Album info



Label: PentaTone

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Artist: Magdalena Kožená, Czech Philharmonic & Sir Simon Rattle

Composer: Luciano Berio (1925-2003), Béla Bartók (1881-1945), Maurice Ravel (1875-1937), Xavier Montsalvatge (1912-2002)

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.50
  • Béla Bartók (1881 - 1945): 5 Hungarian Folksongs, BB 108, SZ. 101:
  • 1Bartók: 5 Hungarian Folksongs, BB 108, SZ. 101: No. 1, In Prison04:15
  • 2Bartók: 5 Hungarian Folksongs, BB 108, SZ. 101: No. 2, Old Lament02:09
  • 3Bartók: 5 Hungarian Folksongs, BB 108, SZ. 101: No. 3, Yellow foal, with a bell01:34
  • 4Bartók: 5 Hungarian Folksongs, BB 108, SZ. 101: No. 4, Complaint02:05
  • 5Bartók: 5 Hungarian Folksongs, BB 108, SZ. 101: No. 5, There is a light in Virag's window01:26
  • Luciano Berio (1925 - 2003): Folk Songs:
  • 6Berio: Folk Songs: No. 1, Black is the colour02:43
  • 7Berio: Folk Songs: No. 2, I wonder as I wander01:48
  • 8Berio: Folk Songs: No. 3, Loosin yelav02:48
  • 9Berio: Folk Songs: No. 4, Rossignolet du bois01:30
  • 10Berio: Folk Songs: No. 5, a la femminisca01:25
  • 11Berio: Folk Songs: No. 6, La donna ideale01:15
  • 12Berio: Folk Songs: No. 7, Ballo01:30
  • 13Berio: Folk Songs: No. 8, Motettu de Tristura02:03
  • 14Berio: Folk Songs: No. 9, Malorous qu'o uno fenno01:00
  • 15Berio: Folk Songs: No. 10, Lo fiolairé02:44
  • 16Berio: Folk Songs: No. 11, Azerbaijan Love Song02:32
  • Maurice Ravel (1875 - 1937): 5 Mélodies populaires grecques:
  • 17Ravel: 5 Mélodies populaires grecques: No. 1, Chanson de la mariée01:27
  • 18Ravel: 5 Mélodies populaires grecques: No. 2, Là-bas, vers l'eglise01:33
  • 19Ravel: 5 Mélodies populaires grecques: No. 3, Quel galant m'est comparable00:54
  • 20Ravel: 5 Mélodies populaires grecques: No. 4, Chanson des cueilleuses de lentisques02:59
  • 21Ravel: 5 Mélodies populaires grecques: No. 5, Tout gai!01:06
  • Xavier Monsalvatge (1912 - 2002): 5 Canciones negras:
  • 22Monsalvatge: 5 Canciones negras: No. 1, Cuba dentro de un piano03:56
  • 23Monsalvatge: 5 Canciones negras: No. 2, Punto de Habanera01:48
  • 24Monsalvatge: 5 Canciones negras: No. 3, Chévere02:08
  • 25Monsalvatge: 5 Canciones negras: No. 4, Canción de cuna para dormir a un negrito02:47
  • 26Monsalvatge: 5 Canciones negras: No. 5, Canto negro01:22
  • Total Runtime52:47

Info for Folk Songs

Magdalena Kožená’s fourth Pentatone album Folk Songs brings together folk-inspired song cycles from across the globe. Ranging from Berio’s Folk Songs to sets by Bartók, Ravel and Montsalvatge, this collection provides a kaleidoscope of twentieth-century orchestral song composition. Kožená performs them together with the Czech Philharmonic under the baton of Sir Simon Rattle.

Folk Songs is star mezzo-soprano Magdalena Kožená’s fourth album as part of her exclusive collaboration with Pentatone, after having presented the baroque cantatas recital album Il giardino dei sospiri and the songs in chamber-musical setting project Soirée in 2019, as well as Nostalgia together with Yefim Bronfman in 2021. Sir Simon Rattle conducts the world’s greatest orchestras and, since 2019 has returned annually to conduct the Czech Philharmonic. He made his recording debut as pianist on Pentatone alongside Magdalena Kožená on Soirée(2019). In 2022-23 Rattle and Magdalena Kožená were the Czech Philharmonic Artists in Residence. The Czech Philharmonic is one of the world’s orchestral gems, recognised for its rich tradition with the Czech masters as well as European repertoire. Since 2022, the orchestra has released Mahler’s Fourth, Fifth, Second and First Symphony on Pentatone as part of a complete Mahlerw cycle to appear on the label.

Magdalena Kozena, mezzo-sporano
Czech Philharmonic Orchestra
Simon Rattle, conductor

Magdalena Kožená
Born in the Czech city of Brno, Magdalena Kožená studied voice and piano at the Brno Conservatory and at Bratislava’s Academy of Performing Arts.

Magdalena signed as an exclusive artist with Deutsche Grammophon in 1999 and has since been awarded multiple prizes for her albums including Gramophone’s Solo Vocal Award, Gramophone’s Artist of the Year, Echo Klassik, Record Academy Prize Tokyo, and Diapason d’or. In 2017, Magdalena forged a long-term relationship with Dutch label Pentatone and her 3 recordings include ‘Il Giardino dei sospiri’ with harpsichordist Václav Luks and Collegium 1704, an intimate chamber music album ‘Soirée’, and her most recent release, ‘Nostalgia’ with pianist Yefim Bronfman.

During her illustrious career, Magdalena has worked with the world’s leading conductors, including Claudio Abbado, Pierre Boulez, Gustavo Dudamel, Bernard Haitink, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Mariss Jansons, Sir Charles Mackerras, Sir Simon Rattle or Sir Roger Norrington. Her list of distinguished recital partners includes the pianists Daniel Barenboim, Malcolm Martineau, András Schiff and Mitsuko Uchida, with whom she has performed at such prestigious venues as Carnegie Hall, Wigmore Hall, Alice Tully Hall, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, and at the Aldeburgh, Edinburgh and Salzburg festivals. Magdalena’s understanding of historical performance practices has been cultivated in collaboration with outstanding period- instrument ensembles, including the Venice Baroque Orchestra, Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, Il Giardino Armonico, Les Musiciens du Louvre, La Cetra Barockorchester Basel, and Le Concert d’Astrée. She is also in demand as soloist with the Berlin, Vienna and Czech Philharmonics, the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Chamber Orchestra of Europe and the Cleveland, Philadelphia and Royal Concertgebouw Orchestras.

Magdalena’s 2023/24 season combines her love of artsong, opera and concerts with diverse projects taking her across the globe. Magdalena begins her season with recitals with Ohad Ben-Ari and Mitsuko Uchida at the Muziekgebouw Amsterdam, BOZAR Brussels, Wigmore Hall, Philharmonie Luxembourg and the Pierre Boulezsaal Berlin. In concert she rejoins Les Musiciens du Louvre for concert performances of Alcina (title role) and collaborates with La Cetra Barockorchester in performances at Carnegie Hall and across Europe and South America. Magdalena reprises the role of Anna in Kurt Weill’s Seven Deadly Sins with the Staatskapelle Berlin and looks forward to a major concert tour with Chamber Orchestra of Europe.

On the opera stage, Magdalena returns to the Deutsche Staatsoper Berlin for the title role in Charpentier’s Medée, revisits the role of Idamante Idomeneo with Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks and returns to Salzburg’s Mozartwoche for Sesto La Clemenza di Tito.

Magdalena was appointed a Chevalier de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the French government in 2003 for her services to French music.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO