspiels, vibraphones and a sea of guitars - while still remaining a cohesive whole.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO