Schubert: Divertissement à la Hongroise, Fantasie in F Minor - Desyatnikov: Trompe-l'œil Pavel Kolesnikov & Samson Tsoy

Cover Schubert: Divertissement à la Hongroise, Fantasie in F Minor - Desyatnikov: Trompe-l'œil

Album info



Label: Harmonia Mundi

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Artist: Pavel Kolesnikov & Samson Tsoy

Composer: Leonid Desyatnikov (1955), Franz Schubert (1797-1828)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.50
  • Franz Schubert (1797 - 1828): Divertissement à la hongroise, D. 818, Op. 54:
  • 1Schubert: Divertissement à la hongroise, D. 818, Op. 54: I. Andante12:04
  • 2Schubert: Divertissement à la hongroise, D. 818, Op. 54: II. Marcia. Andante con moto03:12
  • 3Schubert: Divertissement à la hongroise, D. 818, Op. 54: III. Allegretto12:51
  • Leonid Desyatnikov (b. 1955): Trompe-l'œil:
  • 4Desyatnikov: Trompe-l'œil20:35
  • Franz Schubert: Fantasie in F Minor, D. 940, Op. 103:
  • 5Schubert: Fantasie in F Minor, D. 940, Op. 103: I. Allegro molto moderato05:02
  • 6Schubert: Fantasie in F Minor, D. 940, Op. 103: II. Largo02:53
  • 7Schubert: Fantasie in F Minor, D. 940, Op. 103: III. Scherzo. Allegro vivace05:02
  • 8Schubert: Fantasie in F Minor, D. 940, Op. 103: IV. Finale. Allegro molto moderato06:19
  • Total Runtime01:07:58

Info for Schubert: Divertissement à la Hongroise, Fantasie in F Minor - Desyatnikov: Trompe-l'œil

Kolesnikov’s latest album, with his longtime partner Samson Tsoy, features two major pieces by Schubert (Divertissement à la hongroise, Fantasy in F Minor) and a “reflection piece” on Schubert’s Fantasy that the duo commissioned from Leonid Desyatnikov. (It debuted last year at the Edinburgh Festival.) The pianists have been performing as a duo since 2009, but this may be the first time music-lovers will hear Tsoy, Kolesnikov’s long term partner on and off stage, on disc. The two musicians met as teenagers at Moscow Conservatory in 2007; they immediately became close partners performing piano duos.

Our recording of the Fantasy is very different from the many interpretations of the piece that we have given – or at least tried to give – on the concert stage. Strangely, in the studio it becomes a kind of emotional sponge. It is not isolated from the pieces around it; the dramatic and sonic components of its companion pieces find their way into its organism…Through the association with Desyatnikov’s new piece the Fantasy was displaced from its customary box, effecting a fundamental change of perspective. In the light of what’s going on in the world, we think that it’s important to distance ourselves from idealising the Fantasy as a perfect, smoothly rounded and amenable piece. There is also a place for angularity. Just as Desyatnikov refrains from smoothing and polishing the piece like a musical Brancusi.”

Pavel Kolesnikov, piano
Samson Tsoy, piano

Pavel Kolesnikov
In 2012 pianist Pavel Kolesnikov became a sensation at the Honens International Piano Competition when he took home the world’s largest piano prize. The London-based pianist was born in Siberia into a family of scientists. He studied both the piano and violin for ten years, before concentrating solely on the piano. Following his Wigmore Hall debut in 2014, The Telegraph gave his recital a rare five-star review and called it “one of the most memorable of such occasions London has witnessed for a while”.

Celebrated for his imaginative, thought-provoking programming which offers the listener a fresh, often unexpected perspective on familiar pieces, Pavel has given recitals at the Wigmore Hall and Queen Elizabeth Hall, London, as part of the international Piano Series, Carnegie Hall and Berlin's Konzerthaus, Louvre and Salle Gaveau in Paris, Suntory Hall in Tokyo and Muziekgebouw in Amsterdam. In recent years he also performed at La Roque d’Antheron festival, the Musiq3 Festival in Brussels, Piano aux Jacobins in Toulouse, and the Aldeburgh Festival, among others. In 2020/21 he is Artist in Residence at Wigmore Hall performing three recitals throughout the season.

An avid ensemble player, Kolesnikov regularly performs in piano duo with Samson Tsoy and collaborates with other musicians such as cellist Narek Akhnazarian, Hermes String Quartet and Calidore String Quartet. In 2019 he performed the complete cycle of Brahms violin and viola sonatas with Lawrence Power. He formed Trio Aventure with Elina Buksha and Aurelien Pascal.

Kolesnikov records for Hyperion, with repertoire ranging from rarely heard harpsichord pieces by Louis Couperin to Tchaikovsky's The Seasons. His Chopin Mazurkas album won Diapason d'Or de l'annee, one of world's most prestigious awards in the area of recording. His 6th album, Bach's Goldberg Variations, was released in Autumn 2020. He collaborated with legendary Belgian dancer Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker on a new choreographic work based on the Goldberg Variations which was premiered in August 2020 at the Wiener Festwochen and is currently touring the world.

In 2019, together with Samson Tsoy, Kolesnikov started Ragged Music Festival at the Ragged School Museum, former “ragged school” of Dr Barnardo in London’s East End. In the same year Kolesnikov was honoured with the Critics’ Circle Young Talent Award 2019 for piano, praised for his “intensely personal interpretations, often daring in their originality” and his “crusading vision”.

Samson Tsoy
described as "the most promising" by BBC Music Magazine, was named Laureate of the prestigious 2012 Santander International Piano Competition. At the invitation of Elisabeth Leonskaja, Samson performed alongside Jörg Widmann and the Doric String quartet, at London’s Wigmore Hall. The concert received a 5-stars review and appeared on Arts Desk’s list of Best classical concerts of 2015.

Samson is a finalist of the “Vendome Prize” at the Verbier Festival and a 1st Prize Winner of the 9th Campillos International Piano Competition. A recipient of the Milstein Medal Piano Award, Samson also enjoys being part of the City Music Foundation Artists Scheme and a scholarship holder of the Imogen Cooper Music Trust.

Tsoy’s significant recital and festival appearances include: Wigmore Hall, Royal Festival Hall, Berlin’s Konzerthaus, Salle Gaveau in Paris, Sala Verdi, Verbier Festival, Honens Festival and Rostropovich Jubilee Festival. Recent and upcoming orchestral appearances include Real Filharmonía de Galicia, Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra, Russian National Orchestra, Orchestre Royal de Chambre de Wallonie. He worked with conductors such as Michael Hofstetter, Vladimir Ponkin, Diego Masson, Juanjo Mena, and Roberto Minczuk, among others. A wide collaborative experience as a chamber musician include performances with Cuarteto Casals, Zakhar Bron, Hsin-Yun Huang, James Campbell, Eugeny Petrov, Felix Dervaux, Helen Donath. His acclaimed performances have been broadcasted live on BBC Radio 3, Medici TV, CBC, Radio Télévision Belge de la Communauté Française.

Samson Tsoy graduated from the Moscow Conservatory and Royal College of Music in London. He has been studying with and mentored by Yuri Airapetian, Dmitry Bashkirov, Imogen Cooper, Sergei Dorensky, Norma Fisher, Vanessa Latarche, Elisabeth Leonskaja and Maria Joao Pires.

Samson Tsoy enjoys a successful solo career and also performs together with pianist, Pavel Kolesnikov. A piano duo formed in 2009, they travel the world treating audiences to extraordinary, critically acclaimed performances. Their playing has been described as refined, spirited, thrilling and poetic.

Booklet for Schubert: Divertissement à la Hongroise, Fantasie in F Minor - Desyatnikov: Trompe-l'œil

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO