Cover Bruckner: Symphony No. 4

Album info



Label: LSO Live

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Orchestral

Artist: London Symphony Orchestra & Sir Simon Rattle

Composer: Anton Bruckner (1824-1896)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 192 $ 18.50
  • Anton Bruckner (1824 - 1896): Symphony No. 4 "Romantic" (Version 1878-81, Cohrs A04B):
  • 1Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 "Romantic" (Version 1878-81, Cohrs A04B): I. Bewegt, nicht zu schnell (1881)17:36
  • 2Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 "Romantic" (Version 1878-81, Cohrs A04B): II. Andante quasi Allegretto (1881)15:23
  • 3Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 "Romantic" (Version 1878-81, Cohrs A04B): III. Scherzo. Bewegt - Trio. Nicht zu schnell. Keinesfalls schleppend - Scherzo da capo (1881)10:52
  • 4Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 "Romantic" (Version 1878-81, Cohrs A04B): IV. Finale. Bewegt, doch nicht zu schnell (1881, abridged)17:39
  • Symphony No. 4 "Romantic" (Cohrs A04B):
  • 5Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 "Romantic" (Cohrs A04B): Scherzo. Sehr schnell - Trio. Im gleichen Tempo - Scherzo da capo11:54
  • 6Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 "Romantic" (Cohrs A04B): Finale (Volksfest). Allegro moderato (1878, Cohrs A04B-2)15:48
  • 7Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 "Romantic" (Cohrs A04B): Andante quasi Allegretto (1878, extended initial version)16:37
  • 8Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 "Romantic" (Cohrs A04B): Finale. Bewegt, doch nicht zu schnell (1881, unabridged)20:44
  • Total Runtime02:06:33

Info for Bruckner: Symphony No. 4

The air shimmers and glows, and somewhere in the mists, a solitary horn gives a lonely call. The stuff of fairytales? The truth is, it’s impossible to write about Bruckner’s majestic Fourth Symphony without letting the imagination soar; he never wrote anything more colourful, or more poetic. In Germany, they call it the ‘Romantic’ symphony, and it’s easy to hear why.

Sir Simon Rattle loves Bruckner’s Fourth, and on this new recording from LSO Live, he conducts the work in all its splendour: music that never gets any less stirring, and has never sounded so fresh. He is aware, too, that Bruckner’s inspiration burned so brightly that he ended up with more ideas than he could actually use. “There is much wonderful music which remains almost entirely unplayed” he says. On this album he steps inside Bruckner’s workshop, bringing to light some of the music that didn’t make the final cut.

This edition of the symphony and its discarded Scherzo and Finale by Benjamin-Gunnar Cohrs was published in 2021. The world premiere performance with Sir Simon Rattle and the LSO is a must-listen for lovers of Bruckner’s music, and gives us a glimpse into the composer’s untold musical thoughts.

"This new, live recording of the Symphony No 4 in E-flat Major, "Romantic" by Anton Bruckner (1824-1896) will most certainly appeal first and foremost to any and all Bruckner "completists" out there. During my many years in classical music retail I've come across a few, some of which who actually seemed to consider the music of Anton Bruckner to be some type of religion. One in particular stands out because he would come into the store at least once or twice a week, head straight to the Bruckner section (never purchased anything else), acquire whatever titles were not there on his previous visit, and sometimes place special orders for historical recordings by conductors like Knappertsbusch or Hans Rosbaud. Never before or since have I witnessed such devotion and allegiance to the music of one single composer." (Jean-Yves Duperron)

London Symphony Orchestra
Sir Simon Rattle, conductor

No biography found.

Booklet for Bruckner: Symphony No. 4

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO