Utopia Björk

Album info



Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 13.20
  • 1Arisen My Senses04:59
  • 2Blissing Me05:05
  • 3The Gate06:33
  • 4Utopia04:42
  • 5Body Memory09:46
  • 6Features Creatures04:49
  • 7Courtship04:44
  • 8Losss06:51
  • 9Sue Me04:57
  • 10Tabula Rasa04:42
  • 11Claimstaker03:18
  • 12Paradisia01:44
  • 13Saint04:41
  • 14Future Forever04:47
  • Total Runtime01:11:38

Info for Utopia

Utopia is the ninth studio album by Icelandic singer-musician Björk. The experimentalist pairs airy flutes with harsh electronica in her latest album, as she explores how music and love intertwine.

It was primarily produced by Björk and Venezuelan electronic record producer Arca and released on 24 November 2017 through One Little Independent Records.

The album received critical acclaim from music critics for its production, songwriting, and Björk’s vocals, and later received a nomination for Best Alternative Music Album at the 61st Annual Grammy Awards, becoming Björk’s eighth consecutive nomination in the category.

Utopia is an avant-garde and folktronica album. With fourteen tracks in total, the album clocks in at 71 minutes and 38 seconds, making it the longest of Björk's studio albums to date.

Björk began working on Utopia soon after releasing Vulnicura in 2015. Upon winning the award for International Female Solo Artist at the 2016 Brit Awards, Björk did not appear as she was busy recording her new album. In an interview published in March 2016, Björk likened the writing to "paradise" as opposed to Vulnicura being "hell... like divorce."

Speaking to Fader in March 2017, filmmaker and collaborator Andrew Thomas Huang said that he had been involved with Björk on her new album, stating that "quite a bit of it" had already been written, and that the "new album's gonna be really future-facing, in a hopeful way that I think is needed right now."

"Björk has always been a powerful conduit for emotions: on Vulnicura, she captured the mental and physical anguish of heartbreak almost too well. On Utopia, she depicts coming back to life -- and love -- with equal intensity and creativity. Reunited with Vulnicura co-producer Arca, she expresses the album's liberation with lighter-than-air field recordings of birds from both of their homelands (Venezuela and Iceland, respectively) and lots of flute, an instrument she played as a child. These motifs echo the airy flow of her emotions and the structure-defying nature of these songs, and evoke the island paradise that she envisioned while making the album -- the perfect place to heal from a broken heart. Björk gives listeners a few glimpses of this bliss early on the album: the gorgeous opener "Arisen My Senses" is wild and lush, a reawakening full of caressing vocals, while "Blissing Me" expresses the quiet thrill of new love over fluttering harps, making the growing feelings between "two music nerds" sharing MP3s feel as quaintly heartwarming as handwritten notes. Both of these songs share DNA with "Venus as a Boy," "Hyperballad," and "All Is Full of Love" and serve as reminders of just how captivating Björk's joyous side is. However, Utopia's lightness isn't to be taken lightly, and she spends much of the album diving into the therapeutic work that makes happiness possible. "The Gate" sounds and feels like a sacred transformation ritual; over a deeply intoning flute, Vulnicura's wounds become openings for love to be offered and taken (later, "Features Creatures" borrows some of this mystery for its romantic déjà vu). "Body Memory" responds to the centerpiece of her previous album, "Black Lake," but where that song pulled her down deeper and deeper, here she trusts her instincts as she climbs over obstacles and hangups. Even as Utopia breaks free from pain, its songs are shaped by it, whether on the mournful "Losss" or "Courtship," where a cycle of online dating rejections leaves Björk wondering, "Will we stop seeing what unites us/But only what differs?" She focuses on how to make this unity a reality as Utopia draws to a close, most touchingly on "Tabula Rasa," a luminous wish that she burden her children with "the least amount of luggage" that she also extends to women to "break the fuckups of the fathers." Similarly, on "Future Forever," she urges listeners to turn off the loops of their pasts, but the bittersweet melody acknowledges just how big the gap between hopes and actuality can be. Utopia isn't quite as idyllic as its title implies, but its mix of idealism and realism makes it an even greater success as a manifesto for radically open love and as a document of thriving after loss." (Heather Phares, AMG)


No biography found.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO