Cover Seasons Interrupted

Album info



Label: Signum Records

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Concertos

Artist: Trey Lee & English Chamber Orchestra

Composer: Kirmo Lintinen (1967), Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992), Franz Schubert (1797-1828)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.50
  • Franz Schubert (1791 - 1828): Im Frühling, D. 882 (Arr. for Cello & Chamber Orchestra by Trey Lee):
  • 1Schubert: Im Frühling, D. 882 (Arr. for Cello & Chamber Orchestra by Trey Lee)04:32
  • Die Sommernacht, D. 289 (Arr. for Cello & Chamber Orchestra by Trey Lee):
  • 2Schubert: Die Sommernacht, D. 289 (Arr. for Cello & Chamber Orchestra by Trey Lee)03:07
  • Herbst, D. 945 (Arr. for Cello & Chamber Orchestra by Trey Lee):
  • 3Schubert: Herbst, D. 945 (Arr. for Cello & Chamber Orchestra by Trey Lee)03:45
  • Die Winterreise, D. 911:
  • 4Schubert: Die Winterreise, D. 911: III. Gefrorne Tränen (Arr. for Cello & Chamber Orchestra by Trey Lee)02:30
  • Astor Piazzolla (1921 - 1992): Las Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas:
  • 5Piazzolla: Las Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas: I. Otoño Porteño (Arr. for Cello & Chamber Orchestra by Trey Lee)05:34
  • 6Piazzolla: Las Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas: II. Invierno Porteño (Arr. for Cello & Chamber Orchestra by Trey Lee)06:41
  • 7Piazzolla: Las Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas: III. Primavera Porteño (Arr. for Cello & Chamber Orchestra by Trey Lee)05:37
  • 8Piazzolla: Las Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas: IV. Verano Porteño (Arr. for Cello & Chamber Orchestra by Trey Lee)09:49
  • Kirmo Lintinen (b. 1967): Cello Concerto:
  • 9Lintinen: Cello Concerto: I. Inizio05:46
  • 10Lintinen: Cello Concerto: II. Gavotta04:02
  • 11Lintinen: Cello Concerto: III. Cadenza02:54
  • 12Lintinen: Cello Concerto: IV. Finale06:53
  • Total Runtime01:01:10

Info for Seasons Interrupted

An album combining works by Schubert, Piazolla and Lintinen, cellist Trey Lee is joined by the English Chamber Orchestra to perform compositions embracing the effects and impacts of climate change on both the environment and society. The album has two world premiere recordings of new arrangements for both cello and piano, and cello and orchestra by Trey Lee. “With the cello as a platform, I seek a sober yet trenchant means to tell the story of our seasons, and concurrently, create a musical narrative to account for how this crisis unfolds. This album is a journey across our world from the past to the present, and finally, to an increasingly plausible future through the prism of works by three composers from three eras.” (Trey Lee)

Trey Lee, cello
English Chamber Orchestra
Emilia Hoving, conductor

Trey Lee
Hailed as a “miracle” by Gramophone, Trey Lee enthrals audiences with a virtuosity that combines intellectual sophistication with a profound depth of emotions. His concerto debut at Carnegie Hall’s Stern Auditorium/Perelman Stage won him a standing ovation, with New York Times critic Anthony Tommasini declaring him “the excellent cellist…with enveloping richness and lyrical sensitivity.” The late Lorin Maazel praised him as “a marvellous protagonist…a superb cellist” after conducting Trey with the Philharmonia Orchestra.

Highlights of 2023 and 2024 include touring abroad with the Camerata Salzburg, English Chamber Orchestra, and solo engagements in Vienna, London, Paris, Milan, Budapest, Shanghai and Hong Kong. Trey has worked with notable musicians and groups that include conductors Vladimir Ashkenazy, Yuri Bashmet, Mikko Franck, Hannu Lintu, Santtu-Matias Rouvali, Vassily Sinaisky, Dima Slobodeniouk, the orchestras BBC Philharmonic, Philharmonic Orchestra Radio France, Netherlands Philharmonic, Tapiola Sinfonietta, the Moscow Soloists, and chamber orchestras of London, Munich and Stuttgart.

Seeking to increase the expressive possibilities of the cello, Trey has re-arranged works including Astor Piazzolla’s Four Seasons of Buenos Aires, which he debuted with the Trondheim Soloists. Wang Liping’s The Dream of the Red Chamber Capriccio, co-rearranged by Trey, was premiered by Leonard Slatkin and the Detroit Symphony Orchestra in 2017. Trey has given world premieres of two pieces dedicated to him: Bright Sheng’s The Blazing Mirage (recorded for Naxos) and contemporary Finnish composer Kirmo Lintinen’s Cello Concerto.

Trey is a laureate of major international competitions, including First Prize at the International Antonio Janigro Cello Competition. His debut and recital albums under EMI were met with critical acclaim. Numerous media outlets have featured Trey, including a recital recorded for Deutsche Welle during the Covid lockdown. His latest album, Seasons Interrupted, in collaboration with the English Chamber Orchestra is being released by Signum Records in May 2024.

The English Chamber Orchestra (ECO)
is the most recorded chamber orchestra in the world, its discography containing 860 recordings of over 1,500 works by more than 400 composers.

The ECO has also performed in more countries than any other orchestra, and played with many of the world’s greatest musicians. The American radio network CPRN has selected ECO as one of the world’s greatest ‘living’ orchestras. The illustrious history of the orchestra features many major musical figures. Benjamin Britten was the orchestra’s first Patron and a significant musical influence.

The ECO’s long relationship with Daniel Barenboim led to an acclaimed complete cycle of Mozart piano concertos as live performances and recordings, followed later by two further recordings of the complete cycle, with Murray Perahia and Mitsuko Uchida.

The Orchestra has been chosen to record many successful film soundtracks including Dario Marianelli’s prizewinning scores for Atonement and Pride and Prejudice, and several James Bond soundtracks, and has taken part in a variety of other film and television projects.

Booklet for Seasons Interrupted

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO