Cover Debussy & Strauss

Album info



Label: Melbourne Symphony Orchestra

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Artist: Siobhan Stagg, Melbourne Symphony Orchestra & Jaime Martin

Composer: Claude Debussy (1862-1918), Richard Strauss (1864-1949)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 11.90
  • Claude Debussy (1862 - 1918): Ariettes oubliées, CD 63, L. 60 (Arr. for Orchestra by Brett Dean):
  • 1Debussy: Ariettes oubliées, CD 63, L. 60 (Arr. for Orchestra by Brett Dean): I. C'est l'extase langoureuse03:05
  • 2Debussy: Ariettes oubliées, CD 63, L. 60 (Arr. for Orchestra by Brett Dean): II. Il pleure dans mon cœur02:35
  • 3Debussy: Ariettes oubliées, CD 63, L. 60 (Arr. for Orchestra by Brett Dean): III. L'ombre des arbres02:28
  • 4Debussy: Ariettes oubliées, CD 63, L. 60 (Arr. for Orchestra by Brett Dean): IV. Chevaux de Bois02:54
  • 5Debussy: Ariettes oubliées, CD 63, L. 60 (Arr. for Orchestra by Brett Dean): V. Green02:20
  • 6Debussy: Ariettes oubliées, CD 63, L. 60 (Arr. for Orchestra by Brett Dean): VI. Spleen02:42
  • Richard Strauss (1864 - 1949): Four Last Songs, Op. posth., TrV 296:
  • 7Strauss: Four Last Songs, Op. posth., TrV 296: I. Frühling03:26
  • 8Strauss: Four Last Songs, Op. posth., TrV 296: II. September05:01
  • 9Strauss: Four Last Songs, Op. posth., TrV 296: III. Beim Schlafengehen05:56
  • 10Strauss: Four Last Songs, Op. posth., TrV 296: IV. Im Abendrot08:30
  • Total Runtime38:57

Info for Debussy & Strauss

The Melbourne Symphony Orchestra launch their new label with a powerful pairing of Debussy and Strauss led by Chief Conductor Jaime Martín. The Orchestra’s new label will share the incredible ecosystem of classical music across Australia, and their first album showcases two of their nation’s top talents – rising star soprano Siobhan Stagg and noted composer Brett Dean.

The debut release on the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra’s new record label brings together Chief Conductor Jaime Martín, superstar soprano and MSO 2023 Artist in Residence Siobhan Stagg and the full might of the MSO to perform music from Strauss and Debussy that explores life, love and approaching death.

Debussy & Strauss is the first release of recordings stemming from a new production and distribution partnership, signed in December 2022, between the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra (MSO) and the London Symphony Orchestra (LSO).

Chief Conductor Jaime Martín praises the new release. “The Strauss and Debussy concerts with the incredible Siobhan Stagg were among my personal highlights of 2023,” says Martín. “Our partnership with the LSO means that the first recording on our new label will receive international distribution and promotion, allowing the MSO to share this wonderful music with the largest possible audience.”

Mildura-born soprano and darling of the international stage Siobhan Stagg performed Strauss’ Vier letzte Lieder at the MSO 2023 Season Opening Gala. Posthumously titled Four Last Songs, Strauss’ sublime pieces farewell a world irrevocably altered by two world wars. Under Martín’s ‘sensitive accompaniment’ (The Age) Stagg imbues these complex works with nostalgia, naïveté, and astonishing sincerity. In this ‘truly magical experience’ (Australian Stage) Stagg brings ‘profound empathy and commanding elegance’ to Richard Strauss’ Four Last Songs (The Age). Classic Melbourne described Stagg’s stage presence as ‘mesmerising’, and her voice as ‘shining and luscious.’

Stagg said she was honoured to be part of the first release on the MSO’s new label. “To perform these beautiful song cycles live with the MSO in front of a Melbourne audience was a genuine pleasure,” Stagg says. “I’m thrilled that the release of these concert recordings will allow music lovers from around the world the opportunity to hear such wonderful music performed by the brilliant MSO with Maestro Martín.”

The second live recording features Stagg and the MSO performing a rarely heard 2015 arrangement by Australian composer Brett Dean of Debussy’s Ariettes oubliées (Forgotten Songs), which was premiered in March 2023. According to The Age ‘Siobhan Stagg transported the audience to the intensely sensual world of Debussy’s Ariettes oubliées, once again captivating listeners with ravishing tone, crystalline diction and winning charm’. Musically eclectic yet recognisably ‘French’, these songs demonstrate Debussy’s part in the development of an iconic French musical style, recognisable today in the likes of Amélie’s Yann Tiersen. Classic Melbourne applauded ‘Stagg’s remarkable ability to create a sense of the mysterious and otherworldliness.’

MSO Managing Director Sophie Galaise welcomes the new album release. “The release of our first recording on the MSO label heralds the beginning of a fruitful and fulsome partnership that will showcase our esteemed Chief Conductor Jaime Martín and Australia’s first and foremost symphony orchestra – the MSO,” Galaise said.

Siobhan Stagg, soprano Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Jaime Martin, conductor

Siobhan Stagg
is one of the most outstanding young artists to emerge from Australia in recent years. Christa Ludwig has described Siobhan’s voice as “one of the most beautiful I’ve ever heard.”

A graduate of the University of Melbourne, Siobhan began her career as a Young Artist at the Salzburg Festival (2013) and at the Deutsche Oper Berlin (2013 – 2015). As word of her talent spread, Siobhan was quickly engaged for important debuts at the Hamburg State Opera, Berliner Philharmoniker, Bayerische Staatsoper, Grand Théâtre de Genève, Dutch National Opera (Amsterdam), BBC Proms and London’s Royal Opera House Covent Garden, among others.

Die Zauberflote-09-09-17-ROH-3136 MAURO PETER AS TAMINO, SIOBHAN STAGG A...

Siobhan Stagg as Pamina in Die Zauberflöte, Royal Opera House Covent Garden, September 2017. Photo © Tristram Kenton. Siobhan’s mainstage Covent Garden debut as Pamina in Die Zauberflöte at London’s Royal Opera House was highly praised: “Best of all was Siobhan Stagg”…”a glorious performance” … “The young Australian is the next big thing.”

Earlier this year, Siobhan earned accolades for a “terrific U.S. debut” in the title role of Massenet’s Cendrillon (Cinderella) at the Lyric Opera of Chicago, critics praising her “absolutely stunning and powerful voice, coupled with her undeniably magnetic stage presence.”

The same season, Siobhan made a “triumphant” Australian operatic debut as Mélisande in Pelléas et Mélisande for Victorian Opera, winning her the 2019 Green Room Award for Best Female Lead in an Opera. “It’s not often a soprano comes along with the ability to sing with both thrilling frisson and total tranquility … Siobhan Stagg’s Mélisande was transcendent.”

After six years as a principal soloist at the Deutsche Oper Berlin, Siobhan returns in 2019/20 as a guest, singing Tytania in the Berlin premiere of Ted Huffman’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream by Benjamin Britten. In 2019, Siobhan is Artist in Association with Asher Fisch and the West Australian Symphony Orchestra in Perth. Other highlights include Mélisande at the Opera de Dijon, Sophie in Der Rosenkavalier at Opernhaus Zürich with Fabio Luisi, a return to the Salzburg Festival for Mozart Matinees and a debut at Festival Aix-en-Provence in Romeo Castellucci’s euphoric staging of Mozart’s Requiem (streamed on Arte.)

NEWS 2019/20: Siobhan is featured on two brand new albums: Libertá with Pygmalion and Raphaël Pichon for Harmonia Mundi International, and Aquarelles (Debussy’s Ariettes Oubliées) with the Noga Quartet.

Booklet for Debussy & Strauss

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO