Album info



Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 13.20
  • Robert Gerhard (1896 - 1970): Cancionero de Pedrell:
  • 1Gerhard: I Sa ximbomba - Cancionero de Pedrell (1941)01:39
  • 2Gerhard: II La mal maridada - Cancionero de Pedrell (1941)02:26
  • 3Gerhard: III Laieta - Cancionero de Pedrell (1941)01:41
  • 4Gerhard: IV Soledad - Cancionero de Pedrell (1941)02:39
  • 5Gerhard: V Muera yo - Cancionero de Pedrell (1941)01:35
  • 6Gerhard: VI Farruquiño - Cancionero de Pedrell (1941)02:59
  • 7Gerhard: VII Alalá - Cancionero de Pedrell (1941)02:37
  • 8Gerhard: VIII Corrandes - Cancionero de Pedrell (1941)02:41
  • Sis cançons populars catalanes:
  • 9Gerhard: I La calàndria - Sis cançons populars catalanes (1928)04:09
  • 10Gerhard: II La mort i la donzella - Sis cançons populars catalanes (1928)02:07
  • 11Gerhard: III El petit vailet - Sis cançons populars catalanes (1928)02:15
  • 12Gerhard: IV El cotiló - Sis cançons populars catalanes (1928)02:55
  • 13Gerhard: V Enemic de les dones - Sis cançons populars catalanes (1928)01:36
  • 14Gerhard: VI Els ballaires dins un sac - Sis cançons populars catalanes (1928)01:00
  • Total Runtime32:19

Info for Robert Gerhard: Orchestral Folksongs

New release with Núria Rial, Orquestra Simfònica de Barcelona i Nacional de Catalunya (OBC), Francesc Prat, Anna Alàs i Jové, Anna Crexells, María Hinojosa Montenegro, Francisco Poyato, Seed Ensemble.

The composer Robert Gerhard (Valls, September 25, 1896 - Cambridge, January 5, 1970) is one of the most important figures in European music of the twentieth century. His work on unique musical projects illustrates both his unconventional artistic conception and an extraordinary aesthetic evolution. Arnold Schönberg's only disciple in Spain, he explored remarkably different styles and projects throughout his career. This album brings us closer to Gerhard who was seduced by vocal music and popular roots.

Núria Rial, soprano (Cancionero de Pedrell, Sis cançons populars catalanes (1928)
Barcelona Symphony Orchestra and National Orchestra of Catalonia
Francesc Prat, conductor
Anna Alàs i Jové, mezzo-soprano (Vuit cançons populars catalanes (1929)
Anna Crexells, piano
María Hinojosa Montenegro, soprano Six chansons populaires françaises (1944)
Francisco Poyato, piano
María Hinojosa Montenegro, soprano (7 Haiku, 1922, rev. 1958)
Seed Ensemble
Francesc Prat, conductor

Nuria Rial
studied voice and piano in her native Catalonia and was a member of Kurt Widmer's class at the Basel Academy of Music. In 2003, she was awarded the “Preis der Helvetia Patria Jeunesse Stiftung” by the Pro Europa - for her exceptional achievements as a singer.

She has performed at all the leading music festivals in Europe and collaborates with such conductors as Ivan Fischer, Sir John Eliot Gardiner, Paul Goodwin, Trevor Pinnock, Howard Griffiths, Gustav Leonhardt, René Jacobs, Thomas Hengelbrock, Laurence Cummings, Neville Marriner and Teodor Currentzis as well as notable ensembles, including Concerto Köln, The English Concert, Kammerorchester Basel, Collegium 1704, Il Giardino Armonico, Les Musiciens du Louvre, Elbipolis Barockorchester, Le Cetra Basel, L’Arpeggiata, Festival Lucerne Strings, Accademia del Piacere and Il Pomo d’Oro.

She appeared in important operatic productions in many of Europe's most prestigious opera houses: Cavalli's Eliogabalo (Eritea) at the Théâtre de la Monnaie in Brussels under René Jacobs; Monteverdi's L'Orfeo (Euridice) at the Staatsoper Unter den Linden in Berlin with René Jacobs and at the Grand Théâtre in Geneva with Giovanni Antonini; and Mozart's Die Zauberflöte (Pamina) at the Theatre Carlo Felice in Genova.

Nuria Rial has been working a lot on Baroque music and performance practice. Alongside she is also interested in other genres. In 2012 for instance she persuaded in the role of Nuria in the contemporary opera Ainadamar by Golijov at the Teatro Real Madrid, directed by Peter Sellars. On a world tour in 2015 and 2016 she sang the Pamina with the Budapest Festival Orchestra conducted by Ivan Fischer.

Being enthused by chamber music, Nuria Rial cultivates partnerships with ensembles such as “Il pomo d’oro”, “Café Zimmermann”, “Les Cornets Noirs Basel” and „Artemandoline“ (CD bei der Sony). In her recital programmes she sings French and Spanish repertoire, but also German songs. Collaborations with the Casals Quartet, Andreas Staier, Alexander Melnikov and the guitarist Edin Karamazov are planned.

Nuria Rial enjoys a vast discography, having recorded for such labels as Harmonia Mundi France (award- winning recording of Le Nozze di Figaro conducted by René Jacobs or recently “Traces to Anna Magdalena Bach”). Since 2009, she has an exclusive recording agreement with Sony Classical/BMG Masterworks. Her CD “Ave Maria” won the Dutch Edison Award. In 2009, the CD “Haydn - Arie per un'amante” with Michi Gaigg/ Orfeo Barockorchester won an Echo Classical Music Award, and she received a second Echo Award for her contribution to the CD “Teatro d'Amore”. 2010 followed the Echo Klassik for the CD “Via Crucis” with Christina Pluhar's L'Arpeggiata. Finally, in 2012 she was awarded another Echo for her CD Telemann with the Basel Chamber Orchestra in the category “Best Opera Arias”. Her most recent recordings are “Muera Cupido” with the gamba player Fahmi Alqhai and “Mother” with Dima Orsho and Musica Alta Ripa (both Sony Music), the first being dedicated to music from 18th century in Spain, the latter to Baroque arias and Arabic songs that are addressing the multiple facets of the role of a mother. For her CD “Muera Cupido” with the Accademia del Piacere, Nuria Rial received an Opus Klassik in 2020.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO